I Spilled the Coffee Beans | My Coffee Sessions in the Morning

image.png


THE COFFEE GRINDER


It's half-past eight and I'm at the office, hungry and sweating from the morning drive. I've been developing the habit of waking up at 5 AM and the immediate reward I give myself is to brew my French press coffee when I arrive at school (I work in a University).

The first thing I do is reach for my coffee grinder. It's a manual conical burr grinder. I got it last year during the Christmas season and it's one of my best purchases. I've been really into French press coffee before the onset of the pandemic. I used to order coffee grounds until a friend gave me coffee beans as a Christmas gift. I couldn't brew it unless I had a grinder. And so I bought one for around USD10.

image.png

The grinder has a lid at the top and below it is the hopper or the space where you put in the coffee beans to be ground. It has a burr mill at the center where a conical burr grinds the beans into the size that you set the grinder to. My grinder already has some leftover coffee grounds on the burr but I'm not sure how often I should clean it. I also don't even know how to clean it. It does not smell bad so I think it's still good.

image.png


THE BEANS


The beans I'm using are from Nescafe. It's called Aromatico. It's a blend of Arabica and Robusta beans. I bought this online after I saw that it was on sale. I've had it before and the best thing about the beans is the aroma and I also like how it's not too strong even at the lowest coffee-to-water ratio.


IMG_20211004_091516.jpg

IMG_20211004_091504.jpg


My girlfriend has given me coffee beans before and one of them was an expired Nescafe Aromatico. She got it from her brother-in-law and we thought a month or two after the expiration date was still okay. Turns out, even after being expired, it's still good.

The beans are medium roast and the profile says its flavor is quite intense with little notes of fruitiness and cocoa.


THE CORRECT AMOUNT


I want my coffee to taste the same every time I drink it. I tested out different ratios and I found that 1:14 is enough for me. I started from 1:12 but it was a bit strong for me. So I weigh my coffee beans and my water to get the taste, strength, and amount that I want.


IMG_20211004_091615.jpg

IMG_20211004_091608.jpg


Using a kitchen scale, I weigh 15 grams of the beans. This will give me around 210 mL of brewed coffee which I think is the right amount if you want to drink a mug of coffee. I used to brew 20 g of coffee beans but that's a lot if you're only drinking it in the morning and all by yourself. I guess I could drink again in the afternoon but drinking hot coffee in the morning is enough for me. And I also don't want my beans to run out quick. Some coffee beans can be really expensive.


THE SPILLED BEANS


The grinder has a removable bottom container for the grounds but I use it as a container for the beans when I weigh them. For this particular coffee session, just as I was reaching for the container, I spilled the beans on the table and the floor. I didn't mean to but it turned out to be just what I wanted for the time when I decided to take pictures during a coffee session.

IMG_20211004_091647.jpg

I know picking beans that fell on the table and some on the floor is not very hygienic but what the hell, it's just me who's going to drink it. And I hope that the hot water would be enough to kill most of the germs.

image.png


image.png

image.png



THE GRINDING


I transfer the beans to the hopper and I see that choosing 15 grams is a good amount. The space in the hopper is just enough for it. I can still add five more grams but it would be full to the brim.

image.png

IMG_20211004_091837.jpg


image.png

image.png


Along the center of the grinder is a rod. This rod connects to the lever. I put back the lid and at the top, there's a peg where the lever is secured. At the other end of the level is a wheel handle that allows the lever to be turned which also turns the burr and grinds the beans.

Grinding the beans is a bit of a workout. You use your arms to turn the lever for a couple of minutes. The sound of the beans being crushed is oddly satisfying.


image.png

image.png



THE (COARSE) GROUNDS


I adjusted my grinder to produce coarse grounds because I will brew it using a French press. The filter in the French press has larger holes compared to the other brewing equipment (coffee maker, pour-over, espresso machine).


image.png

image.png


Still, I think my grounds are too coarse but they don't produce a lot of fines in my coffee. Fines are those powdery residue left at the bottom of your coffee. I follow the most common French press brewing method and it usually produces a bit of fines in the coffee.


THE FRENCH PRESS


It's time to brew! I pour the coffee grounds into the pre-heated French press. Pre-heating just means putting hot water inside the French press and leaving it for a minute or two. This ensures that there won't be a drastic temperature drop when you pour your brewing hot water into the French press.

image.png

I have bought two French presses already but the one I'm using at the school is not mine. I don't know whose is it but it's been sitting in the office since the pandemic. I just made good use of it.

IMG_20211004_092356.jpg


image.png

image.png


I put the French press on the kitchen scale to measure the amount of hot water that I pour into it. I don't have a kettle so I just use a cup. It's messy because hot water gets splashed all around the table. I pour in around 210 mL of hot water. Because I don't have a wooden spoon yet, I carefully stir the mixture using a metal spoon. This can break the glass if done too strongly. I close the lid and bring the plunger just right above the water. And I wait for four minutes.


THE COFFEE


When the alarm sounds, I push the plunger down and pour my freshly brewed coffee into my cup. I put two teaspoons of sugar because I like my coffee sweet. I don't add milk or creamer because I'm lactose-intolerant. I take the first sip and enjoy my delicious coffee. I'm not an expert when it comes to coffee flavors. The profile is correct. It's intense but I can't distinguish the subtle cocoa and fruity notes. Brewing using a French press doesn't really bring out the subtle flavors in coffee unless you use the "longer method." Maybe I'll talk about this other method in a different post.


image.png

image.png


I pair my coffee with my breakfast, usually just bread or a sandwich. I savor my coffee and sip it slowly until it's almost 9 AM and I'm ready to work.

That's it! Although I'm writing this in the afternoon, it's making me want to have a cup of coffee right now. How about you? Do you drink coffee? And how do you make your coffee?

I hope my post intrigued you a bit about coffee-making. In my next coffee post, I think I'll be sharing about the time when I had a Coffee Flight Set. It's a set of coffee drinks that you order and you taste each one which you try to distinguish from each other. That was an interesting experience.

See you in the next post. Cheers! ☕☕


PP.png

Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He’s also a bit melodramatic. Must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he’s trying to learn and improve (personal development, writing, cryptocurrency, fitness, etc.). If you like this article please give it an upvote and if for some reason you’re interested in more future content, please don’t hesitate to follow.
Sort:  

That is quite the process you have going for your coffee ritual. Thanks for sharing the photos. I agree that if you pick up the beans really fast and it's only you drinking the coffee why waste it. And yes, the hot water should be sufficient to kill any germs.

It's a lot of steps just for a morning coffee but it's worth it. My beans are running out so I limit my brewing to only once a day and at 15 grams each.

I hope the hot water is really enough to kill the germs. 😅 Thank you for your comment. 😁

As long as you enjoy it, that is what is important! You're very welcome and Have a great Friday and weekend! 😀
!ALIVE



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

@glecerioberto! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀



Made in Canva

-- @lisamgentile1961

I loooveee french-pressed coffee, too! I don't have a grinder tho so I buy coffee grounds instead of beans. Haha. Aaaand. grabe!! You measure everything!! I literally just "estimate" the amount of grounds and water I put. Hahaha. Yes to dedication to a good coffee!! And oh! Your photos loook so nice ^^

I used to only use ground coffee but there is really a difference when you brew freshly ground coffee! I could probably also just estimate the amounts because I've been brewing for some time already but I want to be sure so I use the scale.
Thanks for the compliments! 😁

Ohhhh! I have been wanting to try grinding the beans myself but been hesitating 'cause I might end up getting too lazy for the longer process hahahaha So happy for you! Have you tried other brewing ways like Pour over or moka pot?

 2 years ago  

Hello @glecerioberto, a nice refreshing post🙌
I like the look of your coffee grinder. Compact and low maintenance it seems; although I know it's hard work using a manual grinder.
Small portions each time is ok, I guess.

You really cannot beat grinding fresh beans to use when needed, and with the French Press, it's always a great taste.
You seem to have the requirements of proper grain size to a tee; an important aspect of the quality brew you get when using the French Press.

Thanks for stopping by:)

Hi, @millycf1976! This was the post I mentioned when I joined the spillthebeans contest. I had to delay posting this because I really wanted to join your contest and I ended up writing a totally different post. Anyway, I'm glad to write more content about coffee. 😁

I can't count how many times I've adjusted my grinder to get the least amount of fines and still extract a good amount of caffeine and the beans' flavor. I remember using very large grounds that gave me "fines-free" but disgusting watered down coffee. 😅

I know I'll be posting more content in your community. See you around! 😊

 2 years ago  

Yes, with the French press the coarser grains are better.

I had a heavy duty electrical grinder in the Philippines, which I used for years till it died.
I didn't want to buy another grinder because I knew I would be leaving, so I borrowed a manual one, that I needed to turn like yours.
Trying to finish grinding a big bag of grains was a great workout on my arms💪

This is a great story too, and I look forward to seeing more content from you, always :)

I haven't really tried this but it's quite a process. Props on sharing. Love the shots too!Ganda! I used to drink coffee before but had to stop since I easily get palpitations. Naka 3n1 kasi haha

There is a mindfulness to the whole process. And the coffee is more satisfying. I don't have beans at home so I just open a Nescafe stick and pour in some hot water. It's a lot easier but freshly brewed coffee is just way better.

Woah, making your own coffee is really hard work. Thanks for sharing @glecerioberto!

It can be difficult at first but you get used to it. You're welcome. 😁

There's nothing more pleasant than a hot cup of coffee in the morning.

The sound and aroma when grinding coffee beans also creates something that is difficult to describe. Don't forget to clean the coffee grinder after use, especially the ceramic part. coffee scraps sometimes produce oil and make the grinding part easily damaged.

Thanks for the reminder, @isdarmady! I will clean it soon. 😁

Congratulations @glecerioberto! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!