A Boho Inspired Cafe

Hi, Coffee Lovers! ☕️💖

Have you been to a cafe that serves rice meals? 🍚 😊

4cafeal.jpg

It would be unusual for my foreign friends but in the Philippines, rice is a staple, and so you can almost find it in any restaurant.

I tried a lot of cafes that serve coffee and rice, but I got curious about this one because of the ✨Boho aesthetic✨. This cafe is called Cafe Alnardo located at Manila, Philippines.

3cafeal.jpg

On the counter, I noticed they had lots of menus. Apparently, this cafe is a joint venture of different kiosks.

The rice meal, milk tea, and shawarma are kiosks outside the cafe, but then you are welcome to sit inside the cafe.

10cafeal.jpg

I was certain that I like to try their carbonara and latte. My friend got Hungarian sausage with rice and macchiato.

While waiting, I had the chance to look around and take pictures. The rattan chairs and seats are perfect for some photo ops. Even the napkin holders are in theme.

7cafeal.jpg

6cafeal.jpg

17cafeal.jpg

The first to arrive was our drinks. Their drinks were okay. My friend told me that he needs more kick of caffeine, though. ☕️

I jokingly told him that he should have ordered espresso. I am not a regular coffee drinker so I chose the milky version, the latte. I easily palpitate, that's why.

11cafeal.jpg

But then I tried to compare the two, and I found no difference or was I just tripping, hahaha.😅

The Hungarian sausage with rice arrived after 15 minutes. 🍽 I told my friend to eat ahead. I know he was so hungry already.

13cafeal.jpg

I asked him to rate his food. He told me that the rice was cold and super dry. He expected the rice to be piping hot, greasy, and garlicky.

You can see how the rice fell apart. They should be sticking together. The egg, let's just say forgivable.

14cafeal.jpg
Finally, my carbonara! I was expecting a carbonara. But I think this is a Filipino version of carbonara, I knew it at first glance.

Very creamy and a bit sweet. It is missing pepper and olive oil, though. The bread was just toasted. No oil or butter.

My food arrived after 10 minutes. We were not in a rush but, I think 10 minutes is too long given that we were just two occupied tables?

The staff is super nice to say sorry for the slow service. It was totally fine. And we were enjoying the jazz music background.🎶

My Rating

Service 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The staff was super nice, and approachable, they had the best smiles. I can't pinpoint something unpleasant about them.👍🏻

Food 3/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I am going to be brutally honest. The drinks were fine. Nothing special but just right what we were expecting.

The minor thing was the macchiato needed a little bit of caffeine kick. Maybe this is subjective to my friend.

The rice is super dry and cold. It needed a little bit of oil. It crumbled down when it was served. I am not saying that it should be supposed to look like what it is in the picture but normally tapsilog style is served with greasy rice.

Hungarian sausage is super delish! The spiciness of the sausage is just right. Cooked perfectly. The egg is okay, no issue as long as the yolk was not broken.

15cafeal.jpg

Maybe it is my fault for expecting an authentic carbonara. It turned out to be a Filipino version.

I like whichever version, but that night, I was expecting the prior. I am just missing a little pinch of pepper.

It was yummy, creamy, sweet!👍🏻

Place 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

5cafeal.jpg

What I saw in Google review was the same in real life. Gorgeous chairs and tables. Clean and organized coffee station.

2cafeal.jpg

1cafeal.jpg

Aesthetically pleasing. The jazz music is relaxing. A nice background music while chitchatting.

And the lights? It is well thought off for sure! I love the warm radiance of the string of little bulbs.

9cafeal.jpg

Price 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Affordable.

Total bill 9.69 USD
Latte 2.22
Macchiato 2.58
Carbonara 3.20
Hungarian Sausage with Rice 1.69


If you ask me if ever I will go back again? Maybe. I will give it another chance.

What made me want to go for a second time was the friendly atmosphere. I know their food will improve next time. I doubt my friend will accompany me again, though. 😅


More info on their social media page!

Facebook


Thanks for reading~ 💖

That is it for this food blog. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited.
©️jijisaurart

👾 NFT Showroom: nftshowroom.com/jijisaurart
🥰 Open for commissions!!!

Sort:  

Wow, the food looks very cheap to me… Hungarian sausage with rice for 1,69? You must be kidding?

Although the carbonara-macchiato combination doesn’t seem so appealing to me, I would like to visit this place!

Yes, very cheap but you can find cheaper price somewhere. It's a bit pricey just because it is in a cafe.

I ordered carbonara and my friend ordered the Mac. He didn't like it that much. 😅

!PIZZA

It sounds like there were a lot of small mishaps on this visit. I think that much like your friend, my biggest problem would be a weak coffee! Thankfully your items came through for you more or less, the Carbonara has me scratching my head though! haha ☕️

problem would be a weak coffee!

Yeah, they missed that part. My friend ranted the whole night about it. 😅

!PIZZA

 3 months ago  

It's great to see you, as always! Have a Coffee-Licious Day:)

Add a he-3.jpg

All images belong to millycf1976

Thank you!

!PIZZA

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much Qurator team! 😊

The photos show a beautiful place, decoration and lighting very well done, regarding the food I thought it was the weak point of the place, the food and the speed of the service will surely improve.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.☕

Good day.

the food and the speed of the service will surely improve.

Yes, hoping to see improvement the next time I will visit. I doubt my friend will accompany me! 😅

!PIZZA

Congratulations @jijisaurart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 59000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
jijisaurart tipped cinnccf
@jijisaurart(5/10) tipped @rinconpoetico7
jijisaurart tipped mdosev
jijisaurart tipped grindan

Well done! Since living in a city has a fast pace, I also plan on opening a coffee shop, but it will be a "go-to" coffee kind of setup.