Monday Drumday: Working on a warmup

in Drums2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I have not done a drum video, or any video really in a while. I need to get back into it as it forces me to practice. I was looking for some basic drumming exercises that could improve my technique. It is very easy to just play things you can do already, so you need to get out of your comfort zone.

Drumeo have some great lessons and they make a load of them available for free. This is rated as something for beginners, but I am not playing it all yet. It is a series of patterns using alternating feet on the bass drum and high hat. This is not something I have done much and as I started this just now I was all over the place. Every time I played the high hat with my left foot I wanted to use my left hand when I should be using my right. With this kit the high hat is quite quiet and I cannot adjust the balance, so take my word that I am mostly getting it right now.

I just play the first two of five patterns. The third has paradiddle and the others have more hits to the beat, so I will need to work on those. On the site they have videos at different levels depending on how fast you can play. I did try this with the metronome on the drums at around 50bpm, but I turned that off for the video. It is quite hard to keep with it. That can actually be harder when playing slow as the gaps are long and hard to judge.

I was chatting the the guy who runs the open mic I played at on Thursday. He is a drummer and offered me a free trial lesson on real drums. I need to arrange that. I have not had a proper go on a real kit, so it will be interesting, and loud. If I think it is useful then I may pay for some lessons with him. I have considered subscribing to Drumeo, but having a teacher in the room can give you instant feedback.

Rock on!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

It is very easy to just play things you can do already, so you need to get out of your comfort zone.

So true. I think of those outside my comfort zone moments as a way to build new grooves in brain. So building a new groove/road takes time and is always worth the effort of stumbling along until that new groove is formed.

You seem to have that one fairly fluent!

I have played on the drummer in my old bands kit. He taught me a couple of basic beats and I really enjoyed it so you should defo go for it!

It took me a little while to get into the groove of it. I can do the basic rock beat, but that is just the start of it. It's about training your mind and body. Might become instinctive eventually, but right now it means a lot of concentration. At some point I need to actually play with a band.

!BEER

When/if you play with a band you will have to practice randomly speeding up so that the rest of them are wondering how the hell they can keep up :OD

We have speeding up issues with the band I'm in anyway. Usually the pianist complains. Easy to get carried away especially if you are playing something simple.

Yeah, sometimes it can be funny and others calamitous!

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Thank you for sharing. I would definitely check their videos when I will get into drums. :)

!1UP

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @thecuriousfool!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@vibes-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@curation-cartel(19/20) tipped @steevc (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!