You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monday Drum Day: Yamaha DD65

in Drums2 years ago

Wohoo new drum kit! Looks like a good upgrade and a lot of fun!

When I was growing up I had a very slightly older model in this range...

The Yamaha DD-11!!

dd11.jpg

I did once have a real drumkit - one that my mum picked up for £50. I only really dabbled in the basics of drumming though, preferring to focus on keyboards and synths!

Sort:  

I just improved the kit a bit and will report on that soon. I expect the DD11 was fun too. Might be in demand now and anything 'vintage' seems to be considered cool. Some are selling on ebay for about what I paid for mine. It's fun to look around Youtube to see what people do with these things. One guy extracted all the pads from a DD-65 to mount on a frame more like a regular kit.

A real kit would be cool, but it might cause domestic conflict. I can still work on the techniques and will look into lessons. I'll keep playing guitar too.

!PIZZA

Yeah vintage music gear can be worth a lot. I don't remember what happened to mine actually - I'm guessing it died or got given away at some point. I remember it was pretty well used by the time my brother, sister and I had bashed away at it for a few years!

Good luck with the drumming practice!

!PIZZA

I am a little tempted to collect some of that old, but cheap gear. I had a Yamaha SHS-10 keytar years ago and I regret selling that as it was fun. I saw some go for silly prices even though it's not really anything special. I would quite like one of the Casio 'guitar synths' as I lusted after one when they came out. I'll look out for bargains.

!BEER

Yeah - music gear does on the whole eventually get valuable. But the ones that will become true classics are harder to predict. I do have a vintage Roland monosynth, though it's not in good condition (I bought it second hand when I was young and it was already battered). There are some toys I had when I was young that I probably should have held onto though as they are worth a lot now!

!PIZZA


Hey @tdctunes, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.