Getting the Lead Out!

February's been a shit month! Cold bleak winter blues, nuisance sick for weeks, and with recent world events I've found myself picking back up that wonderful hobby of "doomscrolling." Of course given what so many others are going through right now I know that I'm very fortunate and my little problems and discomforts don't mean shit.

All it does mean is that in my little world of comics, chicken nuggets, and cats; my mood and productivity have both been total ass this month and I'm looking to turn the corner heading into March.

With that goal in mind I recently got the lead out... literally. (Well, maybe not entirely literally as these leads aren't made of actual lead I don't believe...)


Caselli Post_02.jpeg


For years I've done the vast majority of my artwork all digital, either on a Wacom Cintiq or iPad Pro in the Clip Studio Paint or Procreate programs. I've wanted to do some "traditional" work for a while now, partly for the fun of it and also for the practice as I do plan on doing some drawings on artist sketch cards and sketch comic covers which are both popular items for the comic art collecting and comic convention crowds. So as I sought to shake some February rust and malaise off I reached for some good ol' paper and lead.

This was my first time using "lead holders." These are sort of like a mechanical pencil but they hold a much thicker piece of lead that can be honed to an incredibly sharp and long lasting point. I felt like such a noob as I struggled to figure out the lead sharpener and finally had to watch a YouTube video on how to use it! But that's one of the good things about working with new materials. It gives you a brain workout and often insights and new perspectives that can inform your work with other mediums and methods as well.

I started simple with some studies. These are my copies of expressions drawn by the comic artist Stefano Caselli, so don't give me too much credit here... he deserves it all!


Caselli Expression Study Post_01.jpg


Not too shabby. They do look better to me now that they're scanned and shrunk down. (Comic artist's almost always draw larger than the final printed size because illustrations look so much better when you shrink them down!) I sure do miss the digital tools to easily transform and nudge the proportions and facial features around, but that's actually a good reason to add more traditional drawing back into my practice; to overcome that perfectionism and not feel like I always have to do that!

For single illustrations I can absolutely see myself doing much more traditional art in the future, however I don't think I'm willing to give up those digital tools when it comes time to create the very complex pages that make up the interiors of a comic book.


This past month when I've felt too sick and tired to draw I at least tried to keep up a pretty good reading and studying habit. I went back to basics and have been working through the books of Andrew Loomis who was an exceptional illustrator and draftsman in the early to mid 1900's.

So as another layer to these practice expressions I did my best to not just copy the lines, but actually "reconstruct" the drawings utilizing proper techniques that should be used when visualizing the head and figure. It shows up only faintly in the scan above, but I did my best to build these heads with a blueline underdrawing with the divided ball and plane method pictured below. That image comes from Loomis' 1939 book, "Fun With A Pencil."


Caselli Post_03.jpeg


So score one small victory for my productivity. Studying the work of another artist is a good way to help overcome some "art block" and inertia. If you can use that same time to also play around with some new materials and reinforce your understanding of some basic art concepts then you've kinda rolled three lessons into one for an extra win.

This week I aim to produce a few more practice sheets like this and then begin applying the lessons learned to some original character expression model sheets for my comic "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..."

Let's see how I do! I mean, March has gotta be better than February... right?

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me for more behind the scenes looks at the creation of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Your votes help support its production! Also look for limited edition digital artwork for sale on NFTShowroom.com

Showroom.png

Sort:  

Going 'old school'! I expect it could feel strange after working digitally, but the results look good. Maybe it will inspire new ideas.

These are strange time, but the world still needs art.

!PIZZA !LOLZ

It is so funny how the muscle memory and habits cross back and forth. When I make an errant line I find myself habitually tapping the paper with two fingers because that would be the "undo" command on the iPad. Naturally it doesn't work! 😂

You've become like those kids who try to zoom on a book. I need to try some more drawing, but I think paper would be better so I don't get distracted by the technology.

!BEER

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Why are vacuums always so tough?
Because they know how to suck it up.

Credit: reddit
@bryan-imhoff, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @steevc
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/1)

It's true in these times all we can do is try and focus on the small bits of our own life. I'd put down that phone for a start (doom scrolling haha) I have a rule of NO phones in my studio. Keep it off in another room and put on music and live in the Now :) Lovely sketches too @bryan-imhoff I love the basics of anatomy and really loved all the exercises from school days from making spheres into faces and or painting a crumbled paper brown bag from 100 angles for a week, it's the tools that help us build up I think.

Now keep away from that phone! haha

I am doing my best to leave that phone on its charging stand and pretend it's just like an old school corded wall phone! 😆

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(4/5) tipped @bryan-imhoff (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @bryan-imhoff! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 51000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 52000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Today is the beginning of a new Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What great sketches, very expressive faces, I love them.