An Anniversary Calls...

in Hive Learners5 months ago

Red Illustrative Christmas Youtube Thumbnail.png



2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAyTtPNZC4azgNzmcbbNrwLm7sqQ7eKu7JLTDjfRw9MTUA8aMuf1z9Rv1TLh6pECyZxBbdTvXDaK16qUpUDuwjnCDA3iaAGqSv.png

I’ve thought long and hard about this topic and if there’s one thing I’ve come to understand, it’s the fact that I don’t have a lot to look forward to. At least when it comes to anniversaries because there’s really not much for me to look forward to in that regard.

I’m not married, so there’s nothing like a wedding anniversary for me. I don’t think my old classmates will be organizing a reunion this year, it can stand in as a form of anniversary. But then, the year is still quite young and there is so much that can still happen. So, for now, I’m keeping my fingers crossed for that.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

So far, the closest anniversary I have to witness is my birthday and as luck would have it, it’s taking place on the 20th of this month. I’ve not really put much thought into how I’ll spend it, hell, I might not even observe it. For now, it’s just uncertain. I might spend it at home, or I might decide to go out with the boys. When we get to that bridge, we’d cross it, I guess.

I may end up not even celebrating it because as it is, I’m considering postponing everything about it to the 22nd of this month. Relax, this is not because I have a party I’d be throwing or attending, but actually because the 22nd is the day the live-action remake of Avatar: The Last Airbender will be released across all streaming platforms and I’m considering staying home all day to binge-watch the episodes!

IMG_20230815_080014.jpg

I’ve not tried this before, staying away from school just to watch movies. And this would be the second time I would try to watch an entire season of a movie in one day. The last time it happened was when I was in secondary school and I watched the entire second season of Legend Of The Seeker in one go. It was crazy, I know. But this time, there will be only eight episodes, so they shouldn’t take that long for me. I should be able to blog as well because there’s no way the entire season will take up the whole day for me. I just won’t go to school, or do any other work because no matter what people say, that day will be a public holiday. Because I say so.

Although there is a lot to be grateful for with regards to how this year has been so far; I just have to admit that things have not been unfolding as I would have loved. I’ve not really been chasing the goals I set out for myself and it’s always disturbing me. Chief of this is my book; I had a plan to publish two books this year, but so far I’ve not even started writing it at all. How then would I publish not just one but two?

Although I can’t really help it. This final year that I’m in is actually final-ing me. By the time school sucks my blood for the day, work takes the rest and when I think about working on my book, I feel brain dead. So I just forget about it. From the looks of it, I might only be able to work on it during the holidays when the workload on me would be a bit lighter. And all this is not just with my book. Since I resumed school, I’ve not been writing flash fiction as I said I would and I’ve also not been making movie reviews. These are things I really wanted to do, but time constraints and tiredness are messing me up. So, because of all this, you can understand why I’m approaching this birthday with mixed feelings.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

Anyway, as I said before, the year is still young and there is so much to achieve. I could still end up smashing my goals before the year 2024 runs out. It’s just that for now, while there’s a lot to celebrate, I don’t think I’ve done enough just yet that warrants celebrating this year. But all that will be a problem for the 20th, I’ll decide when I get there.

I have other anniversaries to observe as well. I’ll mark four years on Hive by December, and in that same December, I’ll also mark my one year as a publisher. These are major milestones that I’ve crossed in my life and I won’t just let them go quietly. I’ll observe them and make noise about them. And to the best of my ability, I’ll celebrate them.

So, onward to February 20!!

IMG_20231005_1536402.jpg




Thank you for reading. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below, I would love to know what you’re thinking. Till we meet in the next post.




This post is inspired by the third topic of this week which is The Next Anniversary. Feel free to try it out.



N.B: All images used in this post are mine. The thumbnail was designed using Canva.



Yo! Have you read my new paranormal thriller, Dreamers: The Awakening? What are you waiting for? Hurry on now to begin the explosive ride on Amazon KDP or Selar by clicking the image below!

IMG-20231210-WA0004.jpg

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

So on 22th day of this month you are going to spend whole day in front of screen. You are dedicated for it.
Advance Happy birthday to you. I am saying it advantage because I may forget to wish. I will wish again if I can wish in that day.
22 February is my sister's birthday 🙂.

That's my plan.
Although it won't be for the entire day. Just 8 episodes, so a couple of hours at least.
But I'm really not gonna do any work that day.😊

 5 months ago  

Avatar: The Last Airbender will be released across all streaming platforms and I’m considering staying home all day to binge-watch the episodes!

That's going to be a great time to see the movie, I think it is enough to make your birthday memorable.

4 years on Hive no be beans, can I call you my Uncle on Hive😂😂, my onboarder is 5 years+.

The thing is, I'm a big movie fan and I follow a lot of communities on Facebook and Twitter where they talk about these things. So, if I miss it even on that first day, they'll use spoilers to finish my life!
I can't afford that biko.

 5 months ago  

So, if I miss it even on that first day, they'll use spoilers to finish my life!
I can't afford that biko.

😂😂.. the spoilers will make you feel like you've missed something big.

 5 months ago  

First congratulations on your upcoming milestones on Hive and as a publisher. Those are definitely worth celebrating.

I'm loving your plan to postpone your birthday celebration to binge-watch the live-action remake of Avatar: The Last Airbender on the 22nd.

And I'm sure your book will come together in due time. You're in your final year of school, so it's understandable that you're feeling a bit overwhelmed.

Cheers to February 20th and all the other anniversaries you have coming up

Yeah... everything will come together eventually. That's part of what makes it all so memorable.

Congratulations Bro, happy birthday in advance Watching movies on the 22nd and celebrate your birthday that going to be a beautiful experience.
I wish you blessing

I hope it will.
I look forward to it as well.

 5 months ago  

I can relate to the book issue and the mental stress that comes from daily activities. Taking time out to watch a movie you are anticipating might be the much needed break you need

As in ehn... I really wish I can spend more time on my books but so far, it's an uphill task. And I don't like it at all.

 5 months ago  

Bruno, permit me to tell you 20th Feb should be observed biko...if you shifting it to 22nd cos of the movie, it should be another day to relax your nerves and just enjoy yourself...but mark your birthday with a self treat .bi on my head...I didn't say anything 😉
Yea, 4years on the chain is an anniversary worth looking forward to including your anniversary as a publisher. You have achieved great milestones... keep the ball rolling

Okay ma... it'll be observed!
I'll make sure of it!
I'll definitely keep the ball rolling!

 5 months ago  

Aww
I wish you a happy birthday in advance
Watching movies two days after your birthday is not bad. I hope you enjoy it and maybe watch with a close friend
How about that?

Friend? Now that you mention it, I just might consider it.😊
Thank you!

It’s okay to not want to do anything and just sit in the comfort of your home, even if it your birthday. By the way, happy birthday in advance, more wisdom, great health, love and wealth. May your days be filled with happiness and abundance of blessings.
I’ve also watch the trailer for avatar the last air bender and it a must watch for me. I can’t wait for it to be out.