Having to adjust my therapeutic relationship with coffee to 1 cup a day II STB Week-43

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee10 months ago

20230709_170521_0000.png

image.png
If we were to have our coffee intake regulated to one cup per day nationwide, I would probably have to reset my whole reality to find another routine and coping mechanism that would replace coffee in my life. Luckily, I am not a caffeine addict as I do not get any migraine or the strong urge to have coffee to function like a normal being, but I have normalised to indulge in coffee especially if I have a long day ahead or a busy schedule. I am still in denial that I could be using coffee even for comfort and to spike my dopamine when I feel like the day is too hectic to manage.

It is crazy that I even have different ways of indulging in my coffee and the choice depends on my mood, plans for the day and circumstances. Nope, I am not a coffee addict at all, I just have a therapeutic relationship with coffee. I have those moments when I would be sluggish or do not have much motivation to do anything before my first cup of coffee. I have found myself drinking at least two cups of coffee per day during the week and could substitute the second cup with tea on weekends. On hectic days when I have deadlines and late nights, I can max to 3 cups with a minimum of four-hour intervals.

image.png


IMG_20230709_170853.jpg


image.png

I have also normalised grabbing coffee before each virtual meeting and this just helps to keep sipping to maintain a focused non-sleepy look, meanwhile, my head is thinking about hive content. Lol. Admittedly, there are days when I easily start daydreaming if the meetings start dragging and holding on to my coffee mug to sip coffee while nodding my head helps to motivate the speaker that I am focused. I am also the type that walks along the corridor saying "good morning" to anyone who happens to have their office door wide open. I can say I know people around those corridors who would just keep a straight face and not smile if they had not had their first cup of coffee in the morning.

Some probably think, "This girl ain't right"! I still greet them to acknowledge their existence especially when I look forward to having my first cup of coffee. These same people also lack zeal in any activity if they do not refuel with coffee after lunch. I can bet that having coffee intake regulated to 1 cup a day would also affect the social interaction with these people. Unfortunately, I have also adjusted my habits and I find myself rather in a good position to socialize over coffee. I am better off sipping my coffee while listening to an acquaintance than having to focus much on their body language and eyes which can sometimes make the conversation a bit awkward.

There are friends I would better catch up with over coffee and caramel Pecanbon than sit for lunch, especially those who always bring in a "Wearisome" vibe - complaining about everything. Sitting down to be served lunch and eat while listening to them complain and not being open to embracing positivity can be draining. Now, imagine having to decide if I should have my 1 cup of coffee for the day in the morning to max my zeal and productivity or save it for later while catching up with that friend? or for a virtual meeting scheduled for later in the day? These two scenarios feel like some sort of oppression from having to limit coffee unwillingly.

image.png


IMG_20230709_171552.jpg


image.png

How is one expected to cope with just one cup of coffee per day when attending conferences and workshops that last the whole day? I have witnessed people dosing off after lunch during workshops, hence, the agenda is always planned to have at least tea/coffee breaks for attendees to keep up. So this would mean all those who had their coffee in the morning would not be allowed to have it when they need it the most. Surely most will be dosing off by the time we get to the last session.

Having coffee regulated to one cup will do more harm to social life too and I know few people including myself who might lose their glow for a while. I do get a bit of comfort knowing that I could still manage to sleep late at night and boost my energy the following day with just coffee. I am not a fan of energy-boosting drinks, so having to only rely on just 1 cup of coffee will be a challenge on hectic days. But one thing I love about humans is that we can adapt to change. I will eventually have to adjust my routine and my therapeutic relationship with coffee.

All images used here belong to the author and first was edited in Canva.

Check the STB Coffee Prompt Week 43 here

image.png

Thank you for stopping by!

image.png

Sort:  

When I started drinking coffee about 4 or 5 years ago I only drank coffee in the morning and that was enough, but now thanks to my coworkers and especially my husband I can drink up to three cups of coffee or more.

But if coffee is one of the most drunk beverages in meetings with friends, it is a perfect excuse to have a little conversation.

I started like that too, the first cup in the morning always tastes better. But, as the day progresses, activities and the people around us often determine when to have a second and third cup.

Do you think you can still be content with just one cup of coffee per day if there is a coffee shortage?😊

Thanks for stopping by, Actioncats! 🌺

 10 months ago  

Hey there!

Thanks for stopping by, it's great to see you here 🤗

Have a Supercalifragilisticexpiali-coffee-li-cous Day ☕️

1.jpg

Thank you for stopping by!🌺

Congratulations @humbe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!
 10 months ago  

1.jpg

I absolutely love the writings on your coffee mugs. Like if that isn't a day booster, I don't know what is. You seem to have quite the mega work-life experience and I want to know what order of coffee that is in the last picture. Looks absolutely creamy.

Thank You! The Writings is indeed a day booster, especially on those days when one feels like complaining about everything going on in life. 😀

Yep, It is creamy, It's a Caramel Latte Chillatta, it has a shot of espresso, milk, and caramel syrup all blended with ice, then topped with whipped cream and caramel sauce.

Thanks for stopping by @jhymi!🌼

Oh, you're very welcome. Bookmarked this so I can order same when I can. Thanks again for the experience.🤗

Awesome. Maybe we can even learn to make one ourselves. Look up the Ingredients from the shop, even substitute espresso with coffee like the cold brew that was posted by wwwiebe here. Then blend it with milk and ice, I doubt we can be offish with the taste. 🤔

Thanks for the lovely chat, have a great week jhymi🤗🌺