My School Life Is Difficult!!!

in Hive Learnerslast month

Blue and Yellow Professional Webinar Youtube Thumbnail (4).png




2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAyTtPNZC4azgNzmcbbNrwLm7sqQ7eKu7JLTDjfRw9MTUA8aMuf1z9Rv1TLh6pECyZxBbdTvXDaK16qUpUDuwjnCDA3iaAGqSv.png

If I’m going to talk about difficulties, I guess I’d have to talk about my time as a student in the tertiary institution. Right from my ND days, it has been nothing but a succession of difficult moments and with each semester that went by, things only seemed to get worse. And now that I’m in my final year, things are still not in any way easier, they’re tougher than ever.

Almost every week I come on here to complain about how my school is doing this, or how they’re not doing that. It seems like a rant and simple ramble, but everything comes from a deep-seated pain. Pain that is so unnecessary and only inflicted on us simply because the management wants to.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

From my ND days, I had it tough for me. I had to survive on the monthly stipend I was getting from my parents and it was never enough. When you consider how I had to buy textbooks as much as I needed to eat, it was never easy for me. But that’s not all. I stayed in a Boy's hostel that prohibited cooking, and as a result, for the entire year I stayed in that hostel, I never cooked. I had to rely on provisions and my hostel mates who cooked.

This was a difficult moment in my life, but I simply embraced it. A lot of the things that were happening to me were fairly new and I was in totally uncharted territory, so it took some getting used to on my part. But in the end, I still managed to have a great time. I lived with five other boys in one room for a year and not once did we ever fight or steal each other’s things. It ended up being quite the experience for us.

IMG_20231030_1536352.jpg

When I got into ND 2, I refused to return to the hostel, so I went off campus with my coursemate who would go on to be one of my best friends. We rented a lodge together and that gave us a lot of freedom. We could play music as we liked, we could cook whatever we wanted and for as long as we liked. There were no stringent rules to keep us in check.

But then, the bills came around. We had to buy gas, we had to pay rent, we had to buy so much stuff. We had to pay for water, sanitation, fines… the list went on and on. And added to all these, I still had to buy textbooks and manuals, and I also still had to save up for my ND project. It was crazy, I tell you!

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

But then, a lot also happened during my ND 2 and I got my first taste of really making money and taking care of myself. This was in 2020, and as many of us know, it was the year that the Covid-19 virus crippled the world for months at a time. During that time, I was employed by Nigerian Bottling Company, but school resumed and I had to be let go because I was technically still a student and they needed people who were done with ND at the very least. However, they left the door open and told me and my friends that when we were done with ND, they would be glad to have us back.

When I returned to school to finish the semester, that’s when I found out about and joined Hive. It was a crazy period and the first few months saw only sporadic efforts from me. But I tried to stay as consistent as I could. But none of it seemed to be working. Thanks to the pandemic and the prolonged strike, I was forced to pay another rent and that set me back a lot of ways.

IMG_20231030_1533572.jpg

But in the end, I made it through and graduated from ND. However, I decided that instead of going for one year of IT, I opted to go for two! And I also turned down the opportunity to return to the Nigerian Bottling Company. My friends thought I was crazy, but that was the only thing I could do. I wanted to hone my writing craft and I knew that a 9-5 would not give me the amount of time I needed.

So, I returned home, and I started working and saving. I put in more work and learned so much. I started writing for clients and making money. I started saving up for my return to school. My plan was to save up a huge amount so I’d return to school and live a soft life. I did save a lot. I saved enough that I was able to fly to Owerri strictly on my own money and without any help.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

Sadly, just finding a lodge and furnishing it wiped the savings. Everything was so damn expensive. By the time I was ready to resume school, I had to start working again to be able to meet up with the incessant financial demands the school made. This time, I’m not relying on my parents, I’m funding it all myself, and it’s not easy at all. I already told you guys how they increased the cost of our textbooks and postponed the exams just to force people to pay school fees last year. Then, for the second semester, they also forced us to pay some other fees.

Now, I’m in my finals and I’m sure that this school fee is going to bring up some issues. I’m still working towards paying it, but I’m certain that these guys are willing to postpone the exams to force students to pay up. And people who can’t afford to will surely get a carryover course. That’s how bad it is.

IMG_20231009_1521172.jpg

I’ve not even mentioned the practical and how they’re basically cutting off our necks at this point. Or the final year project I would have to do very soon which is going to cost a lot of money. So you see? Ever since I stepped foot in this school, it has been a series of tough spots. But each time, I embrace them and face them head-on
because I know that no matter what, I’ll see it through to the end. And that’s what I’ve been doing ever since. I’d do it again in the months to come.

The road ahead may be scary, but I’m in no way scared. I’m ready and I’m sure that when all is said and done, everything will end in my favor. If my ND1 self were to look at me now, I’m sure he would nod his head and smile in pride because back then, I had no idea that by this time I’d be an accomplished ghostwriter, blogger, and a published author. But then, that’s the beauty of life, right? No one knows tomorrow.

I look forward to better days ahead. No matter how tough they get, I’ll surely push through. That’s a given!

IMG_20231009_1525422.jpg




Thank you for reading. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below, I would love to know what you’re thinking. Till we meet in the next post.




This post is inspired by the third topic of this week which is Embracing Your Difficulties. Feel free to try it out.




N.B: All images used in this post are mine. The thumbnail was designed using Canva.




thank you for visiting.png

Sort:  
 last month  

When I hear people talk of living in the school hostels with those many rules, it baffles me a lot. Because, living outside school has a more survival ways in an unbothered platform(I mean, you can mix just Maggi, pepper and crayfish as pepper soup, eat it, sleep that night without people knowing).

You guys tried👏

 last month  

Omo... it was quite the experience indeed. However, what made it a bit livable was the constant power, water and how clean it was. Which was something that wasn't really seen off campus.

 last month  

That is schooling for us. I also had to go through alot as a student and a mother also a wife. Combining all of these with home lessons to raise money for the family and my students made it worse. But today I am the one enjoying it. Though still in school but feeling much better now. We need to keep moving no matter what.
I told someone that I just started. I still need to go further and she said with all these trouble you still want to continue?
Thanks for sharing. Just keep pushing. There is victory for you at the end of the road.

 last month  

Omo... you didn't have it easy at all. But I'm glad you pushed through. Only us know what we want, and only us can push ourselves to get it.
You're doing well.

 last month  

Thanks dear. We are moving on

 last month  

Hehe😂😂
I understand how you feel and it got to a point when I no longer go to school when I was at the university. I just stopped cos I was tired but I showed up for exam
It was really crazy

 last month  

Hehe... I understand joor... I even feel that way these days. It's just tiring.

 last month  

I am 100% agree with you. A student need to face many difficult situations. Most of the story of them remain untold and nobody think they are facing difficulties. But actually their facing more difficulties compared to normal people. People just think they are doing studies and that is no difficulties. Study itself is the difficulty because staying stick on a chair and reading day to day on regular basis not a easy task. Students are the warrior and life as a student full filled with a lot of difficulties.

 last month  

Studying is difficult ooo... but these guys don't care. The system just seemed to be designed to make life tough for us. But we'll keep kicking.

 last month  

All these things are being seen by the children of our country because the current inflation has become very high, so buying books has become a kind of possibility because the prices of books are very high and the parents have them at home. There is not enough money to buy books for the children. If they buy books, they cannot bake bread at home. There is only so much money, so the children are going into depression today.