A Special Coffee

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee21 days ago

portada-a.jpg



I didn't realize that the text message had been on my cell phone for almost a day. It is happening to me more and more often, messages arrive and I don't notice them. It could be a problem with my cell phone or maybe I need to reconfigure the alarm system.

Fortunately it wasn't too late when I saw it. It was an important message, from Lidia, a very dear friend. I wondered if I could stop by the airport the next day. She would be in the country for a few hours while waiting for her connecting flight to Prague, in the center of Europe.

I have known Lidia since we were children, she came to my school to attend the fourth grade. At that time our school had a combined shift, elementary school in the morning and high school in the afternoon. So when we finished elementary school we both continued studying high school in the same place.

We were both very close. I would go to her house and she would go to mine, we shared a lot. Almost everyone, including our parents, thought we were boyfriend and girlfriend...

However, it wasn't like that. It is true that a few times we got to kiss and let our naughty hands ignite those youthful bodies. But we both had the intuition that our destiny was not to be together as a couple, but to remain friends.

At the end of high school we separated a bit, we chose different careers and she even studied in another city. Despite the distance, we always looked for a moment to meet, have a coffee and share our concerns. The two of us could talk about anything, without avoiding any topic, our trust has always been total.

imagen2-580.jpg

As time went by, each one of us made a family. I had one child and she had two. My relationship did not have a happy ending but Lidia was able to continue hers...

For a long time, whenever I met with Lidia, I gave in to the temptation to take our conversations to what might have been if we had become sweethearts. Many times I asked her what our life would have been like if we had chosen to live together...

At no time did Lidia mind talking about it, she told me that she has thought about it too, and that from time to time she has wondered the same things...

The good thing has been that after talking about it so much, now we are both clear about it and we have understood why it was the best thing to become great friends...

After half an hour of waiting, I finally see Lidia coming out of the airport hallway. Her face is radiant, luminous, just like five years ago when we saw each other for the last time.

We embrace affectionately and look for a quiet place to have a coffee. The two hours she has free between flights fly by. We barely had time to talk about a few things, to catch up on personal projects. As a great news Lidia let me know that a few days ago her eldest daughter informed her that she was pregnant.

And how did you feel about being a grandmother... I ask her...

Great, she answers, and doesn't stop laughing.

imagen3-580.jpg

We walk to the boarding gate, hug again and say goodbye until next time.

I wait for the plane to take off and meanwhile I go to the same place where I was with Lidia and ask for a coffee, I sit at the same table ...

I take the first sip but it doesn't taste the same to me, as if something is missing. That also happens to me often. There is something in my taste that seems to activate when I am with friends or someone dear to me...

The plane takes off and I keep thinking about coffee, about its strange taste. I think that since I was a child I have been a coffee drinker, I have tasted it in many ways, hot or cold, with spices or alone, of many brands and in many places.

But what makes the big difference for me is not the type of coffee, but who I drink it with. I am convinced that the taste of coffee is directly related to my mood. Those coffees that I share in conversations with my loved ones, like the one I had with Lidia a while ago, always have a special flavor...

Thank you for your time.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

separador verde.jpg

All your comments are welcome on this site. I will read them with pleasure and dedication.

Until the next delivery. Thank you.


MARCA LIBRO POSTALdef-sombra-m.jpg

The photos, the digital edition and the Gifs are of my authorship.


separador verde.jpg

logohivevenezuela200.png

Logo creado por @themanualbot

separador verde.jpg

Sort:  

𝘍𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘥 @irvinc, 𝘪𝘵'𝘴 𝘸𝘰𝘯𝘥𝘦𝘳𝘧𝘶𝘭 𝘵𝘰 𝘩𝘦𝘢𝘳 𝘢𝘣𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘭𝘢𝘴𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘧𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴𝘩𝘪𝘱 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘓𝘪𝘥𝘪𝘢. 𝘛𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘰𝘯𝘥𝘴 𝘸𝘦 𝘧𝘰𝘳𝘮 𝘪𝘯 𝘤𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘥𝘩𝘰𝘰𝘥 𝘰𝘧𝘵𝘦𝘯 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘭𝘢𝘴𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘮𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘴𝘴𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘪𝘵'𝘴 𝘤𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘯𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘵𝘰 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘪𝘴 𝘥𝘦𝘦𝘱 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘤𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘴𝘩𝘦𝘥. 𝘐𝘵'𝘴 𝘢 𝘵𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘢𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘵𝘰 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘴𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘨𝘵𝘩 𝘰𝘧 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴𝘩𝘪𝘱 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘺 𝘤𝘢𝘯 𝘥𝘪𝘴𝘤𝘶𝘴𝘴 𝘱𝘢𝘴𝘵 𝘱𝘰𝘴𝘴𝘪𝘣𝘪𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘢𝘧𝘧𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘪𝘳 𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘳𝘦𝘭𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴𝘩𝘪𝘱.

𝘊𝘰𝘯𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘭𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘓𝘪𝘥𝘪𝘢, 𝘰𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘯𝘦𝘸𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘭𝘭 𝘣𝘦𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘦 𝘢 𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘯𝘥𝘮𝘰𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘳; 𝘐𝘵'𝘴 𝘢 𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘤𝘩𝘢𝘱𝘵𝘦𝘳 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘣𝘰𝘵𝘩 𝘸𝘪𝘭𝘭 𝘴𝘩𝘢𝘳𝘦. 𝘔𝘢𝘺 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴𝘩𝘪𝘱 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘶𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘧𝘭𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘴𝘩 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘦𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘺 𝘴𝘩𝘢𝘳𝘦𝘥 𝘮𝘰𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘮𝘦𝘮𝘰𝘳𝘺.

𝘐 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘴𝘵𝘰𝘳𝘺 𝘪𝘴 𝘷𝘪𝘳𝘵𝘶𝘢𝘭, 𝘣𝘶𝘵 𝘨𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘢𝘯 𝘢𝘯𝘴𝘸𝘦𝘳 𝘣𝘺 𝘱𝘶𝘵𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧 𝘢𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘵𝘢𝘨𝘰𝘯𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘸𝘢𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘴𝘵 𝘐 𝘤𝘰𝘶𝘭𝘥 𝘥𝘰. 𝘏𝘦 𝘭𝘦𝘧𝘵 𝘮𝘦 𝘶𝘯𝘴𝘦𝘵𝘵𝘭𝘦𝘥 𝘣𝘺 𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘳𝘦𝘴𝘱𝘰𝘯𝘴𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘮𝘺 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘸 𝘥𝘢𝘺𝘴 𝘢𝘨𝘰 𝘰𝘯 𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘭𝘢𝘴𝘵 𝘱𝘰𝘴𝘵. 𝘈 𝘩𝘶𝘨 𝘧𝘶𝘭𝘭 𝘰𝘧 𝘣𝘭𝘦𝘴𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴.

Thank You so much.

 21 days ago  

I liked the plot and thought it was a nice setting, although I wasn't sure where the story was going. However, you ended it off nicely and I like your views expressed in response to the prompt:)

1.jpg

I'm glad you liked the post. I like writing these stories. Thank you very much for your support dear @millycf1976 . A big hug from Maracay

Sometimes drinking coffee alone is relaxing, but sometimes it's better in the company of those special people we cherish and love. Nice story

The company is too important to enjoy a good coffee. Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting, dear @actioncats. A big hug from Maracay.

This is so beautiful, sir. I admire people who understands clearly that whatever feelings they shared should remain as friends.

I found myself in making a decision like this some years ago and we choose to remain just like you and Lidia. It's true that coffee taste differently with the people we share the drink with.

I discovered this not long ago and the feeling is just special.

Sometimes it's good to have a great friendship. You can be a friend without being a partner. The ideal is that you could have friendship with your partner. Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting dear @george-dee . A big hug from Maracay.

Congratulations @irvinc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 14000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 14500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Thank You so much.

Go for it, @irvinc! Set your sights on that new target and keep pushing forward. Remember, every small step brings you closer to your goal.

Bring back memories. ☺️ @irvinc

Thank You so much.

Welcome. ☺️ @irvinc