You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where I prefer to have my coffee

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee2 months ago

I'm with you on about everything you said. From the ambience that comes with drinking coffee out with your husband because of the romantic feel. And how making it at home gives you more comfort.

I do want to know though. Do you really enjoy making all these pastries and meals because you have a passion for it or its a curiousity to try something new. Cause all your pastries look absolutely scrumptious!

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Do you enjoy making all these pastries and meals because you have a passion for it or a curiosity to try something new.

Yeah, I do.
Maybe it's because, in my younger years, I was a Concierge and ate at gourmet restaurants frequently (for free most times). I admired dishes and took something away from each experience that I like to do for myself.
It's something that surprises people about me. When I meet someone new and they come to my home, they are always completely shocked at how 'domesticated' I am. I like cooking and cleaning because it's a great way for me to practice gratitude self-love and appreciation.

I love the aroma when baking and it makes my environment more cosy. I also cut back on ingredients, and I'm particular about the kinds of oils or butter used in most bakeries. At home I know exactly what I use:)))

I was a Concierge and ate at gourmet restaurants frequently...

I can understand how that must have sparked your interest for creating different meals and baking. But I know a someone who hated the experience when she was at a similar job, so I feel it could also be mostly passion you were born with.

Either way, it's beautiful. Eating right and feeling at peace with yourself and your environment. 🤗

 2 months ago  

Haha! Funny enough, when I was a teenager, my family thought I would never learn how to cook. I always told them, "From you can read, you can cook." It pays to get a few good recipes with photos for a foundation and understanding, and then I always add a personal twist:)))

Yeah, that personal twist is the secret ingredient. In my case, I kept saying that I hated cooking and so I was kept out of the kitchen. It was only later they realized that I said that cause somehow, I knew I'd be good at it and didn't want to be subjected to being the perpetual chef of the family.😄

 2 months ago  

Didn't want to be subjected to being the perpetual chef of the family.😄

Haha! I have a good imagination of what that could be like in your culture. I guess it's similar in Jamaica and some tasks get forced on you if people know your ability. I think most Africans (Nigerians, Kenyas, Ghanians) that I have encountered, are pretty good cooks. So, maybe more exposure to some of the best ingredients in places like the UK, would make you do magic:)))

Well then, I still have the phobia of cooking for large gatherings and all, but maybe if I had a wide range of good quality ingredients, the task wouldn't be so daunting. Thank you. 🤗

 2 months ago  

I still have a phobia of cooking for large gatherings

Haha! That's a different level.😳
I HATE that idea too. It's not easy cooking for large amounts of people in small confined kitchens.😆