Introducing a new Community "HIVE MEMORIAL FOREST"

in Hive Memorial Forest2 years ago (edited)

A quiet and dignified place on the Chain where we can remember those we love and had to let go. Obituaries of people and animals we have loved and lost find a place here to be carved on the Chain in perpetuity.

20190714_172223.jpg

A few months ago I was looking for a suitable community to tell the 13 years journey of my dog and me. I didn't find anything, so I asked @thekittygirl if there was such a community on Hive? She replied in the negative, but she was immediately excited about the idea of creating just such a place on the blockchain.

And so she helped me create the "Hive Memorial Forest." She also created the little logo with the heart and the so appropriate text "always in my heart". In the meantime for me a lot has happened in my Hive life. It went up and down, a lot of new things had to be learned.

But today, when I saw a post from @jerrytsuseer here in the community I knew, I finally have to write this community introduction post. And here we go.

20190912_181824.jpg

The thought behind it is that we all face grief and loss in our lives. For those who would like to, there is now this community where they can write a wonderful obituary for their beloved but lost souls.

I think and hope reflecting on and writing such a posting can also be healing. At least for me, it was an important step in saying a loving goodbye to my dog and letting her go.

20190620_091011.jpg

I don't want to make any big rules for this community, but what I do want to emphasize:

Posts about people or animals we loved and lost.

If you are active in the Hive Memorial Forest, please be sure to behave as gracefully as if you were visiting a cemetery.

The rest are not rules, but suggestions:

Make sure it's your own photos, but also that you are allowed to use the photos and consider whether the person and also their heirs would want these photos to be seen here. For example, in this case you could write a post without personal photos of the person.

When it comes to celebrities, first look at the existing posts to see if someone has already written about them and then maybe decide to write a good comment there.

If it doesn't feel right for you to receive rewards for such a post, then you still have the option to either decline the rewards (decline payout) or possibly set a person or community you want to help as the recipient of the rewards (beneficiaries) This is completely up to you. I remember struggling with this in Minja's post, so I just want to mention these options here.

img_0135.jpg

For further ideas and suggestions I am very happy, possibly there was also the thought from @thekittygirl to organize a competition for the banner and logo, what do you think? With @siphon I was a long time ago already in conversation about ideas, but we have lost it again from the eyes.

Another idea would be for example to pin a post where everyone who wants can put sayings or quotes on the subject in the comments?

So please use the comment section of this article to share your ideas and exchange them with others! Reblogs and comment tagging from people who might be interested in this topic are most welcome to help get the idea out into the hive world.
After I know your opinions, there will then be an official community post with the guidelines.

20190306_143724.jpg

I wish for this to be a wonderful place that also reflects this sad, yet hopeful part of our lives. A place on the Chain that is not as loud and colorful as most, but quiet, reflective and deep meaningful.

In memoriam of our loved ones.

Greetings from the heart yours, B.

german version can be found in the comment section
all photos by @beeber
HIVE MEMORIAL FOREST Community

Sort:  
Loading...

Would it be OK to attempt reblogging a memorial post from way back during my first year on Steemit HIVE?

Hi, for me it would be absolutely okay but I dont know much about these rebloggs from old posts, so lets ask @thekittygirl what do you think?

Reblogging a post from long ago should not be a problem, as reblogs do not earn any additional rewards.

Thank you for the mention and for creating this community @beeber


↑Upvoted↑and←Reblogged→

thank you 🧡

Hi, @beeber. I wouldn't have thought of something like this, but now reading you, it seems like a great idea. Writing about our losses can sometimes be a cure for our wounded soul or at least a small band-aid that relieves some of the sadness. I don't have any suggestions at the moment, but if I think of any, I'll post them here. 🤗

Thank you :-) glad you like the idea

Have you seen the notification about IYC contest judging?

Yes, I will send you a message in Discord in a while :)

Great thank you !LUV

😊😄🤗

A very meaningful and touching community, I'm sure it will bring comfort to many. By the way, I notice the first post in the community is a spam post, they get around don't they? 🙃

Thank you, glad you like it :-)
You mean the post by infotechmedia? Do you think we should mute it?

I would if I was a mod. I hate posts that make my community look spammy. That said I don't check my smaller communities often enough 😅

Congratulations @beeber! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @beeber! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@beeber


Firstly... thank you for including my community TAG in your post. I think this is a wonderful community creation. Much like my mindset with my community, we certainly could use a place to come and share our loves and losses. What a wonderful idea my friend. I will try my best to help support as well as spread the word.

Wes...

@tipu curate

!hivebits

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

⚠ HBIT will soon require that no other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

!LUV

@beeber, @wesphilbin(2/10) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require that no other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

What an excellent idea for a community that is needed here!

Thank you, I am glad you also like the idea of the Hive Memorial Forest :-)

This is a most beautiful tribute to those lost from here, but I am somewhat unclear, is this to include people as well as pets or is this pets only?
Also, I might recommend that you get with a Spanish speaker and offer up a Spanish translation as there are a vast amount of Hiveans who are Spanish speaking.

Hi James, glad you like the idea. It is open for all "lost loved souls", may it be human or pets.
I was thinking about a spanish mod, but thought let's see, who will join in by time, as the community will grow.

"Forever in our hearts" wow! I love the idea already.