Cookies for Santa.

cookie-6643631_960_720.jpg

He turned on the oven and put in the tray full of cookies that he had kneaded and cut himself, Christmas Eve was approaching and he had not yet written his letter to Santa. Francisco was no longer a child and it had been a long time since he had written this kind of letter, but his psychologist had proposed it to him as a Christmas challenge. He had been in consultation for more than a year and had not made much progress, so they decided to try something different, the letter would help Francisco connect with his inner child and perhaps bring to the surface some things he still kept hidden from himself and others.

He took paper and pencil and sat down at the counter to write his letter while he baked the cookies. He wrote a few lines but threw the sheet away as he was not convinced by that introduction, the same thing happened a couple of times more. Francisco felt stupid, at that age writing a letter to an imaginary being generated more anxiety than usual, he wondered what his psychologist was thinking when she asked him to do such a task. But he had been putting it off for days and realized he had to do it, no matter how he felt about it he was capable of taking on the challenge, so he took up his pencil and started to write.

Dear Santa:

It's been a long time since I wrote to you, I had forgotten how it felt, but I'm sure you haven't forgotten about me. That little fat boy who every year at Christmas wrote to you full of faith, to ask you for a single gift: that the nightmare at school would end, that you would keep the bullies away, that you would make me happy and normal like the other children. But that never happened and my faith was running out.

I always reminded you in my letters that I had been a good child, more than I could bear. I thought that I would deserve to have you fulfill my written wishes, but it seems that I was not good enough for you. I carefully reviewed my faults, how serious could they be? Eating a piece of candy behind my mother's back, telling a lie to the teacher, nothing out of what any 8 year old would do and yet I only received coal and indifference.

Always at Christmas I hear the stories about santa that parents tell their children and I think of the poor kids forgotten by you. Because I know from my own experience that you don't remember them all, there is a list not known to your followers, besides the list of good guys and bad guys, you also have a list of forgotten ones and the children whose names are on that list are condemned for no reason to put their faith and trust in a little piece of paper to be sent nowhere in the end.

In adolescence I understood that being good is useless, I thought things would get better but they didn't. I did bad things, some of them terrible. I did bad things, some terrible things; I was in jail and in rehab, I thought I would go crazy. My life has been highs and lows, in and out of drugs, in and out of jail for misdemeanors. Now I'm on parole, forced to receive psychological support, it's part of the reintegration program.

I wonder what my life would be like if you had read my letters, if you had honored my wishes, if I had not been one of your forgotten children. But there is no turning back now, I don't know what life has in store for me, but I can no longer wait for your Christmas miracle. This time I am not asking you for a gift, this is my farewell letter.

Francisco did not go the next day to the appointment with his psychologist, that night the roar of a gunshot dulled the oven bell. There were no cookies for Santa that Christmas either, just sad trays full of coal.

Original content by the author.
Own photos from my ZTE E10Q Tablet.
Images used from Pixabay source
Translated with Deepl.com
All rights reserved || @aly.squid// 2022

Sort:  

Greetings, a writing full of sadness and above all perhaps it is a reality that many have gone through and that list will be longer and longer and no one will receive gifts, if not more coal and coal, plus a difficult situation through which I pass and now everything is in pieces and becomes a dark world. A pleasure to read you and thank you for sharing it with us.

Lovely, lovely! even that something went wrong in the owen xD 😜

Congratulations @aly.squid! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  

Hey there!

What a story!👏

Come Over For A Chat-17.jpg

This had an unexpected twist and I loved the thrill of it.

Thanks for joining the challenge 👍

This story shows the other side of Christmas, it's not always glitter and happiness. There are really sad stories at this time of the year.

How very sad!

Unfortunately, Christmas hope is not a reality for some people. Often, the emptiness of childhood dreams drives people crazy. Your story tugs at the heartstrings and makes me sit up and ponder some harsh realities.

Wao! I'm picking up the little pieces of my heart off the floor...a sad story but so true to reality it makes me shudder. Thank you for sharing this story with us and here's to children getting more presents and less coal.

🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

!PIZZA

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@chacald.dcymt(1/5) tipped @aly.squid (x1)

Join us in Discord!