Life Decisions [#STB Coffee Prompt Week 71]

15.jpg

Many people find it difficult to decide which path to follow or which to leave if they are told that they should give up coffee or alcohol. In my opinion, when it comes to making a decision, the pros and cons of both must be placed on a scale. Next, I am going to make an analysis and at the end I will tell you which one I will choose.

Alcohol

Giving up alcohol is a decision with great benefits. In my case, being hypertensive, alcohol is an enemy of my blood pressure. To this we can add that its excessive consumption is related to liver disease, some types of cancer, and heart disease and can cause a stroke. If we decide to give up alcohol, we are sure that the risks of these diseases will be at minimum levels.

Another thing that alcohol affects is poor sleep quality. When alcohol is present, insomnia is present, waking up many times at night and leads to tiredness, discouragement, and lack of productivity. A person who does not sleep well is prone to the diseases I mentioned above. When we consume alcohol there is a tendency to fatigue, because it dehydrates the body bringing as a consequence the lack of energy.

Alcohol, as it is an inhibitor, can bring out a person that we are not and that can cause us problems. In addition, this substance leads to depression and increased anxiety. It affects memory and concentration. Quitting alcohol can help us think clearly to make good decisions.

Another aspect in which alcohol is harmful is in family relationships. If we give up alcohol we will surely be more empathetic, we will communicate better, thus strengthening our relationships. Alcoholism is a serious disease that deteriorates us and damages our environment, leading us to irresponsibility and loneliness.

Some say they are social drinkers, but that is the beginning of a terrifying story; that is my opinion. The other thing that alcohol affects us is our pocketbook. If we don't control it, we will lose large amounts of money in bottles and perhaps in medical expenses.

16.jpg

Coffee

A good coffee in the morning activates you to face the challenges of the day in a good way. It is a drink that is really excellent for socializing, it can be shared at any time of the day and its consumption does not affect your pocket, your family relationships, your appearance or your health. My cardiologist has recommended me to drink two or three cups a day and I am happy.

So after placing alcohol and coffee on a scale, what I can say is that, for my health, for my sake, I will keep my coffee. Well, this decision was made a long time ago, I don't drink alcohol, I don't like it, on the other hand, coffee is my passion, it is related to my quality of life, my productivity and therefore to my present and future.

17.jpg

All rights reserved. © Copyright 2024 Germán Andrade G.

The original content was written for:
#STB Coffee Prompt Week 71 by @cinnccf.

All the images are my property and were edited using CANVA.

The image of the glass and the bottle of wine that appears on the cover is courtesy of my son Marco Germán Andrade Naranjo.

The GIF at the end of the post was created by me and edited using CANVA.

I am responsible for sharing with you that, as a Spanish speaker, I have had to resort to the translator Deepl to translate my original Spanish content into English. I also state that I have used the grammar-checking tool Grammarly.

Gif Banner HIVE.gif

Sort:  

Hello GER-MAN, Although more benign than others, coffee is also a drug. Powerful stimulate yourself, which ever consider quitting when you quit smoking. Finally, consider that although I needed to give up the pleasure of smoking, I would not deprive myself of delicious coffee.
I didn't have a major problem with alcohol, two drunken binges in half a century, although it is true that today I cannot drink as much of certain species as I would like due to the issue of blood pressure, but in moderation I enjoy an occasional glass of wine, a glass of rum or the inevitable Scotch
Today let's raise the cups and toast health with steaming coffee.

Sometimes I have a drink and the cardiologist told me to drink scotch, never, rum, vodka, vodka, tequila, or wine. Then, when it's the end of the year or when it's my birthday, an 18-year-old is there to accompany me. But I drink three drinks and what's left is drunk by the people around me. In other words, those drinks are expensive for me.
Another one the doctor recommended was beer, but I don't like it.
A hug, my friend.

My favorite is wine and a glass or two with the food, they go well. Rum and beer up to three or four, with whiskey the problem is that I like the older ones and the ones called single, more than the Blender. Poor thing, many will say, I bet on quality, rather than quantity, and in short, when my ears light up and I feel heat in them, the time has come to drink only water and maybe a cup of coffee.
Good night, happy dreams @germanandradeg
(Gracias a Google, que hace un buen trabajo, pero cambia oídos por orejas)

Thank you so much for these effects of taking alcohol you highlighted here. Taking alcohol has a lot of negative effects in the body. I wonder what people enjoy in vomiting, fatigue, lack of sleep, headaches and other health conditions in the long run.

Hi @rukkie.
I too wonder why there are people who enjoy the consequences of drinking alcohol, that I can't understand.
A thousand thanks for your kind comment.
Greetings from this side of the planet.

I agree with you, the best thing is a little coffee from time to time, with alcohol you have to be careful. Thanks for sharing, dear @germanandradeg . A big hug from Maracay.

Grateful to you friend @irvinc for your kind visit and comment.
A strong virtual hug from this side of the planet.

 last month  

OPEN-3.jpg
The photo belongs to millycf1976 and was edited using Canva.

Alcohol has many unfavorable points for human consumption. Any substance that alters the functioning of the body will not be very good for our health.

Thanks for sharing your coffee experience.☕

Excellent new week.

Grateful to you @rinconpoetico7 for your comment and good wishes that I hope will multiply for you.
A strong virtual hug from this side of the planet.

Congratulations @germanandradeg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 41000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 42000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024