You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not just a café

Ha, we relocated 3 years ago from the north of the country to southern tip of the country and we have still not found an ideal place. One farm here is passable as they serve coffee, but I only go there because there are many birds for my camera.
Scarce to find a place where one has that feeling of belonging.

Sort:  

Yeah, Zac the service at places here is often so bad I simply don't go back. The food so average that it borders on bad. Having 33 Chapel was amazing as it was consistent, friendly and had a nice vibe. I go once or twice a week now as my time permits but I miss that daily routine.

Seems it's the same over there? Quality and mood suffers due to cost cutting. So very in a nutshell.

The food so average that it borders on bad.

As someone living much under the minimum wage in Hungary, sometimes I would be happy even for that, because sometimes I have to choose between paying rent/bills and buying food. This is what happens when the local minimum wage is approximately $550 USD, but you have to live (survive) on approximately $470 USD. Nowadays that is my total income. I live with multiple disabilities, and I receive a low, pension-like income (approximately $250 USD per month), and I work in a four hours per day part time job, but my total income still does not reach the local minimum wage. And government asks "would you raise the minimum wage?" (and other questions) in propaganda, while they steal billions of public money, and they even changed in the law what counts as public money. Something what was public money before is no longer public money. The government steal the money of the people. Shame on the Hungarian government.

Back to food. I give you some !PIZZA.

@galenkp! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

We'll, I sent you some hive for participating in the #weekend-engagement last week so maybe that'll help just a little, even if just from a positivity perspective.

I see it. Thank you for the 4 Hive. It certainly helps. I will use it to power up. Because of the high transaction fees on Coinbase, and because of the high exchange fees at my bank, it would not worth it to cash it out. I would lose most of it.

Oh yeah, the 19 months of Covid lockdowns here has created a mindshift to recover as much losses as possible by jacking all of the prices. Hundreds of small businesses closed down and we are in a real fix.
Marian likes French toast and she had a standup argument with a restaurant manager about their servings. Two thin slices of bread with syrup on and a small piece of banana.
We cannot afford the other stuff on the menus, so we dumped it and left.

Yep, that's the problem now, price gouging. Ultimately it is a downward spiral as patronage drops, then prices rise to mitigate the loss and patronage drops further. I have a long list of places I'll no longer go. Ever.

So sad that they are chasing their customers away. The bread and butter of any restaurant is their loyal patrons, but even those are leaving in droves. Cheaper to make breakfast at home.
So, I don't blame you for feeling aggrieved, as the food indusrty has become a desperate industry.

I have made the decision to eat at home so many times over the last twelve months rather than risk poor quality service and food by going out. It's going to be the death toll for many establishments.

Bur then again, there is always an exception. We found a little place owned by an ex-airfield manager that serves great food at the old prices. Problem is that the place is starting to get crowded.
I think that the best time is now to start a coffee house with low prices and quality food.

A place like that is sure to get busy!

I see in your profile that you are from South Africa. Is it safe nowadays? How do you feel about it? Do you feel safe? I heard that some people are attacking car drivers, even in the daylight. Have someone ever attacked you in South Africa?

I give you some !LUV and !PIZZA.

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@papilloncharity, you've been given LUV from @xplosive.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

@papilloncharity! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Yes, I have been robbed at gunpoint a few times and one just has to be careful every day.
The news is true as things are bad here, but we just carry on with life and do our best to help others.

!PIZZA and !BEER

@xplosive! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)