Our guardian Angels are now old, weak and tired and they deserved the same love they showered on us when we were a helpless Child

in Hive Learners16 days ago

One day, I was sent away from class because I hadn't paid my school fees, my dad promised to pay at the end of the month but the school wouldn't listen to any excuses, they just wanted their money, I was happy to be sent home along with my other classmate that are yet to pay but when I got home, my mother would not hear of it, so she went out to borrow money from her friends in the hope to pay back when my dad shows up and she took me back to school immediately.

image.png

source

I was small and did not value education but she knows the value and she would go to any length to make her child stay in school. The same woman carried me in her womb for 9 months, the cravings, pains, and uncomfortable days before the day I was born, not to talk of the pains she went through during childbirth.

The same woman protected and cared for me when I was a helpless child who could do nothing for himself.

My mum was a food seller in a government school, I remember when I was 4 years old when she came from school, she would branch at my school to give me meat pie, this was back in the '90s but I remember and I was always looking up to her showing up, not sure If it was her I wanted to see or the goodies and snacks she brings but nonetheless I always long for her presence and she never fails to bring my goodies and give me a warm hug.


source

Amidst the fact that we do not have much, she buys me New Year clothes just to make me feel among my peers because back then, New Year clothes were very important and not having them could make a child very sad, I don't know if it is still a thing.

My father is a good man who loves his family, why didn't I talk much about him? Because he was out there working his ass out to earn money that he used to provide for the family's needs. I did not spend much time with him because he always returned so late in the night, sometimes he woke me up so I could eat what he brought home, so I knew there was a man always waking me up to give me goodies at night but before I wake up early in the morning, he is gone again!*


source

When I grew a little bit older, I was sent to a new area with my sister to live in a new site where my dad built his house, a year later my sister gained admission into the University and my mum had to leave her work in the city to stay with me in the new site but within a short time, she was able to secure a spot in another government school close to the new site to sell her food and my dad would visit occasionally like twice a month to check on us since he still lives in the city with my other siblings.

So I knew and was closer to my mum more but I understand the sacrifices of my dad too.

Those two vibrant angels are now old and weak, they can no longer protect that once helpless child again but they have taught him the ways of life, he is now strong and energetic too...


source

Do you think it's fair for the young ones to be saddled with their old parent's responsibilities?

Parents love unconditionally, if you treat them badly, they will still love you because you are their blood and nothing will ever change that but recall their past love and sacrifices for you, do you think it is not fair for you to devote your life serving and taking good care of them?

My parents deserve all my love, they deserve everything, I owe them my life, and they will always come first before anyone else because, without them, I wouldn't be in this world, I might likely not survive the cruelty of this world... They protected and cared for me when I was weak and now it is my turn to care for them and anyone against that can never be a part of my new family.

People grow from baby to adult and then from adult to baby before they die, now is their time to enjoy all the love they can get, it saddens me that they are growing old but that is life and the stages are inevitable.

As for my old age plan, I am working so hard now to create generational wealth so that I would not need my children's money to survive, I have sacrificed my life to work and work so that the next generation would have an easy life and the present one would all enjoy before they die and I know God will make my wish come to pass... I just want my children and grandchildren to be around me in my old age, there is no love greater than that and I want nothing more than that.


source

Dear Children,

Love your parents when they are old and weak, this is the time they need you most, don't abandon them because of your new family, they feel lonely without your presence but they won't tell you, you might never understand their feelings till you grow old and found yourself in their position someday.

Let them enjoy their last few years on earth with happy memories of you.

Just call me Burl.

I am a professional gamer, motivational speaker and a crypto enthusiast

Discord: burlarj#8326
Twitter id: burlarj1
Telegram: burlarj
God exists, I am a living testimony
Giving up is not an option, every hustler has a payday
Don't wish for it, Make it happen

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 16 days ago  

Reading through this I was just having goosebumps because you are so lucky to have parents that cared so much for you and were able to show that love to you. Indeed a good parent deserves all their children can give and it won’t be a bone of contention if you have a good parent, even with their money you will still want to be the one taking care of them.

I wish you all the best as you try to give your parents the best you can and also help your future family enjoy 🥰.

 15 days ago  

Thanks dear, yea not everyone is so lucky.

 15 days ago  

You’re welcome dada 🥰

 16 days ago (edited) 

You parents showered you with a lot love and even without being told, you'll see everything they are doing and you'll also want to reciprocate the kind of love they showed to you.

A good parent deserve all the good things In life, because it's not always easy to cater for the needs of the children, the time and sacrifices they make all worth it, and you wouldn't want to joke with them, because they did not joke with you, the care you'll show to them will just come naturally because of the legacy they have portrayed.

 15 days ago  

It is not easy at all, they sacrificed their dream for their children... it is now that we have also become adult that we will realize their sacrifices and how it is not easy to take care of a child.

Congratulations @burlarj! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 76000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 77000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 15 days ago  

What a beautiful piece from Burlarj. Our parents truly deserves to be taken care of now that they are old and weak, unable to do those activities they used to do in order to take care of us. Now is the time to pay them back the love they have shown to us. The sacrifice they made then should be worth it now. I, also wouldn't want to live my life in a way that will make me depend on their money for survival when I grow up, I just want to be surrounded by them when that time comes.

 15 days ago  

Like minds, keep making that money princess ... hit that jackpot and build a home for yourself and your children and your grandchildren!

We ought to pay it forward, and return the gift our parents gave us to grow and become someone is this life. For me, it's a no brainier on taking care of my parent in old age, I ponder about it and make plans for it.

 15 days ago  

Yea it is not even something that we need to think twice that our parent deserve every love they can get from us .

 15 days ago  

Imagine the kind of stress your parents went through and brought you this far, it wouldn’t even make sense if you decide not to take care of them when the grow old
I hope they reap the fruit of their labor. Good parents deserved to be pampered

After reading this, it reminds me of a tweet I saw that got me provoked. The lady tweeted that "it is not our responsibility to take care of our parents" I was like how? Is this person okay... Somebody that took care of you for years, infact, it is not just supposed to a responsibility, it should be a priority.

You are right, our parents deserves a nice treat from us.

And, You are so lucky to have both parents care for you. That's a blessing.