I celebrate International Coffee Day

Before I dedicate myself to write a post whose topic is already previously drafted in my mind, I check the platform to keep up to date with recent publications, what is trending and give my support with votes and comments to build community.

With the knowledge of today's October 01 being celebrated as International Coffee Day, there is no better tribute than to dedicate the day to sharing my latest experience of a coffee away from home and what motivated it.

Then, checking @cinnccf I get an initiative linked to the day, it was to be expected. So without wasting any more time I present my post, I hope it will be to everyone's liking.

4.png

Coffee accompanies us every day, with it we laugh, cry, celebrate, talk, reach agreements and more. Approximately two weeks ago a new member arrived to the family, son of a cousin whom I love like a younger sister (I took care of her and changed her diapers), everything was happiness until after a few hours of birth, the baby needed help to breathe, he had not left the nurses' care.

The simple explanation was that his lungs were filled with fluid, which is common in children born by cesarean section and would take 24 to 72 hours to fully recover. After this time, the child needed to be transferred to intensive care, the news had the whole family devastated. My cousin had not even been able to hold him in her arms or feed him directly.

Since she was in a different city, she only had the 24-hour support of her mother (my aunt) @tibilopez. As the days passed, the child's diagnosis changed, sometimes for the better and sometimes not. With nerves on edge and the urge to want to give a tight hug, my mother, daughter and I went to the clinic located in another state neighboring where we live.

We knew that we would not be able to meet the baby, it was just to give moral support and distract them a little from everything that was happening, bring a smile to their faces and accompany them for a couple of hours, since most of the time it was just the two of them (grandmother and mother of the newborn).

With the GPS active we arrived at the clinic without complications, after a big hug we went to the clinic's cafeteria, by that time only my aunt was there, since my cousin was expressing her breast milk to leave in her son's bottles and that the nurses would supply in the early morning.

1.png

We took advantage of the fact that she was not there and we were able to express our concern to the point of letting out a few tears, while my aunt gave us the details of the whole experience. Then, to liven up the moment, I asked the question... Would anyone like coffee? All those present said yes, so I went to the bar to order 4 coffees with milk and one of them stronger (with more coffee) for my mother. The order, in the best Venezuelan style, was three light browns and one hot dark brown.

2.png

When the employee brought the coffee to the table, my aunt was surprised by the presentation, she had been enjoying coffee there for several days and they served it in a giant cup hahaha, was her comment. For that day the disposable cups were present.

After sweetening it each one to her taste, we toasted to that family sharing and the baby's speedy recovery. My mom was anxious because the coffee was going to get cold while I was taking the picture. Luckily the coffee was delicious, we didn't have to return any of it to be adjusted with more milk, coffee or temperature.

3.png

Then my cousin arrived with her 3 year old daughter. We hugged and I controlled myself not to cry in front of her, we listened carefully to everything she had to tell us, we photographed the moment and she went to the first floor of the clinic to feed her baby. The baby stayed with us enjoying some fruits and cookies that we brought her.

5.png

Then we went upstairs to wait for her to come out and tell us how the baby was doing. Only her mother could come in to see him. When she came out she shared with us her appreciation and the information that the nurses gave her, the child is improving every day and very soon he will be home with his family.
After a while it was time to say goodbye, the rain was threatening to appear and we had to head towards the capital city of Caracas.

We were pleased to have accompanied them for three hours, we enjoyed a cup of coffee and laughed remembering family anecdotes.

Today, they are at the clinic again and this time it is expected that the baby will be able to go home under medical treatment administered by a nurse. We are all praying that this will be the case.

This is just a brief demonstration of what we do over a cup of coffee. Eternally it is and will be the best companion. Coffee, always present, never absent.

P.S.: This post was ready yesterday, but due to technical problems (internet failures) it was not possible to share it when I had planned. Thank God the baby is already at home with his family under the care of a nurse.We will wait for the right time to meet him and share a coffee full of love and happiness.

This is my participation for the International Coffee Day 2022. link

I want to invite @antoniarhuiz to share a story with us.

The photos are my own and the edits were made in Canva with the free version.

Banner.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you my dear Lis for that very touching writing, it was just like that, after so many days alone with my daughter going through such sad moments, you together with that rich coffee that you gave us, we forgot for a moment the sadness and we even laughed for a while, your presence really gave us a lot of well being. A thousand blessings 😘🙏🤗

The next cafeteria meeting will not be at the clinic, thank God.
Let's wait for the complete recovery of the youngest of the family to have fun in an afternoon of coffee and toast.

untitled.gif

 2 years ago  

Hey there!
I guess the memory of a newborn is one of the most precious things, especially under the circumstances of his birth.
Coffee saved the day and will forever be a lovely part of that special memory.
To many more special and happy occasions with coffee.
Good luck!

It was a different kind of birth that we experienced with the new baby.
I knew that no one could resist a latte, while we drank it we forgot for a moment where we were.
Coffee brings people together

untitled.gif

A beautiful experience lived as a family where you couldn't miss that special moment of sharing a good coffee ☺️
Congratulations for that new member of the family 🙂👏👏👏👏👏
Success to you my friend @lisrl26

Thank you for your kind comment
Coffee is always welcome 😊☕️

 2 years ago  

Any health concern with a child is always a little scary. I'm glad to hear that the baby is doing well and schedule to go home soon. Coffee always seems to be present at any hospital visit to help out in its own way.

Thank you for your good wishes. Thank God the baby made it home, with special care but well.🙏

Oh yes the coffee in the clinics works as a tranquilizer and to clear the mind.
That's why there is never a shortage of coffee in those places. 😋

Holaaa amiga!! Gracias por la invitación. Muy emotiva tu participación y el encuentro con tus familiares, lástima que ha sido para un momento de tristeza pero más lo importante es que ha servido para darle fortaleza y ánimo a tu prima. Dios mediante todo estará bien.

Hello friend, thank you for your nice comment 🙏

Hi, what an experience you had to live, when I read your publication I remembered what I had to live last year when my baby was born, he had to stay in the hospital for 26 days, even in days of fear and uncertainty a coffee helps us to feel better. Very nice publication
.

Thank you for your kind comment. I wish no mother had to live that experience of leaving her newborn in the hospital.
There is no doubt that coffee strengthens us, it is our ally in every occasion.