Creating Comics Community Contest #1 - Growing Membership via Bribery!


IMG_2711.png

Hive seperator.png

Evening folks! Over the past couple days I finally started dabbling in a little side project I had in mind, which is the Creating Comics community here on Hive! I have a lot to do yet, preparing community graphics and text documentation... but I'm eager to get some activity going as well!

One of the things I love doing is sharing great informational resources, and one of my favorites is Draw! Magazine by Twomorrows Publishing. Every issue is just packed with inspiration and instruction, it's just an all around fantastic publication.

Like almost everyone right now, Twomorrows has been hit hard by current conditions... so this first contest is a win/win/win. I figure I get to throw a little extra business their way, share some awesome knowledge, and promote Creating Comics!

So... all you've gotta do for this particular contest is join Creating Comics, and post in it within the next 7 days. Once this post reaches payout... the contest period will close! It can be a full post or just a comment right on this very post to say hello and introduce yourself (but still substantive comments please!) The winner will be selected at random and receive a digital copy of Draw! #36. The winner will have to supply contact info via comments, or direct message on Discord or other social media to claim their download link.

Hive seperator.png

IMG_2712.png


As always, this issue is filled with great content, with the headline artist being Mike Hawthorne. He is a fantastic artist to follow on Instagram, so be sure to give him a look and maybe tell him that Hive sent you!


See that nice little box in the lower left of the table of contents? Twomorrows is fantastic about providing digital editions at a reasonable cost and without onerous DRM restrictions. I've almost purchased everything they have on offer... I'm getting there! I hope to run many more contests like this and will be using the @creatingcomics account (set as a beneficiary of this post) as my "war chest." I will always purchase any digital awards given out as I do not support piracy of creative content. I expect winners to also abide by this and not share or distribute their prize. For personal use only! But I sure hope you'll discuss what you enjoyed and learned right here!


Screen Shot 20200430 at 8.58.14 PM.png

proof of purchase! I already bought my copy a few weeks ago!


Hive seperator.png

So join up and say hello and you just might get some sweet reading material! Looking forward to seeing you all in Creating Comics!

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff



itiwbz_button.pngafd_button.pngseer_button.png

bryanimhoff_footer_banner.png


@bryan-imhoff | @spottyproduction | @exploreunlimited | @creatingcomics

Sort:  

Okay, I don't do shout outs to often, I really hate bothering people, but @glenalbrethsen here is a new community you might be interested in looking at.

Re-blogged to put a few other eyes on this.

Hey, @bashadow.

I think I saw this a while back, but there wasn't a whole lot going on. Thanks for cluing me in. :)

I was going through the people I follow last night and building my "recruit" list and you were definitely on it. It's been a while since I've seen anything about your comic concept, but that's certainly what originally caught my eye and got me following your blog!

There's a few comic related communities floating around already, but I wanted to carve out my own niche. I registered the community maybe a week or two ago and just started posting and prepping over the last couple days.

I'll try to offer up an issue of Write Now! magazine for the next promo, I think you'd enjoy those!

Thanks for the shout out @bashadow. Don't know how your targets will feel about it, but I sure don't mind your help recruiting! 😄

I like the community concept, I want to see them live and thrive on hive. On Steem they kind of died, I'm one of the content consumers, Glen and I comment back and forth a bit so I was pretty sure he would not mind. I am hoping the community leaders will keep their places clean of stuff, I know a lot of people like posting in the ocd and gems communities for the rewards, but you get every thing in those one stop shops for all, I like the mom and pop and boutique stores/communities and they are the ones that will carry the heart and soul of Hive Block Chain, they will lead us to the new frontiers of the internet.

I'm with you there. Those "catch all" curation communities completely negate the content discovery & shared interest aspects that communities are meant to enable. I debated how narrow or broad to make the focus of my own community... and this is what I'm coming up with so far! Once I've established a bare minimum of activity from existing Hive users, the real push will be to recruit from outside.

Hey, @bryan-imhoff.

I'm happy to remembered for anything at this point. :)

I haven't done a whole lot creatively lately because of all of the STEEM mess, and now things on HIVE have intensified a little, too. I'm not sure what it is other than the potential to increase the value of our holdings, or being stir crazy under global uncertainty—perhaps both—but it has a tendency to sap the creative juices, which I didn't think was possible.

I've also been wondering a lot lately whether HIVE, certainly as currently constituted, is a sustainable place for any serious creative enterprise. Blogging is one thing. Trying to sell creative wares here is another. I suppose HIVE could just be the announcement hub, rather than the delivery system, but I was kind of hoping to finally find a place where I didn't need yet another step to get my stories in front of eyes.

And, since we're all still primarily living in the world of fiat, we're basically beholden to, or enslaved by, this whole idea of HIVE price, and eventually going to the moon with it. There are already forces at work here, popping up here and there, who want to change the fundamental structure of what HIVE is, or maybe better put, take it to where it is to what I would say is probably level five or six and more like 5-10 years down the road, but do it now.

So, I don't feel like I want to just go putting up my best work. Which means, I build in a level of mediocrity to a degree, and I'm afraid that consumers tend to pick up on things like that.

I certainly understand the creative drain, and the apprehension around the future of Hive. For me though, Hive is still nothing but positives. Of course, the biggest problem for a creative is that this is not where the people are! So time spent here is time potentially not spent on Instagram, Facebook, or Twitter. However, I was never very active on any of those! Only Hive has stuck with me. The ownership aspect really does strike a chord, so it's not an either/or prospect for me. If I wasn't on Hive, I probably wouldn't be active on any social media.
Absolutely I think the main use case right now is simply sharing the journey of creating, through blogging in various forms. Along the way you'll hopefully accrue a bit of funds for the project and a few dedicated fans as well. I've backed about a half dozen crowdfunding campaigns on mainstream platforms (KickStarter, Indiegogo) based off of interacting with the folks on Hive, and when I hopefully go to launch my own project, I do believe "Hiveans" will be a tentpole of my support, and that I'll be able to sell some Hive tokens to assist my funding.
I'm always torn myself on just how much material and product to release online. @jasonbrubaker has a really interesting business model that he does well at. All his comics are available freely online, yet he's still managed to raise hundreds of thousands of dollars for printed editions that folks want on their bookshelves. He wrote a book, Unnatural Talent: Creating, Printing and Selling Your Comic in the Digital Age which I really enjoyed... and yes, he dabbled in Steem back in the day! Once I get things up and running more, I'll certainly be reaching out to him to see if he wants to give Hive another look! I sure hope he does. But I digress, the point is he just gets the work out there.
I believe we will see advances in sharing work via Hive too. It's really the simplest thing so far, but I'm excited about @jrej developing Inkito. If you haven't seen it yet, check it out! I've been slowly going through and adding my old stuff to help populate the site as he tests it, simply by re-tagging posts that I put on Steem years ago.
It really is an exciting time. Sorry for the whirlwind mini-rant... most of these being topics I want to cover in upcoming full posts!

Thanks for mentioning me in there. I truly see a lot of potential for comics and story telling in general in here. People are chasing attention on social media, never getting a dime, Hive changes that.

About @jasonbrubaker, I will definitely come back to him about Hive once it has grown a little more. I followed him since he made podcasts on MakingComics.com. His business model seem to work quite well for him, I've been posting my comics online for free since then but I am not as talented as he is. He's been using a combination of Patreon and youtube lately which is pretty frequent nowadays.

Anyway, I'm excited about your comic creating community. I'm sure we can find ways to collaborate going forward. I'll happily post the next page of my comic around here! ;-)

I thought it might be of interest to you.

Soo.......when I stopped steem well over a year ago and before I got back into it again here with Hive(!) these community things popped up I believe. It makes me sad that when i go to my community tab it says I have no subscriptions. I would love to join this one even though my scribbling skills are subpar. Heres the kicker......how do I even join?

err.....edit:

Wait nevermind, I'm slow on the uptake. Figured it out!

Correct! They were in the works for some time, and for a while you could use them through a test site; but the actual community features only rolled out a couple months back. They're still a work in progress and I believe the features will grow, but for now they were still a huge leap forward.

Glad to have you joined up! While I'm aiming the community at creators... we'd all be nothing without fans! I hope that anyone interested in how comics are made can enjoy peeking in. And c'mon... I'm sure you've got at least a comic idea or two poking around in your brain. If a community can help bring that out, all the better!

Draw! looks like something I would have really sank my teeth into if I'd seen it as a kid. Dangit!

I'm glad you started this Community. There are so many fanboys and fangirls (of all ages) around the world, and whether or not the industry makes a big resurgence to resemble its former glory, the fans will be hungry for more. So places like this here Comics Community will become increasingly valuable for the modern comics consumer. Pat on the back for starting "CC", I reblogged to increase exposure 🙏😃

If you'd seen it as a kid... c'mon! It's never too late to start enjoying Draw! 😁 Thanks for helping spread the word about the new community.

Well, after considering your reply, I did it. I ordered the same issue, print version of #36. I looked at the preview on TwoMorrows site and have very lightly skimmed the digital copy. I'll let you know my impression after I read it when it arrives! (Yes, I could read the digital now, but I want to read the print version in my hands first).
20200501_212938.jpg
I've had some ideas kicking around for a while upstairs, and have been figuring out what the best vehicle is to get them out. Not sure if a comic is the way, but it's definitely on the list of possibilities. My goal is to take my work to the next level, but I'm not really interested in joining the gaming or entertainment industry. Even though I've been drawing since I could hold a crayon, I still feel like I have a long way to go in realizing my artistic style and specific art goals (besides share share share share).

So, long story short: thank you for posting your work and your story because for people who are still figuring out this creative expression stuff it's very helpful to have role models such as yourself. 😀

Oh wow, I can't believe you went ahead and ordered one for yourself! Now I feel the pressure of my recommendation holding up! 😅 Well, I'll at least blast you with as big an upvote as I can muster... consider it a bit of a rebate offer. 😆

Honestly though, I hope you dig it and it helps rekindle some of that childlike enthusiasm or points you toward areas that you haven't thought about before. I want the sharing of resources, instructional materials, and inspirations to be a big part of this community, and you'll see a lot of that from me. Magazines like Draw!, ImagineFX, Illustration, and PanelxPanel are things I look forward to immensely. I've got my eye on some awesome books at good prices too for future giveaways. I'm only hesitant to do physical items because I fear the Hive community is quite international (which is a good thing!) but it could make shipping a nightmare!

I'm certainly no role model, just another guy trying to figure it out and sharing a bit along the way like you! I too am not necessarily interested in "joining the industry" per se. Only because I do feel immense pressure when drawing for others. My hope is to do only personal projects that come from me, and monetize them so I can do more!

Rebate offer, LOL. 🤑 I already dig it and that's based on a nibble-sized preview! Thirteen bucks seems like a cheap investment in my skillz development. Last time I was at Barnes & Noble I was flipping through the magazines in their visual arts section. There were plenty of pretty pictures, but nothing jumped out as something I wanted to buy (i.e. didn't seem like they offered enough value).

I want the sharing of resources, instructional materials, and inspirations to be a big part of this community, and you'll see a lot of that from me.

That's what I like about Comics Community already. 🤓 I plan to help grow this place with you and everyone else who joins. I might not post anything for a while, but I'll contribute in other ways. You're right about the international shipping nightmare!! But honestly most people are totally cool with digital giveaways too, especially considering the present state of the global supply chain.

It's really amazing how much we humans can influence one another to accomplish great (or evil!) things, sometimes without even trying.

Alright, so with this post having paid out, it's time to award the free digital issue of Draw! There were 5 eligible entrants based on being registered members of the Creating Comics group, and leaving at least one post or comment in the past week. So I assigned each a 2 number range and virtually rolled a ten sided die.

@sidekickmatt (1-2)

@jrej (3-4)

@bashadow (5-6)

@glenalbrethson (7-8)

@jackofcrows (9-10)


contestroll_1.jpeg


A natural 10 right off the bat, I should be gaming! Anyway, that makes the winner @jackofcrows. Please reach out to me via any of the methods at the bottom of this post, or reply with a link to a profile or email of your own right here if you don't mind sharing it publicly! I'll direct message you a dropbox link to download the digital edition which is a 26.5MB PDF.

Congrats and thanks everyone for a great first week in the Creating Comics group. Be on the lookout for more contests and content soon!


On a side note... I seem to recall seeing some folks make use of a random number generating bot/command on Steemit in the distant past. Anyone know if something like that is actually in existence and working on Hive? I'd love to make my selections in real time, immutably on the blockchain for trust!

We were playing a play-by-post game hosted by @simplegame. I don't know if the bots still work... let me check one. @rolld20

Awesome! I'll hit you up soon!

Congratulations @bryan-imhoff! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!