A Flashy Sublime Sunday.

in SublimeSunday24 days ago

IMG_20240426_110831_749.jpg

This Sunday started in a very flashy way for me as I was expecting a solar energy installer to show up in my apartment and take charge of the installation of my solar panel in addition to setting up the inverter.

Y'all already know the level of insufficiency we experience in our power supply. This has been the case since the first days of Nigeria and we've explored several alternate sources of power generation. The most popular in recent years is the use of Generators that are powered by petrol. This doesn't seem like the best choice at the moment because the price of petrol is going over the roof. That aside, there have been several moments when there is a nationwide scarcity of petrol.

I didn't want to deal with any of that. So, I decided to look into solar energy as an alternative. I did my research, made some contacts, and finally opted for the one I got yesterday, a LUMOS product.

IMG_20240427_150425_609.jpg

It came with a big yellow frame panel and was supposed to be installed yesterday. But, when the installer got to the roof of the building and it turned out that the Sun was smoking hot, we decided to reschedule the installation for this morning. He showed up by 7am and started working on it.

When we were already halfway through the installation of the panel on the roof of our 2 story building, the gateman in my compound became dramatic about the installation. He ended up calling the landlord to lay complaints and the landlord declared that he doesn't want a solar panel on the roof of his building. Lol.

That incident really got me riled up. "If only I had my own house". Haha.

Well, that's the shit show you get for being a tenant. I ended up improvising with the installer and we managed to hang the panel at different angles around my balcony. That means it will take a longer time for the sun ray that gets to the panel to recharge my device.

IMG_20240428_081309_185.jpg
My guy holding onto the panel. Haha.

Well, the installation was done successfully and I've double-checked everything. My gadgets charge properly. My laptop charges with ease. The bulbs are working properly and the colored tape light I got is also working nicely. Same with my fan. Seems like money well spent.

I believe this will turn into a really good investment for me and the project I plan to use and run. Besides, a little bit of consistency in my light supply wouldn't be such a bad thing. Haha.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop or Comma.
All images are mine, taken with my phone camera.

Sort:  

Money well spent indeed 😅
Wait, does your landlord have solar too? If not, he is jealous 😆😆
Don't worry, he will later be charging at your place.
That's the disadvantage of being a tenant. Don't worry, you will have your own place someday.
Congratulations on your new solar panel and goodbye to electricity issue 😆
I hope this isn't too expensive?
#dreemerforlife

Hahah... The wahala is too much oooo. Being a tenant comes with too many rules and regulations in most places. For me, I don't even want anybody's drama. Haha.

The solar is quite pricy ooooo. I was lucky because they were doing promo which ended today. So, I bought everything for 270k. And, I have the installer 8,500. Haha

Hehehe. Well, when there is money, you get what you want. I hope it lasts you longer.

That’s really a good idea
Your money was well spent
Your landlord said he didn’t want any solar panel on his roof?
I even thought he would say you should plug him to the solar panel seller, doesn’t he know what’s going on?😂

#dreemerforlife

Exactly oooo. Landlord knows that Nigeria is already a big mess and everyone is trying to give themselves a decent standard of living. I was very surprised he made that move. Haha.

Why are most of these landlords troublesome. How can you stop someone from doing something that will better their work. There is nothing as good as having your own place and I know God is already making a way for that.

Congratulations on the solar panel. This is one of many more good things to come.

#dreemerforlife

Ahhh... Big Sis oooo. Haha. This whole being a tenant drama has to stop because everyone deserves their own house that's built to their taste.

I pray God helps us to have lots of those in the very neat future. We will do the work. May God bless the work we do. Hehe.

A very big resounding Amen.

Congratulations to you, more wins, solar energy is the way to go in this country because the hike in fuel price can send one back to the village.

Yes oooo. I thought about it and I can't imagine myself going to queue up every day because I want to get fuel. Solar is just the best, plus, it doesn't generate any noise

It's a good idea to make use of solar power as much as possible where you reside. The power issues there should have been resolved by now so that citizens can have electricity all hours of the day. Nice work thinking outside of the box.

The light issue truly could have been resolved, but nothing is being done about that. It's a big shame. And, those that use standby generator struggle to use it because of high price of petrol.

Solar offers a really good option

Yeah for sure. Hopefully the government is being tolerant about people taking measures to supply their own personal solar power. There's been cases in the United States where states took legal action against people for supplying their own power, effectively forcing them to use state supplied power.

I think everyone should have freedom of choice with various options.

Wishing you the best success with your project, I love the creative solution based thinking.

I love solar and so glad you got a panel up (finally)!
#dreemerforlife

Yeah. It's very necessary at this time that our electricity supply is becoming extremely poor

Yeah it seems worse now than when I worked in Nigeria. All those natural resources your country had, stolen by inept corrupt officials. So sad

Solar panel hanging around and not on the roof...first time hearing that.

It was actually a good choice and i hope it serves you well.

Hahah... Yeah. It's very possible. You can even leave it on the floor of your compound. As far as it's a place where the panel will have direct contact with sun, it will do its work nicely.

Since I live upstairs, mine was fixed through my balcony and hanging outside my flat, the same way DSTV dishes are fixed on buildings. Haha.

Damn, that would really be a sight to behold. 😅

I don't understand the gateman😂 why was he been dramatic? To even thought that he called the landlord shocked me...
Shey the Nepa will soon take light and security man will come to charge, no gree oo😂

Haha... It's not easy oooo. The matter tire me self. It was a big mess and I'm glad we were able to improvise. If not, of would have been impossible to enjoy something I spent so much on.

Just do me a favor. That security guy, do not let him come and charge oo🤣😘

Haha... E don reach like that oooo. Because, we are all facing this electricity issue in Nigeria. Even those that have generators struggle to flex it because of fuel scarcity issue. Haha.

Congratulations @kenechukwu97! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024