Time to move mycelium to the tub


IMG_5318.jpg

Cleanliness is the name of the game

break.png

Well, after about a month and a half or so, my grain jars are ready to move into substrate and begin the process of actually becoming mushrooms. Growing mushrooms is a pretty interesting process and can be a lot of fun. It does get expensive at first as you are learning the ins and outs. I think I have found a really nice process though and things should go a lot more smoothly from here.

The biggest thing to pay attention to when trying to grow mushrooms is keeping your area clean. It is so easy to get contamination and once that happens, all that money and time is wasted.


IMG_5319.jpg

For my substrate, I am using a mixture of coco coir and vermiculite. Some strains require different substrates, but B+ grows just fine with this mixture. It is also pretty cheap to make on your own, so after this grow, I will be buying what I need to make my own substrate. I also plan on learning how to make spore prints and create my own spore syringes so that I can continue growing forever without having to purchase anything.


IMG_5320.jpg

Before mixing the coco coir and vermiculite together in the tub, I sanitized everything with isopropyl alcohol. I also did this in my bathroom with the air vents closed and ran hot water from the shower to create steam. The steam made it so there wasn't anything floating in the air that could land in the tub.


IMG_5322.jpg

Then I boiled two cups of water to mix in the tun with the substrate. After pouring the water in, I closed the lid and waited for it all to cool down to room temperature. The boiling water helps to sanitize the substrate and creates enough humidity for the mycelium to thrive throughout the next steps in the growing process.


IMG_5323.jpg


IMG_5324.jpg

Once the substrate has cooled, then I got everything ready to mix the jars of mycelium into the tub. After I took these pictures, I wiped everything down again with alcohol, shook the jars to break up the mycelium chunks and poured it into the tub.


IMG_5325.jpg

Now that everything is mixed, the tub stays shut for the next 10-25 days. Once there is mycelium growing across the entire tub, little mushroom pins will begin to form. Once that happens, I will start to open the tub once a day to allow fresh oxygen and allow the Co2 to escape. Fingers crossed that everything goes good with this tub because I really want to try these mushrooms next month for my monthly mushroom trip.

Growing mushrooms has been an interesting process and it is completely different from how cannabis grows. I am having problems with my seedlings and they aren't doing that great again. Hopefully I am able to get the soil dried out a bit so the roots can start expanding. I am not a fan of the seedling stage at all and it has been so long since I have been in this stage. But with every grow, I have been learning more and I will be back to having monster weed plants in my grow tent.

Sort:  

Interesting.. looks like quite a few steps to get everything clean and ready to go. Best of luck on your shroom grow!

Thanks man. It's really interesting how it all works and it's been a lot of fun learning.

The cultivation of mushrooms if that takes time, I did not know it had so many steps and processes for these grow healthy and strong, I'm sure they will come out of them a huge mushroom plants, much success in the process, I hope to see the progress soon, they look amazing these crops.

Thanks man. I hope there aren't any issues.

i did not know that the preparation is like this :D

I always thought that mushrooms can grow everywhere especially from rotting wood in the nature.
Never have I thought that strict sanitising is crucial. 🤔
Is it specially for this type?

Wow
This seem like an easy way to plant mushrooms. I hope you show is after twenty days so we can see what it will look like

This will be interesting as a process, I have recently used vermiculite as well, but not for mushroom projects , I used it for my indoor plants, I love the glittery look and it provides them with nutrients . I remember my mom trying to obtain a similar thing as you but she did not managed to do it, it is quite a challenge to nail this right, I hope you succeed!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@littlenewthings(1/5) tipped @derangedvisions

No matter what your growing, a clean grow is a happy grow!

Thank you very much for sharing the preparation of mushroom