Fry Your Discard, Fennel Seeds in Cake, New Chook & More Sunday Delights

in SublimeSunday6 days ago

Is Hive going to fail because it's 'just a bunch of random people sharing about their random shit?'**. Thing is, most of us here LIKE the random day to day things people get up to. It's a break from the mundanity of squeaky clean influencers pretending to have flawless, purposeful lives. If we are going to pretend that's what the world wants and Hive needs to be something else, then I am gone.

Besides, this all feeds into the broader conversation about what is valuable content on Hive. Arguably, some of the well rewarded trending posts aren't as good as you sharing about your cousin's dog or what you had for dinner on Tuesday.

For the absolute record, I love your random shit. It's bloody refreshing. Bring it on.

Share away my friends. You all have value.

Fry Your Discard

Today's random shit started with sourdough discard flatbread. When you make starter a lot of it gets tossed (don't be the idiot that throws it down the sink) but you can fry up the discard for a legit snack. Sometimes I just put the discard in a separate container to cook up later. It's meant to be high in protein.

IMG20240915084402.jpg

Some like to sweeten it and add flour and make pancakes, but there's something rustic about these, like they should be fried in a cast iron pan over the fire. I topped mine with nigella, cummin, salt, sesame seeds and finely chopped olives. It's important to get those seasonings on the bread on the uncooked side fast. Cook with the lid on so it puffs a little. With a bit of Greek yogurt on the side they were a revelation today.

Marketplace Fail

Whilst my cast iron pot makes good sourdough, pictured below, the clay cloche I bought from Marketplace didn't. Does anyone know tricks for using them? Nevermind - I also found this one a bit tall for my small oven, so I'll stick to what I know. Nevermind, I can sell it again on Marketplace when someone else decides to start making sourdough. It's a great hobby but takes some staying power. The bread was still good with soup with friends who popped over for lunch, but quite flat.

IMG20240914094523.jpg

IMG20240914090315.jpg

Nursery Time

You know when it's Spring when you start spending more than you should on plants. Due to the tenants neglect, rabbits, and a new path, we had to buy a few more plants. I do wish I was rich so I could afford this $275 grevillea though..

IMG20240915095757.jpg

Chook Chook

I'm limiting myself to six chooks until we come back from my next trip. This is really, really hard to do as I do love them. You might know half my flock got taken out by a fox 🦊 due to the tenants being complacent and letting them out at 6 am despite explicitly saying not to let them out til at least 10. Anyway, a mate brought me over a hyline cross barnvelder nearly ready to lay, and she's rather sweet. I said I'd only get heritage breeds but I can't afford them and no time to deal with broody hens or chicks. My good broody hens got et by the foxes. I do wish i had taken her up on the offer to buy new chooks. Oh well.

IMG20240915114305.jpg

Moving Rocks

We have been doing a new garden path as the toppings had worn thin and weeds were everywhere. We had a little bit of cash set aside for landscaping and the back deck but there's ways we can save money too like moving free local volcanic rocks to use as garden borders. We spent a few hours doing this before coming in for cake.

Cake

I really need to to stop making cake. As my hips have been pretty fucked, the kitchen has been the only place to get rid of energy so I've been baking and eating a little too much. This one was a revelation - a fennel seed, lemon and yoghurt cake which was bloody lovely, especially with the frosting. I vow to go sugar free this week. Recipe forthcoming.

IMG20240913153747.jpg

Winter is Truly Back

After a warm spell it's a bit brutal being hit by cold weather again. We had a quick walk by the sea (I can't walk for long because of my hip tendonitis - don't worry, I'm confident it's on the mend) and phew it was blustery. How's the weather where you are?

IMG20240915101833.jpg

Hows your Sunday been?

**NB ACTUAL criticism on Hive OF Hive

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Sort:  


🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @mysteriousroad suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

It's very cute.. 👍👍😀🐔🐔

Your discard flatbread looks fantastic! Cake looks good too, but I know what you mean about the hips lol. I have 3 hens and one roo, which is not enough so am on the lookout for a few more hens to add. Happy Sunday!

I think six might be the magic number. You don't have to spend as much on feed!

That's true! I let them run a good part of the day so they are feeding themselves and that saves on costs, but I still supplement and once in awhile have to leave them penned up. Love my girls as I know you do also. Your new girl is gorgeous!

This fowl can be very delicious 😀

Well I keep them for eggs not meat..

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2024

I also prefer reading about peoples’ doings and thoughts each day. Sharing gardening stuff and recipes, pet notes, etc. And I love just about anything you write about!

Aw, you are just the sweetest friend!

doing good you're.. i believe!
!HOPE

(1/1)
@riverflows! @trayan Wants to spread Hope! so I just sent 1 HOP to your account on behalf of @trayan.

Since we think the world can use more Hope, you can now already start spreading Hope yourself!

Hope Logo