TWIN CULTURAL FESTIVAL IN MY COMMUNITY

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)
Cultural festivals are not as common as it used to be due to a marked change in religious believe. Most of those festivals are associated with celebration of gods found in our locality however we don't witness them often again as most people has shifted towards being a Christian or a Muslim

If I were to write on this topic those days, maybe I'll have options. I grew up in a Christian family and the only festival I've witnessed so far was twin festival.

Twins and triplets are believed to be a special beings that needs special attention. In fact, some people believe they are semi gods and are treated as such. If a twin is born into a family, there's a cultural believe that the family is a very special and fortunate one and that having and raising twins in that family will make the family automatically wealthy irrespective of their source of income. I really do not believe in this because I've seen a lot of very poor twins in my life.

What usually warrant the twin festival in a family is when it is sensed that things are not going smoothly in the family especially with finances, there's a believe that they've probably offended the gods of twinning and the only way to appeal is to organize a twin festival

images (42).jpeg

Source

Dignitaries

The celebrant twins will be the special host and Invitations will be sent to all possible interested twins in the locality and those will be the special guests of honour. The hosts are usually dressed in white native attires while their guests can wear any attire but each twin's outfits are usually matching.

The involved twins are usually less than 12years old from my observation however adult twins can be among the invited guests if they are interested

The Menu

There's a special food for this occasion and this food is believed in yoruba land to be special for twins although people do take it commonly at home. It is called Ekuru in Yoruba language. Its prepared from blended soft pilled beans wrapped in local leave and cooked till its solidified. Its usually served with spiced pepper that can contain variety of fishes and meat.

Ceremonial rites

This is where the main event occurs. Its more or less a prayer ceremony with some rituals attached to it. I can not really ascertain the level of ritual involved. I know there a session where they use live chicken.
As regards the prayers, they make use of natural local ingredients like honey, sugarcane, local pepper kolanut.......
The ceremonial twins together with their invited colleagues are usually involved with the prayer the hosts alone participate in the ritual.

The party

That's the part of the ceremony I liked then as a child. There's usually more than enough ekuru to eat with lots of drinks and alcohol. Its usually enough to go round and even distributed to neighbors houses. They usually invite a local musician who handles the entertainment aspect. We'll dance and merry till we are all tired to go home to our parents. Its always fun.

The aim of everything is to reverse any curse and return normalcy to the finances of the parents. How effective this is, I don't know. But the festival is always very interesting and lively with lots of merriment.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I never heard of anything like this
We really learn alot here

 2 years ago  

It does exist o my brother

 2 years ago  

Such a lovely culture that celebrate twins, I once attend such occasions and it was a great time, I enjoyed the ekuru and ewa ibeji that was served.

 2 years ago  

I'm happy at least someone has witnessed this before
Its always fun with plenty ekuru

 2 years ago  

Yes it's my brother.

 2 years ago  

This is what I and my boss was discussing this morning (TWINS) ... He said he's craving to have twins as badly as possible

Maybe I'll connect him to you so you show him a way to connect with these people, after the rights his wishes may come true😁😁

Your post is great first time I'm hearing of such cultural practice though...✌️

 2 years ago  

Maybe I'll connect him to you so you show him a way to connect with these people, after the rights his wishes may come true

Some people believe in this actually that if they truly want twins, attending and eating at twins festival will make then have twins🤣

 2 years ago  

Wait, is this Igboora? I think I have heard this story, I now know its damn true. And I love twins. Its like I dey come to this place to get a babe o.😁 And that Ekuru is usually sweet o.

 2 years ago  

The picture is from igboora and igboora actually have the highest twin population worldwide according to researches.

 2 years ago  

yes! It is a worldwide fact and I love that..😀😁😊😊

Congratulations @bbjmed! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is a festival that should be allowed to keep flourishing. I am happy because it does not involve too much hard work or the spillage of blood, rather it is the celebration of the gift of life.
This is truly beautiful, thank you for sharing this with us.