4 Years on the Blockchain, 3 years as a Witness and 1 year FULL API Node

in TeamUK3 years ago

FA288BE7-462E-4A68-A2E6-966BC93887B7.JPEG

The future on Hive is looking so bright right now you need to wear those funky Hive emblem shades @cawdawg Witness is already developing (or should be) and while we all enjoy the benefit of the current price pump remember this would never even exist without the hard work and personal investment of our top twenty Witnesses and many more.

Screenshot 2021-04-09 at 20.27.24.png

All this feels so far removed from way back in March 2017 when @oldguyphotos I was following on YouTube mentioned a new social blogging platform that gave cryptocurrency rewards. It looked interesting enough to become a long term hobby, and although many things have changed since then including the time I have spare to devote to it - I'm still here enjoying what is one of the most exciting and evolving blockchains around.

Screenshot 2021-04-09 at 19.58.51.png

And in that time I have invested in Hive and also in hardware to support the blockchain, by 2018 I started running a Witness server to provide back end support of the blockchain, followed in 2019 with a second Witness @whiterosecoffee. By 2020 I also deployed a Full API Node https://api.c0ff33a.uk

Screenshot 2021-04-09 at 21.31.54.png

Once I had worked out how to get nodes working, I then set about using the five servers I have dedicated to Hive more efficiently by setting up two API nodes to feed two Hivemind nodes - splitting calls between all four speeds up https://api.c0ff33a.uk and now https://rpc.c0ff33a.uk uses two of them with the @ecency RPC Proxy

The cost far outweighs the benefit even at todays Hive value and taking into account Witness rewards (which only increase as your votes and ranking rise) but it was never about being profitable, running Witness servers and Nodes was more a technical challenge and I have learned so much in the past few years.

Throughout this journey for me the most important aspect of Hive is to keep staking your Hive, holding value in Hive because that Hive Power you have earns you rewards through curation - and if you manually curate with care you can generate an impressive ROI you will not see keeping it liquid and dumping whenever the price rises.

Four years, it's been a journey and an experience but the best has yet to come.

Active HIVE Witness alongside @derangedvisions, if you appreciate the effort and work we put into the HIVE blockchain please consider giving us a Witness vote.

We run five Hive servers, two Witness Servers, Hivemind Instance, Full Account History Node, FAT Node
https://api.c0ff33a.uk our full API server to use with your dapps and front end
https://hiveblog.c0ff33a.uk Our own condenser front end, exclusively using our own API server to access the Hive Blockchain. For the best experience use on Brave Browser with Hive Keychain plugin.

Proud sponsor with @derangedcontests of @lucksacks.com , free to play and cash out HIVE rewards, head to Lucksacks Website now and start playing.

Visit #brits Discord Channel Join #teamuk and make your posts easily found, post with the tag or create a post in teamuk community so your fellow Brits can easily find and support your work. Let's work together to make #hiveuk an active community on the Hive Blockchain. #teamuk tag and Brits discord is exclusively for use by United Kingdom Hive accounts or ex pats living abroad

#teamuk tag is followed and actively upvoted by @teamuksupport

I distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets. Finally I have a dedicated website to my Artisan small batch roasted coffee featuring roast and post packs and super easy coffee subscriptions.

Become a White Rose Coffee Roasters affiliate and earn a percentage of the sales you bring in for sharing your affiliate page links Become A White Rose Coffee Roasters Affiliate now payout available via Pay Pal or HIVE based on the current exchange rate.

Catch me live and unleashed every week on @threespeak with my c0ff33 vlogs

created by @derangedvisions

Vote for my Witness

Sort:  

Happy 4 to you dear Robert, its been nice crossing paths with you here. Wish you loads of success and many more heart warming times for you here. Cheers!

HIVE!D

Great Info. Congrats on making it this far... I'll double check my witness votes. Kind regards.

Screenshot 2021-04-09 9.05.06 AM.png

Thanks for mentioning Ecency. 🙏 Learn more about Ecency, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @ecency as well!

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Wow man, congrats on 4 years! Representing the North very nicely there. 89,000hp?! Crikey. Smashing it man.

Keep up the great work!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations mate, it has been a path of great perseverance.
Excellent work!

Great achievement in many ways my friend. I have actually been DM’ing with Witty inquiring about running a witness node. I highly doubt that I could handle the API. But I want to learn. Congrats👍

You've come a long way, baby, to get where you've gotten today! Congratulations!

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Congrats on the anniversary and thanks for providing these services to the blockchain. It's only possible due to our dedicated witnesses.

Have a !BEER

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Hmm... I think I first joined a few months after that. It has been a wild ride. More so for you than me, as you've taken a much more active role than I have — despite my uni major being computer science, when I start to dive into the tech specs of how a witness works my vision starts blurring and I get overwhelmed very quickly.

Anyway, congrats on the journey so far!

good work on everything you have done on Hive to make it happen!

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @hivecollective! Community based curaton service for sublimesunday tag users, delegate 60 Hive Power to the account to join, or delegate 30 Hive Power and 1 Hive per month to join. Send 2 Hive per month for 30 days only of the service.

Hi @c0ff33a

@livinguktaiwan suggested I connect with you. So happy I can be a part of #teamuk.

I am new to hive, please take a look at my #introduceyourself blog https://peakd.com/introduceyourself/@l0tti3/brit-in-south-africa

So good to be able to connect!

@c0ff33a sorry, I just realised that you already re-blogged my blog. Thank you for this! Still new and getting used to things around here 😆