Selfie in Oslo city center in front of the royal palace

in Faces of Hive4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200308_204840.jpg

Literally the day after the #steemhostiletakeover, I decided to move to Oslo and return to the defense and aerospace industry.

And as if that wasn't a crazy enough time in and off itself, it was also just when the Corona-pandemic started for real. Thus I never really visited the city center. And spent most days either at work or at home in my temporary Airbnb participating in discussions with other Hive stakeholders and community members.

With everything now back to normal, I finally got to take a trip down to the Royal palace. Here I am in front of it :).

Can't wait to explore the surroundings of my new city! Guess I'll be sharing some more selfies here of the cool places to visit ;)

Sort:  

y5qkmz.jpg

@fredrikaa I was in Oslo 2 years ago. I’m in love with this city 🏢🏗 Your selfie reminded me of the good time that I had there.. Thank you :)

Cool shot! Oslo is a really nice city. Well balanced imo in terms of being fairly sized with cools things to do, yet not too big and crowded.

Glad I could help you resurfaces some good memories :)

Which building is that?

@macchiata This building is The Royal Palace in Oslo, Norway 🇳🇴

ooh I barely recognize it with the flag.

Beautiful palace. Looks like you are the prince of that palace.

I like to think so myself😂

Good you're getting out and about. Think I'll post a selfie, too, soon :)

Truth be told, the city and most restaurants and cafe's etc have been open the whole time. Just asked kindly to ensure people keep some distance and wash their hands.

I've just not gone to the city center itself as I've had tonnes of things to do and also saw no reason to expose myself to a potential "hotspot" when I will be having months/years to be there anyway

It's wise to be cautious at this time... Beaches in Florida reopened, yesterday, and my wife and I hesitate to head there, yet.

Same with crowded places, malls, etc...

There will be time for all that, hopefully

Stay healthy :)

I showed a lot of care for that in the first week. But it's been well over a month since I considered t his whole thing to be "over".

Oslo is cool, was there a year ago when doing a road trip with friends. Found some flowers there, and the tech museum there was pretty cool too! :D

It sure is! Love how well balanced it is. Haven't seen the tech museum myself yet. So thanks for the tip! :)

Wow. It is a very humble selfie with the palace in the background. Your photo is beautiful friend @fredikaa. God bless you and greetings!

Thank you! :)

Wow, you have such beautiful eyes! :D
And I'm so excited for this initiative where we get to discover the hiveans behind their names and posts. That's really cool! 😄

Thanks! That's very nice of you to say :)

It is indeed fun! I am quite mindblown by the amount of engagement and activity it received. Guess people here aren't as shy as I thought they would be.

Well, I am one of the few shy hivers! Lol. But I do appreciate seeing the others haha

Great that you can get out and about again. What were the lockdown restrictions like over there? Pretty strict?

Think we're going to be pretty stuck in the UK for a while before things get back to any "normality" sadly.

There were never any restrictions whatsoever unless you recently arrived from abroad or were diagnosed with Corona.

I just took some safety measures regardless

Damnnnn! Makes sense about the restrictions for people coming in - quarantine period?

Yeah things were pretty lax here in the UK despite all the warning signs and then the shit hit the fan... and it's royally stuck 😔

I really should visit Oslo again sometime. Haven’t been there since 1969. 😅

But I’m in no rush to get on an airplane again any time soon. For now at least, any travel will be by car.

Damn, that's a long time ago! I bet the city will have a very different feel to it now than what it had back then.

I've been taking planes 3 times since the pandemic started. Though obviously, they were all domestic flights. Hope to be able to travel abroad again this fall hopefully.

Such a beautiful view the Royal Palace have got. It added all shade of beauty to your picture.

Stay safe bro

Light is 90% of what makes a picture good or bad. Especially of people.

It's such a simple thing most people should look at understanding before buying a more fancy camera etc.

I liked this shot too:)

That's true but good cameras are essential too. Consider having 99.9% light and a woeful camera. The result would be poor 😔.

The blue sky is amazing too. And your look too.... Thank God I'm not a lady 😂😂😂😂

Not a fan of selfies but man you look nothing less than a prince or a monarch. You look perfectly placed in front of the palace. Just being honest mate.

I know. Always feel awkward lifting my hand to take a selfie... But having just moved, it felt right to have a picture taken there.

And thank you!

I just spent the last ten minutes googling Oslo. Somehow I didn't know it was the capital of Norway. After spending eons watching viking movies, shows and lore, this is just plain stupid of me. Any how, it must be nice living in the city of Vikings. Best of luck. :-)

It sure is!
Viking Fredrikaa.jpg

I am amazed to see the amount of engagement from this picture... I am jealous ;)

People tend to like seeing people ;)

I agree. Unfortunately, I am not a big fan of showing myself more than necessary (and selfies do not enter in the 'necessary' category for sure!) ;)

Enjoy your new adventure! Thanks for sharing a selfie with us

I really am! :D And I'm sure there'll be more selfies with more cool places! :)

wow, you're looking great 😃

Thanks! :)

I love the background of this photograph. It looks so attractive, likewise you. You radiate more than ever. Handsome dude 😍♥️

The space and park in front of the castle is really epic!
And thank yoU! You're much too kind! :)

You welcome. I like your outfit 😍

You looking dapper. I love the picture I'm seeing 😁

Thanks! :)

That cool face

Congratulations @fredrikaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Seems like you're exploring after a mass die-off of people. uch little activity.
Good photo and vantage point.

rofl. Actually, there's hardly been any deaths in Norway compared to other countries. Just 4 related deaths in the past 2 weeks.

Nice to have a new beginning, I like to see that, good luck with your new city!👍

Good luck retaking your old job and stay safe in Oslo!
You're great man!
Regards!