Coffee and Treats in France

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee11 months ago

This coffee post will give you a hint of where my sister and I went next during her visit to France. She still had a few days left to spend with us in the country so there was still a lot for us to do and a fair amount for her to see.

20220716_124049~2.jpg

The first cafe that we stopped at was during our travel day coming home from Chamonix-Mont-Blanc. It was in the city of Beaune in Burgundy France. We stopped there for a coffee to break up the long eight hour drive.

20220716_124059~2.jpg

The little Cafe that was busy with people eating lunch but we didn't stay too long, just enough to charge a bit before heading out again, back on the open road.

20220716_123100~2.jpg

While in town we stopped for ice cream at a place that specialized in colorful macrons. The shop was called Fabrice Gillot as you can see from the packaging. They sold more than just macrons but the little cookies are just so very French, so it was something that my sister had to try during her vacation.

20220716_195756~2.jpg

We got two boxes of assorted flavors, one for my sister and one for my wife who couldn't make the trip with us. It was a small gift to bring back to her. I didn't get any for myself this time around. I don't think that I tried any either so I can't comment on whether or not they were any good. My wife said that they were good but not as good as Laduree. That's not surprising though really. I couldn't tell you what the flavors were even though I picked them out. It was fun selecting them and they did look pretty.

20220716_195740~2.jpg

The next place that we went was to the city of Rouen. We stopped at a cafe there, this time with my wife as well. It was in the morning when we first arrived.

20220717_111133~2.jpg

That cafe was called Antico Cafe.

20220717_111143~2.jpg

They both got cappuccinos and I got a cafe cream... I think. I don't actually know. It looks like it could be anything based on the photo. We all got croissants though, because that's what you do in France. You eat croissants and any sort of pastry, because they are delicious.

20220717_104425~2.jpg

I miss the croissants and baked good there. We found some okay ones in Canada but they aren't the same. Not really even close. They aren't as flakey and are slightly more...bready, maybe. I remember eating one dessert one time and saying, "I think this is supposed to be a choux pastry?"

20220717_104657~2.jpg

I think it's the quality of butter there that makes everything better, at least for the croissants. French butter is of a much better quality. A few years ago there was a butter scandal in Canada when it was discovered that butter was being cut with palm oil...!?! When I learned of that I was like... "yeah that's not surprising." Nothing surprises you when you're a jaded cynic though.

20220717_104709~2.jpg

My sister didn't like all of the cocoa powder on top of her coffee that day. She said it was messy and just gets all over your lips and face. She did have a point there.

20220717_104448~2.jpg

The coffee looks so good though, am I right? It's all about the presentation.

20220717_103940~2.jpg

What are these two looking at? The colorful half timbers? Whats over there?

20220717_103907~2.jpg

Just someone looking out the window of their Airbnb. Thats a cool spot to stay in the city I bet. Right in the heart of the old town with a great view of the church and the small square with the cafe near by. What more could you ask for?

20220717_103859~2.jpg

Well thats it for my stream of consciousness talk about coffee and treats. If you are interested in seeing more of our trip then stay tuned, there's more to come. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

Oh how I miss the French croissants 🥐 hahaha 🤣
Beautiful captures of some lovely days. You just see it is France.
Nice you showed your sister around. Always busy times when family visits, I so know.
Have a great week 👋🏻

 11 months ago  

Yeah it was a very busy time when she came to visit. We ended up doing something or going somewhere every day for probably 10 days. But you have to make the most out of a vacation so it was worth it.

Yep… you have to make the most out of short vacations 😎
We have the same when friends or family come to visit 😉 busy times but worth it.

 11 months ago  

Yes totally worth it. Haha

 11 months ago  

 You made my heart go giddy-up.jpg

I love a good croissant, although I haven't tried one made in France. The ones from Lidl's fresh bakery are pretty good though. I have a pack of 4, that are nothing to write home about from Aldi. I forgot to have one this morning because I just wanted a coffee as I was heading to lunch shortly after.

Everything looks amazing, and I do like that cocoa-sprinkled cappuccino. Your sunglasses are very Vogue, and maybe the cocoa sprinkles would get in the way if you were drinking them. The macarons look divine.

Everything looks awesome, and yes, it would be pretty cool to live right in the town. I would find myself going out for an ice cream late at night.

I'm sure this was an experience that your sister will remember for a long time:)

 11 months ago  

You haven't truly eaten a croissant until you eaten a French croissant... lol just kidding. They are seriously delicious there though.

Having ice cream too close to home would be dangerous for us. Right now we have a place that's about a 15-20 minute walk away and that it almost too close. We walk to get ice cream regularly. At least once a week.

 11 months ago  

Well, at least you walk to get the ice cream and not drive.

My best friend is French and she brags about French croissants, so I believe you 😆

 11 months ago  

Yeah their bragging is warranted lol

It is a very beautiful place that I wish I could visit and also try those croissants and the colorful cookies that really look beautiful and delicious.

And your photos 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

 11 months ago  

The treats were quite good. France does baked goods really well lol

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 11 months ago  

Thanks for the support 😁👍

This city of Rouen looks so beautiful and I'm very sure that you enjoyed the coffee that you had over there
I can tell from from the way you typed

 11 months ago  

untitled.gif

France looks so beautiful and elegant, I hope to visit it someday. I was curious about the taste of the macaron you ate, it looks sweet and delicious.

 11 months ago  

France is a very beautiful country. The macrons are sweet but the good ones are not too sweet.