Nothing Beats Free Starbucks After A While...

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee11 months ago

20230527_024148.jpg

Safe to say when I was Thailand though there were Starbucks on every corner, I barely went there.

None of the people and friends I met liked going there. So, while I was in Thailand, I was mostly living on 7/11 coffee and cafe hopping for coffee that costs $3 or equals to 100 Baht. The number 100 makes it feel like it was too expensive as with 7/11, their all cafe sells it for $1 coffee which is around 35 Baht and I am not going to lie,they taste quite okay.The app that I have also doesn’t work there, so I didn’t bother to go there at all. I also don’t have credit card attached to it nor too bothered to figure how money works there. After my wallet was magically disappearing, it was another extra stress for me. So, I didn’t really bother looking into how Starbucks worked there, ever. Perhaps when I got back again, I will.

I lived almost like a local and 200 baht for a day was my budget for food alone. Maybe it’s not too local? but it’s pretty reasonable amount if you live in Bangkok. A meal in a small stalls would cost 55 Baht to 60 Baht. But for me, coffee was something of necessity and I budget it only 100 Baht/day. I was struggling quite a bit there as that was underwhelming amount compared what I would spend back home. Maybe I can blame my unproductivity to the lack amount of caffeine I had? And with that budget, Starbucks was definitely off the list.

But anyway, as soon as I landed at the capital at 2 AM after getting hustled by Airport Taxi, I saw a little hope. Starbucks was just across the waiting area. My next flight was around 5 AM and I’d love getting caffeine to power me through the night. I didn’t have enough cash on me left.

I was thinking that 300.000 would be enough to get me until I am home but apparently, not (thanks to getting hustled by taxis). Deep inside, I know I would rather sit in starbucks, charging my laptop, get a bit of work done, and happily walk to my next flight. But well, I was too broke to do that until I check my app and hoping there was some credit left on it.

Voila! On the reward section, I saw that I have a free starbucks voucher and some credit left on my app.

I went there and redeemed the voucher and got myself this mexican sausage bread on top of it. I suddenly felt richer again that I could afford starbucks at an airport which usually is a little bit more expensive. I was just happily eating them and so thankful, I got to drink it again. After charging my laptop, phone and my other devices, I left the place. I was just so overjoyed to the fact that I can afford starbucks again.

untitled.gif

Literally how I feel after drinking that free starbucks

Then, as I walked to the gate and navigate the massive airport of Jakarta, I saw another starbucks and I wanted to go there. I checked on my app and I got another 50% off up to Venti Size.

20230527_043605.jpg

So, I eventually had my second starbucks and only paid $2 for the coffee. It was such a luxury moment for me to be able to have Starbucks again. I sat there for another hour after walking an hour just to find that area. It was an hour flight and half and once I landed, my mom said that she’d be late picking me up from the airport. So, as soon as I got to the airport, I was once again, finding coffee.

20230527_074803.jpg

It was my 3rd coffee of the day but the last one from ROTI O was meh. I wouldn’t really buy them but just because I needed some caffeine to wait for my mom, why not? I was just so happy to be back home and can afford starbucks again. But either way, I think I am also fine living without Starbucks as proven when I was living in Thailand and Laos. It's not the end of the world but I know, I'd always love having that consistent taste coffee especially when life is that unpredictable.

Anyhow, looking forward to be more productive and well-caffeinated again.

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.png
𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢 & 𝘤𝘰𝘧𝘧𝘦𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘯𝘰𝘪𝘴𝘴𝘦𝘶𝘳 . 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨, 𝘢 𝘳𝘦𝘧𝘭𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘰𝘧 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘸𝘢𝘯𝘥𝘦𝘳𝘭𝘶𝘴𝘵 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘳𝘴𝘵 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸𝘭𝘦𝘥𝘨𝘦. 𝘚𝘩𝘦 𝘰𝘧𝘵𝘦𝘯 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘮𝘰𝘷𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴, 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘥𝘦𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘰𝘱𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵. 𝘖𝘯𝘤𝘦 𝘪𝘯 𝘢 𝘣𝘭𝘶𝘦 𝘮𝘰𝘰𝘯, 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘤𝘢𝘯 𝘧𝘪𝘯𝘥 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨, 𝘪𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘥𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘢𝘬𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘦𝘢𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘧𝘶𝘭 𝘴𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵𝘴 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘰𝘶𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘸𝘢𝘺. 𝘚𝘩𝘦'𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘤𝘤𝘢𝘴𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘧𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘤𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘢𝘳𝘺 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘦𝘴. 𝘍𝘰𝘭𝘭𝘰𝘸 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘢𝘥𝘷𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘫𝘰𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯! 𝘋𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥 𝘵𝘰𝘰.
Sort:  
 11 months ago  

If 7/11 in Thailand was anything as good as it is in Japan, then I can understand why most of the days were spent there.

Maybe I can blame my unproductivity on the lack amount of caffeine I had?

Gotta blame it on something you know, and lack of caffeine sounds legit😆

That Mexican sausage bread looks awesome:)
Yeah, there were some good posts, heh-13.jpg

It's probably as good as in japan which is why, it's completely reasonable spending money over there. And yeah, looks like while I am gone, Starbucks introduced some newer menus.

I read through this but I didn’t understand much because I’m not sure what a 7/11 is and I have no clue how much an affordable Starbucks is cos I never bought one. Lol

I am curious about what is on top of the bread there though. Seems like the bread has been cut open and stuffed like some sort of burger.

7/11 is basically a convenience store with various things and even cafe inside of it. They are extremely convenient. The cheapest starbucks would be around $2-3 but on average, it's $7 to $8 sometimes depending on the location as well.

I have tasted starbucks coffee twice and its taste is really far from the coffee of 7/11. but of course I am only students I much choose 7/11 coffee because starbucks is expensive.

7/11 is great when you just need a decent caffeine but yeah, nothing beats the consistency of Starbucks.

Never tried Starbucks coffee to be honest.. I tried there iced tea and just tasted so ordinary, yet expensive lol

Their Iced Tea isn't something I'd recommend. I honestly would rather just buy their loose leafs than have it made over there. It's mostly the coffee I care about hehe :D because in Indonesia, it's not that easy to find Colombian beans and even varieties of imported beans.

Oh chances gave a solution to your problem about coffee. Who wouldn't want a free Starbucks coffee plus another 50% off.

Honestly I always heard and seen about Starbucks and it seems it is so pricey. I haven't tried it and I am not drinking caffeinated coffee too but I am glad you have it when you most need and want it hehehe.

Having coffee 3 times a day is usual for you? Or only that day?

It's probably more expensive than normal cafe coffee but it's worth paying for the consistency. When I am home, I just buy their beans and make the coffee at home. That way, it is much cheaper than if I was buying the coffee from there. It's very usual for me to have coffee more than 3 times/day and often it depends on what kind of coffee I drink as well. Though so far, that's what normal day looks like to me and before, I wasn't normal just having one coffee a day 😂

Oh atleast they are selling beans too so you can make your own coffee at home. Yeah that's a good idea, a cheaper way.

You're really a coffee lover.

Worth a purchase! You will never regret if it's Starbucks!😊

Indeed! it's always that consistency :)

Gosh, you really in love with coffee hehe. I never tasted anything on Starbucks but I bet they taste expensive and good especially lots of people is getting yhrit coffee in thete. Unfortunately wr don't have Starbucks in our place so there's no chance for me to try one, maybe someday if I visit another place, hehe.

I haven't tried Starbucks even once. Hehe
I hope I can taste it soon. Maybe there's this different taste than others that makes it in demand.

😄 hope you get to try them soon!