My new grinder is here. Let’s see how the Timemore Chestnut C2 looks like!

in Cinnamon Cup Coffeelast year (edited)

Last week I’ve told you in my weekly coffee post that I am cuurrently waiting my new manual coffee grinder. There were multiple reasons to make the decision to buy this grinder and one of them is that I needed one dedicated filter coffee grinder and one for espresso shots. A
Manual grinder does the work for filter coffee, because the required time to grind 20 grams of coffee is relatively similar to the grinding time with electric grinder.

So let’s see the grinder itself.

Timemore is a Chinese company and although their products are cheaper, compared to other companies, their manual grinders are said to be of decent quality.

The grinder came in this black box with sketch of the grinder itself on the top. I have to mention that it arrived relatively quick - about 3 weeks were needed from the date I ordered it to the moment of arrival. Asia - Europe shipping really cannot be much faster, especially when the delivery is free.

As uou can see, the grinder came decorated with some coffee beans on the inside… I wasnt expecting that! Joke aside, I put the beans there… 😁

Anyway, on the inside there was this fine insulation material, which surrounded the parts quite nicely. The product looket like a high quality one.

All the parts are metal, so the hrinder feels quite solid in the hand. The Chinese people that engineered this really put a good effort into designing and producing this. It has this industrial look that suggests a really heavy use. In the home environment this won’t be the case so I am expecting a really long life of the grinder.

The thing that makes this better than the Hario products, that are similarly priced is that in the upper part of the hopper there is that leader which holds the shaft in place and it cannot jiggle around. This produces extremely even grinds with almost no small particles.

Unlike the earlier versions of the grinder the bottom parts, which adjust the grind size, are now made of metal too.

The size adjustment is quite easy too. You go all the way to zero and then start goong coarser. Each click represents one step of adjusting and once you make your filter setting you can never change it and receive a good grind every single time.

The hopper holds no more than 20 grams, and this is enough for a double dose filter coffee. I think that even if I don’t measure my beans every single time, I can still be punctual in about 1 gram of error.

So, time to grind! My electric grinder manages to process 20 grams of coffee in about 15-17 seconds at the filter coffee setting, while this manual grinder does it in about 30-35 seconds. That is more than perfect and even though I am grinding manually, the overall time needed to prepare the coffee is wuite silimar.

Now I am done… A little mention about the coffee too..

My friend went on a business trip to germany and found one specialty roastery. He brought himself two coffees and one of them was this exact coffee, as he gave me 40g. sample to try it.

It comes from Sumatra, which makes it the first coffee from this country to try. The coffee is called Easter Blend, and although it is quite old (for specialty coffee) now, there are still these fine fruit and even fermented fruit tastes. After all jack fruit is one of the most fermented tasting fruits in Thailand and its region.

Time to brew!

Thanks to the even grind, there are no harsh tastes that are sometimes extracted from the small coffee particles. The brew time also gets more consistent with the even grinding profile.

You see? The particles look all the same size. When there are a lot of fines they tend to go on top and stick the the paper. This makes the draining more difficult and sometimes stops the filtration process, which can really be a big problem.

Time to enjoy the Sumatran coffee. I’m really happy to have such friends that occasionally give me some interesting beans to try.

And one last thing… The grinder came with this carry on pouch that is extremely compact and convenient. Bringing my grinder on trips has never been easier. I’m happy!

That’s for today! See you soon and have a wonderful weekend!
Bye!

Sort:  

Nice bro, that things a beast. Hope you been good man.

!LUV

It’s a pure happiness to me! I’m good, thank you… same stuff every day… coffee, work, kids, coffee, work, kids… 😁

Hope you’re doing well too!

Thats good man, see ya on next posts

!LOL

I was once accused of having a foot fetish.
But that’s a lie. I much prefer the Metric system.

Credit: reddit
@mdosev, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @captainquack22

(1/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

 last year  

Nice review. It looks and sounds like a great product. Nice touch adding those beans in for the look. I actually believed you for a second that they sent them in the package haha 😂

I really don’t expect to have some sample beans in the box, but it would be a nice decoration. 😁

This grinder is nuts! I really like it, considering its price at about $55. I have seen similar quality grinders for more than $150.

 last year  

Yeah that's a good price. Looks like a good quality device as well.

 last year  

Thank you for stopping by. See you again soon:)

The Coolest.gif

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 last year  

It looks industrial indeed. I like that it's manual too. The size looks perfect for you to grind just what is needed.
A pocket-size grinder is awesome:)
Coffee is my Saviour. I shall not want Coffee maketh in green pastures and plantations Coffee restoreth my soul Coffee leadeth me in the paths of green hilly pastures For Caffeine name sake. Yea though the work is h.jpg


A parody from a fictional book

I know that this will come in handy when traveling around. The grinder is more than perfect. In fact Misho, the barista of the “Specialty place 23” that we visit regularly uses the same one for his filter coffees! 😝