Monday Drum Day: Yamaha DD65

in Drums2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I had a New Drum Day last week when I picked up this used Yamaha DD65 as an upgrade over the drum pad I had been using up to now. It is a big upgrade, as I explain in the video.

This is an old model. The newer DD75 just has more of everything, but the physical drum is much the same. I am looking to upgrade the pedals as those supplied are not great. It will still be cheaper than buying the unit new.

I had it plugged into my audio interface and that sounds better through my big speakers than the built-in ones. Those are fine for practicing.

It can run off batteries, but it needs a load of large cells that could be expensive. It is made to fit on a snare stand and it conveniently came with one. That is fairly sturdy. You will see the drum stool I also got in the video.

Look forward to lots more drumming videos from me. I did finally tweak my settings for recording video on the PC so that the sound is in sync. That really matters when you can see me hitting the drums.

Rock on!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Good to see the Dream Machine in action.

click click click click ... Rock out!

I'm having fun already. I need to try recording it.

!BEER


Hey @daniellemurray, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That looks like a lot of fun and sounding really good. Have you had to relearn anything with the new set or are they a similar layout?

The layout is basically the same, so it's an simple transition. These pads are bigger though, so easier to hit. I've got a bit of a collection of drumming stuff now. Luckily I have the space for it.

!BEER


Hey @gtown, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wow, definitely a nice piece of kit to add to the music collection. Sounds great too! Enjoy!

Wohoo new drum kit! Looks like a good upgrade and a lot of fun!

When I was growing up I had a very slightly older model in this range...

The Yamaha DD-11!!

dd11.jpg

I did once have a real drumkit - one that my mum picked up for £50. I only really dabbled in the basics of drumming though, preferring to focus on keyboards and synths!

I just improved the kit a bit and will report on that soon. I expect the DD11 was fun too. Might be in demand now and anything 'vintage' seems to be considered cool. Some are selling on ebay for about what I paid for mine. It's fun to look around Youtube to see what people do with these things. One guy extracted all the pads from a DD-65 to mount on a frame more like a regular kit.

A real kit would be cool, but it might cause domestic conflict. I can still work on the techniques and will look into lessons. I'll keep playing guitar too.

!PIZZA

Yeah vintage music gear can be worth a lot. I don't remember what happened to mine actually - I'm guessing it died or got given away at some point. I remember it was pretty well used by the time my brother, sister and I had bashed away at it for a few years!

Good luck with the drumming practice!

!PIZZA

I am a little tempted to collect some of that old, but cheap gear. I had a Yamaha SHS-10 keytar years ago and I regret selling that as it was fun. I saw some go for silly prices even though it's not really anything special. I would quite like one of the Casio 'guitar synths' as I lusted after one when they came out. I'll look out for bargains.

!BEER

Yeah - music gear does on the whole eventually get valuable. But the ones that will become true classics are harder to predict. I do have a vintage Roland monosynth, though it's not in good condition (I bought it second hand when I was young and it was already battered). There are some toys I had when I was young that I probably should have held onto though as they are worth a lot now!

!PIZZA


Hey @tdctunes, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Looks like a lot of fun. We are in a bit of limbo right now with all of our stuff in boxes ready to move house. Once we are there my office/music room will gradually come together, based around my keyboard from the 90's hooked up to the Mac. I can't wait! Maybe will sign up for 3 speak to do some vlogs

3speak is a good place for your videos. Everyone needs a hobby and making music can take you places. Have fun with those 90s vibes.

!BEER

I shall sign up for it soon as there are a few things I want to share here that are easier to just record and show.


Hey @nicklewis, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I am looking for a drummer and bassist, looks like I’ve found my drummer!

Well I am still learning, but willing to try.

I'll hold you to that!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You should Keep practicing Steve :D good too see your passion my friend

Try stopping me! ;)

I don't why the video is not opening in my handset

You can try going to 3speak to view it. I don't know what's wrong.

Alright let me do that now , after watching I will tell you how I feel about ur drumming skills ( Yamaha dd65) thank you

This is more about the instrument than my drumming :) I am still learning anyway.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
steevc tipped tdctunes (x1)
@tdctunes(1/15) tipped @steevc (x2)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!