It's Been Quite The Week!

in Hive Learners17 days ago

Green and White Minimalist Nature Travel Vlog Youtube Thumbnail (1).png



2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAyTtPNZC4azgNzmcbbNrwLm7sqQ7eKu7JLTDjfRw9MTUA8aMuf1z9Rv1TLh6pECyZxBbdTvXDaK16qUpUDuwjnCDA3iaAGqSv.png

This past week has been one of the most tasking I’ve had in quite a while. I did so many things this week alone than I’ve done in the entire month combined. And as Sunday has so cheerfully rolled by, I’m just glad that it’s all over and it’s now a thing of the past because I sure hope that I don’t get a week like that anytime in the future.

Well, what made it so tasking for me? What else if not school? This is the first time I’m returning to school since we wrapped up our first semester exams, and already I was reminded why I hated going there in the first place. The billing is just too much.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

It’s like a curse, every day I dress up and leave my lodge for school, I always end up spending too much money than I want. Something always comes up that I don’t plan for and by the end of the day, I’d have spent N5k or thereabout. Just because I’m a student.

And for this week, things were worse. I told you all about my defense, and it was quite a remarkable event. I’ll tell you all about it in a different post because everything that happened there deserves a post of its own. Either way, the seminar defense, coupled with the CBT exams that were held this week as well, I ended up spending way more than I budgeted this week.

IMG_20230909_0853552.jpg

The CBT was worse. For those who don’t know, it stands for Computer Based Test. These are tests that are written entirely on computer systems linked by a closed network owned by the school. That way, they can feed questions to every student and make them all seem different for everyone involved. The only way you as a student can have access to the test is by paying your school fees, or some other trumped-up fees they demand. Not paying could mean that you fail whatever course it is you’re writing on the CBT.

Everyone knows that the CBT was only engineered to force students to pay their school fees on time, and if you’re yet to pay, you could very well be placed on a path to failure. For this CBT alone, many people have suffered carry-overs, not because they don’t read or because they were bad students, but simply because they couldn’t pay their school fees.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

However, the school has engineered a new tactic. Now, they don’t just use the school fees because almost everyone has paid their fees. So, they switch to some other fees. Last semester it was the Microsoft Fee, and this semester it’s the O’Level Verification fee. If you’ve not paid for any of these things, you won’t be eligible to write the test. And that’s failure for you.

So, I was forced to cough out the money and pay it off just so I could get my access code. It was a bill I wasn’t prepared for. My plan had been to pay it off later during the second semester, but they came along and ruined it.

IMG_20231030_1536352.jpg

It’s sad, but schools are becoming more and more materialistic. I know that they have to survive somehow, and public schools that rely on the government for funding don’t really get all the support that they need. But taking it out on the students doesn’t seem fair, does it? I know a number of people who failed to write the test last weekend just because they had yet to pay one of the fees.

We really have to do better. Both as a school and as a people because if we keep making money our main focus when it comes to academics, we’re the ones who will end up suffering for it. And that’s a fact. But then, let’s see how things would roll up.

IMG_20230914_1537072.jpg




Thank you for reading. Feel free to share your thoughts with us in the comments below, I would love to know what you’re thinking. Till we meet in the next post.




N.B: All images used in this post are mine. The thumbnail was designed using Canva.




thank you for visiting.png

Sort:  
 17 days ago  

Wait oo, CBT test again in the university? This is my first time hearing this..I thought it's during jamb... nawaoo, this idea would have been good if it's only to curb malpractices but for fees...hmmmm
Everything has changed from what it's used to be during my own time
I hope you scale through those unending bills Bruno... don't worry, it's just a matter of time and you will be done
All the best...
Remember that I am still waiting for the details of your defense...better slap us with many pictures oo..no story
Lol

Omo... what students of these days go through ehn... it's tiring. It has really changed ooo. Thankfully, I'm able to scale through it all, one bill at a time. I'm not going to kill myself because I'm looking for a degree.

 17 days ago  

Last semester, we had one of such tests, only this time, we were made to buy textbooks. Annoyimg thing is, until the semester ended, not once did I get to open the book.

I should resume for the new semester in about two weeks(although school officially began this past week), and my heart skips each time I think of the debits in front. One day, one expense. It's just too much.

However. I see you're rounding up. You must be so happy. Just chill, it's almost over.

As in ehn... every day you step into school, you know that you'd have to pay for one thing or the other. It's just sickening and I can't wait for it to be over. So yeah, I'm happy.

 17 days ago  

I used to think my school system was so terrible but it looks like yours is worse.
What do they even mean by Microsoft fee? O'level verification fee?
Daily I just realize that the school system cannot be trusted. They are constantly milking students dry and it's so unfair.

Sorry about all that. I pray God continue to make provision for your needs.

Omo... I'm just tired, honestly. They keep bringing up bills, things I don't even use. We pay for wifi, yet I've never used it. It's either too weak to be of any help, or it's not even there at all.

 15 days ago  

I can relate to that one. We pay for it in my school too.
You're in your finals, yeah?

Yes, I am.😅

 12 days ago  

No worries then, your escape is close🫠

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 14.02% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

Thank you for this.

 17 days ago  

There are times when you won’t even leave your house but you’d be spending money from home. It’s a crazy world…
Just be thankful that you have the money to spend. Some people wish to spend but they can’t afford it
Thank God!

It's crazy ooo... yeah, I'm also grateful, because there are those who don't even know how to clear the ever mounting bills. It's just not fair.

Congratulations @bruno-kema! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you for this.

You're amazing @bruno-kema! Your dedication and hard work have paid off with a post every day of the week. Keep buzzing!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

 16 days ago  

Education is not a service anymore and educational institute of became the most profitable business at the current time. It shouldn't be like that but It's the reality.

It's just business, and they will only focus on making more money. It's sad.