4th of July Nature Walk

p7093577_copy.jpg
First up is a song sparrow belting out his intricate song by the lake.

p7093579_copy.jpg
He didn't seem to mind me being so close. I wonder what they are trying to communicate with their constant singing?

p7093668_copy.jpg
Down at the lake a baby turtle was taking a sun bath. I had to take this from across the lake as the babies tend to leap into the water if you get too close.

p7043563_copy.jpg
Up on the hills next to the lake I noticed a large tame deer eating everything in sight.

p7043562_copy.jpg
At first it seemed a bit concerned about me but then went back to feasting.

p7043559_copy.jpg
Back to work searching for specific greens to eat.

p7043558_copy.jpg
And another cautious glance in my direction.

p9103892_copy.jpg
I rarely get photos of deer with antlers so here is an older photo I got around dusk of a young buck in the woods. Looks a bit creepy with the flash in his eyes.

Happy 4th of July :-)

Sort:  

hahahaha you're like the pied piper of animals!!! hehehehe
they all let you get so close!!! awesome shots :)

I wish I had powers to make them come even closer so I could get clearer shots.

heheheeh well they seem like VERY clear to me!!!! hahahaha

maybe grab a salt lick for the deer! LOLOL

we used to wake up to about 20 deer on our front lawn everyday. they were so used to us - they barely moved if we walked past ahahahahaha

turkeys too.

bobcats were skittish.

the mountain lions used to come up to the back porch to eat our cat food that we left out for our 3 outdoor cats hahahaha the only thing we saw of them was their pawprints in the snow LOL

the only animal that i wished WOULD stay away... far far away... were the skunks that ALWAYS would spray RIGHT outside our window and wake me up out of a dead sleep.

skunk spray is foul - but when its THAT CLOSE to you??? oh my gosh. It's unreal. You can't get away from it - and you can't get used to it!

You know how most other smells - if you inhale deeply a few times - you'll start to go nosedeaf to it???? nope. hours of sleeplessness because of that darn skunk! hahahahahah

Funny you mention skunks I just got back from a night walk and a whole family of them literally walked under my feet. I'll post a video of it on 3speak soon and tag you in it. One of the babies even stopped to sniff my fiance's shoe. Thankfully we aren't taking tomato soup baths right now.

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!