A CULTURAL FESTIVALšŸ¤ IN (IGBOLAND)

in Hive Learners ā€¢ 2 years ago

Hello everyone, welcome back to another Edition 01 Week 02 which is titled (A CULTURAL FESTIVAL) Stay with mešŸ˜Š

I would like to take you back to the most popular Festival in Igboland which is called, Iwaji or iri ji Festival(New Yam Festival) Ji simply means Yam and I will be telling us how this is done in Igboland where I come from. This Iwaji festival comes with a lot of preparation even those in the city travel home to celebrate it with their families and friends, it has been in existence even before our great grandfathers were born till date. So, it is a special period for the indigenous people of Igbo.
I can remember vividly the period which this festival occurs around August and when the rain is about ending which they now refer to as August breakšŸ‘

B5E594EE-8044-4CFE-BC4B-AD9AB93AE5BD.gif

9D04FF24-31D7-42F3-ACD9-E9686E7CD0D0.jpeg
Source

E6405653-E360-491E-BC41-1CEEDDD13677.jpeg
Source

648F6B91-5AF7-4383-A836-DB48E161FBC5.jpeg
Source

7030FBCA-7D09-464B-8252-397EE3952B88.gif

The first New Yam that will be harvested will be used for a thanksgiving to the gods and deities of the land for the good harvest of the year. Before the official celebration, the people usually perform a certain rituals according to the customs and tradition guiding the people and this rituals are been handled my the Eldest persons or the traditional ruler of the land as a Go-between or as a mediator between the people and the deity. The New Yam will be roasted and put in a bowl šŸ² then Palm Oil in a bowl šŸ² because that is what they use to eat it. Igwe(King) will first of all dip the piece of yam into the Palm Oil and eat then before the elders and then it continues like that until everyone have a bite of the new yam. As a matter of fact thereā€™s going to be Palm-wine and (schnapps) which they call mmanya oku šŸ˜‚ they use this drinks to appease the gods of the land, as we all know that the gods are always crazy and always thirsty so they pour some shots of schnapps on the ground for them to wet their throats else thereā€™s going to be problems afterwards.

96371611-C6F3-41CE-9AF9-EDB6624FC17F.jpeg
Source

As the celebration continues the same day, there will be a massive display of various kinds of music and dance, the kids appears in the same attire which they dance on, the same as elders will also appear on their attire to perform as well.

The kind of fun derived from this festival is massive and will keep calling you back to the village the next season so if you donā€™t want to miss it you will have to start preparing yourself before the time so that you can participate.

A429ACC4-2BF6-473E-93E3-00D5E3C141F0.gif

F6BE9FA6-935F-4055-B252-ED9F6AAC45D4.jpeg
Source

2DD92E76-3AAE-48B1-9EA7-C450519A4A75.jpeg
Source

1644429F-F437-48C8-917B-064642447278.gif

WHY I DONā€™T ENJOY IT ANYMORE.
šŸ‘‡šŸ‘‡
Why I donā€™t enjoy it anymore like I used to, it is because I donā€™t find it interesting like when I was younger and I canā€™t be traveling home because of new yam festival even though they still celebrate it but for me I donā€™t and I also donā€™t belong to the age grade that carries out the new yam festival celebration. As the world advances daily so we are. Some people still believe in that kind of tradition and still make sacrifices for it but if you have lived in the city for a long time trust me you will lost interest somehow beside that, Christianity has abolished some of the traditions therefore someone like me I donā€™t eat what is offered to the gods or to the deity, this is personal because I know people still do eat it but as for me Iā€™m rocketing with the present generation so I donā€™t want get myself tied down with some traditions. I am not saying tradition is bad no it is not bad but one cannot engage himself into most of them. Only do what you think is right for you, you are not compelled to do it unless you chose to.
With this little light šŸ’” dear hivers and beloved readers I believe you know the reason why I said I donā€™t find it interesting anymore and not my thing.

Special thanks to #hive-learners #hive and to all my beloved readers, I do hope you enjoy reading my article šŸ’ÆšŸ¤©

Sort: Ā 
Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

Well I respect your faith by not eating what was sacrificed to the gods and likewise me.
I love tradition but anyone that doesn't go in line of my faith, I don't partake.

The celebration also varies from state to state in Igbo land, I think it's not all state that sacrifice the yam to the gods.

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

That's itšŸ‘ŒšŸ¤©šŸ¤© very archaic traditionšŸ¤” the world is moving so fast we should ride along šŸ’Æ Yeah not all the states but I donā€™t know if they still make sacrifices or notšŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

Yesooo
It's high time all these traditions get reviewed.

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

I can understand why you don't like it mate.

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

Yes it's very clearšŸ’ÆšŸ‘

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

I totally understand why you don't enjoy it anymore.

I can imagine how the festival was back then, how fun it would be and how entertaining it was.

Nice post šŸ˜Š

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

Obviously šŸ‘ it comes with massive funšŸ¤©

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

That's nice

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

This is wonderful. It really do marvel me how some people tie themselves to this cultural feast. I love the fact that you are not tied to them.

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

I canā€™t be tied with such, our generation performs rituals with computers šŸ–„ not water šŸ’¦ in a basin to seešŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

As in ehn, I pray God help us.

Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

As in ehn, I pray God help us.

Congratulations @channell1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Ā 2 years agoĀ Ā 

New yam festival, again? It seems virtually every tribe is involved in this yam thing! I guess yam is as popular as our presido. šŸ˜€