Coffee Conversation: Event 67

in Cinnamon Cup Coffeelast month

O F F E E.jpg

Welcome to our Coffee Conversation Networking Event 67, which runs on May 18 - 20, 2024! 🤗

Cinnamon Cup Coffee, the social hub of the blockchain, strongly believes in the power of networking and building rapport amongst members. Therefore, we invite you to join this #coffeeconversation by leaving a meaningful comment on the topic below, for a chance to #WINHIVE & some #HBD.


6.jpg

TOPIC

Do you add spices to your coffee? What are some of your favourite ones, and how do you decide which spice to add? Add a photo of your morning coffee.

GUIDELINES

☑️ Drop a comment on the question

☑️ Comment on other authors' comments.

☑️ Post comments within the Countdown timer, which ends on Monday right before midnight UTC.

❌ Please do not write a post on this topic.



Prizes & Benefits of getting involved

😉 A mysterious selection from the comments will be made to distribute some Hive.

😎 This is an excellent opportunity to show different sides of your personality and connect with other authors and community members.



❌ Please do not write a post on this topic.

This exercise aims to get you thinking, increase interaction among members, and boost community spirit by leaving your comment on this post. Enjoy, follow all the guidelines, and give us your best:)

Cover Photo Created using Canva Free photo Images and the second photo created using Canva also


The Coffee Shop Prompt Real Stories and personal photography Thursday to Wednesday Coffee Conversation a Networking Commenting Event Saturday to Monday Spill The Beans a Creative Coffee Stories Wr.jpg


Join us on Twitter | Discord (see pinned message) | Community

Delegations to the Cinnamon Cup Coffee community is welcome, by sending them to @cinnccf or @hive-152524, our community's account.

Sort:  

My morning coffee is usually simple: black, strong with a little sugar. I need that shot of caffeine and that shot of sweet energy to start waking me up. A wild, simple jolt that goes to the essential grounds of my cup! 😁

ins.png
This is what my morning cup of coffee looks like. With that little spoon that is already more than twenty years old, I add the sugar.

I don't usually add spices to my morning coffee or black coffee, other than a little cinnamon, cardamom or star anise.
On the other hand, my coffee with milk or cream can be a little bolder. I can add vanilla, cloves, nutmeg, sweet anise, even a little bit of guava pepper. I tried it once with ginger, but didn't like it. I recently read a post by a user here in the community, @omarcitorojas, who added lemon and mint to his coffee and it seemed very tasty.

In any case, the spices have to amplify some qualities of my coffee with a certain hierarchy, and not many different notes in the same range, so that it is not too confusing to my palate, which is not usually able to hold too many taste conversations at the same time.😅

I love all the spices you named 💓 though probably not in my espresso; may be once a year in my guayoyo with a little cane honey 😋

I love the coffee you guys make at home. And I remember that crazy coffee with lemon and yerbabuena (he didn't use mint, I think). I want to try it someday; in the meantime, my coffee is the same every day, although I never get bored of it 😁

untitled.gif

I don't get bored of my morning strong coffee either, brewed in my greca. You made me remember that, in fact, when I put spices in black coffee, and I rarely do, I usually make a lighter coffee. Happy coffee, my sister.

I also use a moka pot for my morning coffee everyday. And every afternoon 😁 And sometimes in the evening 😺

There are many weird combinations that can be added to coffee and everybody is his own chef in preparing “cocktails” with coffee. Adding lemon and mint can be an interesting combination, but I still prefer going for a coffee that has similar taste profile by nature. Of course they are not that strong, but I like the pure coffee taste with a touch of other aromas and flavors.

I can't imagine the taste of coffee with mint 🥺 maybe to prepare a liqueur with coffee and mint flavor I think it's a good option, but for my morning coffee I don't think I'd dare to do so much. 😅

I have once seen and tried coffee with mint in its flavor notes, but it was just a tiny touch to the whole flavor. I am sure that even adding one leaf will probably destroy the coffee taste 😁

You are right about the cocktails!

I share your taste. I like my coffee to taste like coffee. I don't want it to lose the aroma that characterizes it.
Maybe that's why I tolerate more spices in blended coffee. With black coffee I am more sober.
Yesterday, by the way, I was drinking coffee with cardamom that a friend prepared. Just a touch, and I liked it better than when I have tasted it before, always in Turkish residents' homes. On those occasions I felt too much cardamom for my taste.

I completely agree with you 😉.

Thanks!😉

I agree with you, although the spices give it a special touch, it should not be overdone by mixing so many flavors. I have always thought that the coffee flavor should prevail ☕.

You express very well what I meant. If a coffee no longer tastes like coffee, is it coffee?

There are many flavors to exploit and that is what spices offer. I think that in that field I still need to experiment with flavors. Lemon and mint is something new, I would have to try it and see how it tastes.🤭

I leave you a cup of coffee for this day.☕untitled.gif

Hi! It sounded like a very unusual combination to me too, but it was described tantalizingly in the post, so maybe I'll give it a try. We'll let you know about our experiences! 😉

I personally like it with cinnamon, it is the one that most attracts the attention of my palate, often without the black coffee that I add or the ones with milk.

Cinnamon should be one of the queen spices in coffee combinations. I like it in coffee with milk and a little cinnamon from time to time.

Cinnamon is very aromatic and very tempting for my afternoon coffee. untitled.gif

Cinnamon is a very tasty spice and almost everyone likes it. For me, it is perfect on special occasions, but not on a daily basis. A big hug.

I too, I don't like to abuse it, because it is very hot and since I tend to have high or sometimes low blood pressure, it doesn't favor me, from time to time, I use it

I have not tried this combination friend, I have never tried cardamom...I'm going to try it. I'll let you know how it goes.

Cardamom is a very particular spice and not everybody likes it. For me, it somehow resembles wasabi although it has nothing to do with it. I mean that both are perceived as flavor and aroma at the same time. If you like it, you will become a fan. However, I think that for western taste, green cardamom is better and used in moderation. A big hug.

I love to flavor my coffee with cinnamon, it's the only thing I drink it with besides milk. The cinnamon gives it a unique flavor, and I love its aroma mixed with that of the coffee.

This day I was enjoying a strong coffee with a splash of milk which I also really like.

Cheers!

1000059311.jpg

That's my favorite one friend.. cheers! 💜☕☕

IMG_20240518_223600~2.jpg

P.S. I loved your mug

Looks delicious

I also like to add milk to my coffee to try a different flavor. Your cup is very pretty with white seeds everywhere.

I leave you a cup of coffee for this day.☕

untitled.gif

Thank you very much, the milk is delicious and nice a creaminess that I love, I still like it more natural, I do not usually add many spices.

We definitely have very similar tastes, when it comes to coffee, that's great

That's the way my husband likes it; we call it cortado, it's similar to a macchiato, but with vegetable milk (usually homemade raw coconut milk with no sugar and a super tiny pinch of salt).

I'm in love with your mug 😍

Thank You!

Cortado, así lo llamamos aquí en Cuba igual.

A lot of people add cinnamon to their coffee, especially at winter months, but I still prefer my coffee pure. 😂

👍☕😄
I tried it with salt, and it tasted good, I thought I wouldn't like it, but I still prefer sugar hehe.

Every day of my life I drink a black coffee for breakfast (without exception), and in the same cup, which despite being small I like very much and I fill it several times while I have breakfast, I do not add spices to taste the original flavor of my favorite coffee, but in the afternoons I love a coffee with milk and if I add cinnamon or cocoa powder, I love it!

IMG_20240514_105057_490.jpg

I love to add cinnamon to my coffee from time to time, it makes it more special @tibilopez By the way, they say that coffee tastes better in clay cups, I see your cup and I wonder if that is true?

I also like to add cinnamon to my coffee with milk, and with respect to the cup, yes it's true, I don't know why but it tastes delicious in that kind of cup, plus it stays hotter for longer.😃😋☕️

In the afternoon coffee you can add little things, perhaps in those hours we are more predisposed to savor new things. A beautiful cup, I imagine it is very special for you.

I leave you a cup of coffee.☕
untitled.gif

It is amazing that your cup stays intact after all these years of use. The little rituals we have are so important for us and maybe make us feel more comfortable and safe. A good coffee has to be tasty even without adding anything to it, and this is the magic of our favorite drink. Of course adding milk will make the coffee different and if that makes you happy and make your afternoons better, then go for it 😉

Same here! My coffee is the same every morning, but I may play a little with a latte, occasionally in the afternoon. I think cinnamon is my favorite spice for those moments

untitled.gif

@marlyncabrera also for me cinnamon is my favorite spice, the coffee is dreamy.

I share your taste, a good coffee is drunk naturally in the mornings, in the afternoons if it causes the flavor to vary.

Nothing like morning coffee to get us energized. 💜☕☕

As is...☕️😋😗

Hey, coffee friends! How's your Sunday going?

image.png

Spices in my coffee? Rarely. You can ask Flecha; she knows how I drink my coffee 🐱

image.png

BUT I can enjoy a guayoyo with a little cinnamon (and other spices; why not?): For this, I use my small French press or just use half a cinnamon stick to stir the coffee in my cup once it's already brewed. A “guayoyo” is like an Americano and is very popular in my town; when the coffee isn't very good (burnt or lacking in flavor), you can “fix” it by adding crazy things, even lemon zest. I experimented a lot in 2016-17, when the crisis hit hard and we couldn't find our usual products in stores, including our favorite brands of coffee; I made blends of horrible coffee and spices to counteract the bad taste and some turned out pretty acceptable, but I must admit I'm not emotionally capable of intentionally going back to them. I like my espresso naturally aromatic and simple, and would never ruin a good brew with any spice or sugar.

image.png

When it comes to latte, t's different; in this case, I may add a teaspoon of cocoa powder (unsweetened) and spices (ground cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla, clove... you name it. At home, we are all for simple pleasures, a little spicy coffee, if it's good, why not? A little scratch on the chin, too.

It seems that you experiment a lot by adding spices and other elements to coffee to find new flavors and smells.

What a cute kitten, always accompanying you in your chores. A little love for the kitten.

I leave you a cup of coffee for this sunday.

untitled.gif

Some experiments turn out really well, but not all the time 🤭

My cat Flecha loved the GIF, and she says hi! 💕 We're having our afternoon coffee.

IMG_20240519_172603.jpg

How beautiful, greetings back to her.🤗

It is the first time I hear the word guayoyo and it sounds quite interesting and funny. 😁
Latte may be good, but I don’t think I had one soon. Maybe the last time was about so years ago… at a local cafe they added some flavored syrups to latte and my young soul enjoyed that… 🙄

But really, now it is just some pure coffee for me.

I'd love to hear how you say it, haha. It's a tough word for those who don't speak Spanish. Here, for example, it sounds funny, not like we pronounce it but close: https://forvo.com/word/guayoyo/. And here, well, it's totally wrong, haha: https://www.howtopronounce.com/guayoyo

I don't dream of drinking it with spices either, the only spice I sometimes add is cinnamon, and well, sugar, yes, just a little bit. I like to drink it natural.

I think cinnamon is the queen of spices among coffee lovers. I like to add a little to my latte, which I drink with vegetable milk; sometimes I add cocoa powder and a little cane sugar or cane honey. A latte is like dessert for me, and I guess it's like this for many others. Is it your case?

I also share that a good coffee should be simple, without anything, Adding any species in the morning drastically changes my day, in the afternoon I can tolerate it

Adding any species in the morning drastically changes my day...

I feel like I haven't had any coffee yet until I drink a cup of espresso, or whatever brew that is simple black coffee. So we'd better have our cup of black coffee in the morning! 😇

I totally agree with you, black coffee in the morning. In the afternoons, let the changes come 😁

I think so. And if you get the chance to drink your coffee only once a day, for me, it has to be black.

You are correct, black suits us wonderfully

Exquisite tastes my friend...I love it. One day I'm going to visit you to try that delicious coffee.💜☕☕

Coffee is something that is always pure for me. A good coffee doesn’t need additives or taste fixing ingredients. When I work and dont have the opportunity to enjoy the coffee that I make at home, then it is usually a not-so-great tasting one, so I drink it with a touch of sugar. Sugar fixes the unpleasant vibes, most of the time…

The thing that I add to my coffee sometimes, when it is hot, is ice… And I tried adding a pinch of salt to my coffee, which ironically makes the coffee taste a bit sweeter and round. But you should not overdose with salt, because when you do so, your coffee will become salty, of course… 🤷🏻😁

So that’s it… Good coffee is tasty even without adding anything to it.

A pinch of salt sounds very interesting, it would be time to try and taste the flavor that the salt adds. A very interesting fact.

I leave you a cup of coffee for this day.☕

untitled.gif

This is really an interesting fact, that in really small quantities salt takes away the unpleasant bitterness of coffee and boosts the sweet vibe!

Putting salt in coffee is totally new to me, I've never heard of such a mixture, but I'm going to try it tomorrow. I always learn a lot of interesting things about coffee here jeje

Put only a few grains… 😁 first times I overdosed and coffee was a bit salty. 🤷🏻

In the east of my country there are many people who add a pinch of salt to coffee, but they usually do it when they add milk. I always thought it was to bring out the flavor of the milk!
The universe is wide and alien!😂

But I agree, coffee is tasty without adding anything, just good freshly roasted beans.

Ice! Hahaha. Well, that was a surprise, but I understand the purpose. I do use salt, a little pinch, when my coffee taste more bitter than expected.

Remember Vanilla Ice's song? 😂

untitled.gif

Iconic song! 😁 but yeah… some ice for me, please!

I also love my coffee naturally, I very rarely add spices unless it provokes me, and if that is the case, only cinnamon or chocolate.
I haven't tried salt, it will be my experiment tomorrow 😁

When I usually flavor coffee I add just a touch of cinnamon or vanilla, but I always try to make sure that the flavor of the coffee prevails, otherwise it would lose its essence.

This morning I prepared a mixture of my medium roasted Venezuelan coffee powder with a few spoonfuls of this Colombian vanilla flavored coffee and I loved the result.

IMG_20240519_084634.jpg

I have tried that coffee, I love its flavor, I have not made it with vanilla, I will join the experience to see how it goes.

This coffee has a vanilla flavor, actually I always use it mixed with another coffee and I think it gives it a special touch, very good.

It looks really cool

Oh, I have tried that vanilla Sello Rojo, but I didn't like it 🙈 A friend of mine loved it, so I gave it to her. I think I might've loved it in a latte, but at that time I had stopped drinking cow's milk and had not yet been well educated about vegetable milks.

It never occurred to me that I could soften the strong, sweet taste of vanilla by reducing it with another coffee blend 😋

Maybe you didn't like it because you felt the vanilla flavor too much but if you mix it with another coffee the flavor is wonderful, well I liked it ☕.

I'll try that next time 😺

Excellent Sunday conversation for coffee lovers.

Today I come to participate in the new conversation of the week with lots of coffee and flavor.

In my family it is not customary to add anything but sugar to coffee. Spices are not very popular, not because they are not available, but because people think they will affect the taste of the coffee and it will not be delicious. My family is very traditionalist and for as long as I can remember has only drunk black coffee, sometimes with milk.

IMG_20240519_222930.jpg

For the moment we will continue drinking black coffee until the older and more traditionalist ones are with us, then we could experiment with different flavors provided by the different spices that exist in the market.

This has been my answer to the question of the week in our beloved coffee group. I hope to continue reading you in the comments with your coffee preferences.☕

Excellent start of the week.😊

I loved your intervention, it is very true, in my grandmother's house, it is done this way, and this is how we have grown up maintaining the tradition, in the mornings I follow them, in the afternoons it may vary with milk and very rarely cinnamon or chocolate

Some traditions are die hard, but in this case, it works for me 😁 I must say, though, I do like to try new flavors, even if I don't keep them on the menu; I think it gives us perspective and makes us appreciate the flavors of home better.

Loading...

IMG_20240520_114628_1.jpg

My biological clock has changed a lot, because of my cervical discomfort and neuronal problems, I am taking medication and most of the time I am getting up from 10 to 11 in the morning, I am taking relaxant and it puts me to sleep too much, that causes in me, that I can no longer abuse my favorite drink, now I must take a cup of coffee daily at least these three months of medication, so I miss with much sadness every cup with coffee.

IMG_20240520_114603_1.jpg

Today wanting to participate in this conversation, I broke all my parameters and prepared a strong black coffee, as I like, I incorporated a piece of cinnamon stick, to absorb some of its flavor, I did not want to spoil my coffee, at least that it had a slight cinnamon flavor, normally my coffees are only in the mornings, in the afternoons is that I can vary my coffee a little, incorporating other flavors, of the species I only like with cinnamon coffee, I also love it with cocoa or chocolate and the typical coffee with milk.

IMG_20240520_114553.jpg

I have seen many interesting interventions and combinations that I do not know if I would dare to try, who knows if I would dare and change my afternoons of experiments with my coffee, but for now it is not possible, because of what I told you at the beginning.

Happy day, let's continue enjoying our caffeinated beverage.
untitled.gif

Our health comes first so we can have life, my friend, life to live and dream and dreams to live. If you're having one cupa a day, make it special and find your moment of peace to enjoy it.

I hope your health is restored to normal soon 💓

That cinnamon stick makes coffee taste sweet if you stir it with it. I find it delicious with a guayoyo.

It is, we must enjoy every moment with our drink, live life the best we can, health is the most important thing now