Oh Silly Me!

in Hive Learnerslast year (edited)

Sometimes, when we observe some persons lives, we see absolute perfection in everything that they do. They can appear so intelligent that it's even hard to believe they can make any mistakes.

But the truth is, no one is perfect. We've all done silly things at some points in our lives.
Be it as children or as a grown ups, we sure can recall times when we did something so stupid that still leaves us thinking about how it came to be.


Source

I'm someone who's always conscious of what I do in public because I really don't like appearing stupid.
However, that hasn't stopped me from doing silly things every once in a while.
I have also done a whole lot of silly things in my life. Most of them were as a child and they just get me wondering if i was really myself.

I've always ever had silly cooking experiences. Whenever I enter the kitchen to prepare something, most times it ends in a disaster. I can recall a good number of my ridiculous kitchen fails but there's one that's very remarkable and each time I remember it, I just start laughing all over again at my silliness.

This incident happened several years ago. At that time, I was about twelve years old and I was just so in love with cooking. You would always find me messing around in the kitchen, playing with the utensils while imitating those cooking TV shows. I was basically obsessed.

The time came when me and my siblings would went to spend the summer holiday at my uncle's place. My uncle lived with his wife and children, my little cousins.

One afternoon, we all decided to have noodles for lunch. Normally my uncle's wife would have asked my sister or my aunt to prepare the meal. But then I begged and begged for her to allow me to prepare it instead. Unfortunately, she agreed, after all it was just noodles, what could've possibly gone wrong.

I was so excited, so then I headed to the kitchen and literally chased every out so I could do my thing, feeling like some professional chef. Everyone was going to partake in the meal so I made sure to prepare enough.

Everything started out just fine, but then the time came when I was supposed to add pepper powder to the noodles so I searched the kitchen to find it. When I opened one of the drawers, I saw two containers which both had similar contents. I quickly assumed they were both pepper spices. Little did I know that one was a special pepper soup spice. Instead of calling for help to clarify things, I grabbed the pepper soup spice and added it to the noodles thinking it was the normal pepper.


Source

The spice was a special kind, it was so spicy that a spoonful was enough to burn your tongue. I went ahead and added so much without even knowing what I was doing.

When the food was almost ready the pepper soup aroma filled the whole house. At the time when everyone realized what I had done, they all ran into the kitchen. But it was too late, as the food was already done and I had prepared a huge amount!

I got scolded so badly for not asking about the spice before adding it to the food but of course, nothing could be done at that time. So we had no choice but to eat the noodles that way.


Source

The food was just so spicy that the inside of our mouths were literally burning. We just kept drinking more and more water but it wasn't even helping.
I can remember how my little cousin's lips were totally red but she kept on eating. The whole thing was just was so funny and we all couldn't help but laugh at my foolishness. It got to a point where we just couldn't eat any further, so we had to throw away the remaining food which was still a huge portion.

That day, I felt so silly and since then, I've always been very conscious of what I add to my cooking.

This post is my response to the @hive-learners weekly posting topics for week 34 edition 03 on the title "One Silly Thing".

You can share your thoughts with me in the comments section 😊

Thanks for reading!❤️

Sort:  
 last year  

Hahaha 😂😂 if no Nigerian has ever made a noodles disaster than that person has been living in a cage.
My own was when I made it soo soft & so watery that we were all drinking it like pepper soup from the plate 😂
Thanks for sharing dear

 last year  

Sure😂...I guess we've all had problems with cooking our noodles before.

My own was when I made it soo soft & so watery that we were all drinking it like pepper soup from the plate 😂

Hehe😂 This one has also happened to me before and I was even forced to eat the whole lot alone😂.
Thanks for visiting friend!❤️

 last year  

Hahaha you're welcome dear

 last year  

Haaaaaaa I think cooking disaster is bound to happen during childhood, mine was always salt. That salt ehhhh do me alot🤣🤣. I can imagine their faces when they were eating that hot spicy noodles 🤣🤣. Nice write up!

 last year  

Yes oo, their mouths were truly on fire 🔥😂.
I've also had issues with salt too I'm my cooking but it's always that I didn't put enough.
Thanks for visiting!❤️

 last year  

Hahahahaha. !LOLZ. The whole family had to suffer because of your love for cooking.

My kids don't take a second bite if there is little extra spice. I feel for your small cousin. I am sure you would have learnt the lesson from your extra confidence about the spices.

 last year  

I guess my love for cooking did bring them suffering 🤣🤣.
Yes I'm just glad that i learnt my lesson and I've been extra careful since then.
Thanks for visiting!❤️

 last year  

Learning the lesson and not repeating the mistake is the best aspect

 last year  

Cooking disaster are always like that no matter how good you may think you are 😂 just a mixture of the containers with ingredients will send your meal to a non-edible site.

I can't stop imagining the faces that will be looking at you as they ate the tongue burner food 🤣 really silly of you.

Well, you've learnt your lessons but I'll still suggest you let Dimma do the cooking when I come visiting please 🥲

 last year (edited) 

Those kind of cooking disasters are truly the worst!😩😂.

Yes oo, they were all very angry with me because the food was going to be a waste but it's funny how we were all laughing at the same time😂.

Well, you've learnt your lessons but I'll still suggest you let Dimma do the cooking when I come visiting please 🥲

You have nothing to worry about because she does most of the cooking 😂.
Thanks for visiting!😊❤️

 last year  

Haha that's how it's supposed to be, it's not like you purposely added pepper soup spice to the noodles after all 😂😂

Oh great! Until I visit then

 last year  

but I'll still suggest you let Dimma do the cooking when I come visiting please 🥲

😂😅 Don't worry sis, he's not bad at cooking now but I'm still better tho 🌚

 last year  

And that is why you'll do the cooking, let's not argue it too much 😂😂

 last year  

Hehe😂😂

 last year  

🤣 I remember this! Broo, you literally set our mouth on fire that day. Really, what were you thinking? 😄

Anyway, it happens though, nobody is above making silly mistakes. And I must admit, the noodles actually tasted good, it was just too spicy.

It's good you've learned your lessons now. Another moral lesson should be; keep black powdered pepper far away from the pepper soup spice container or better still label each of them 😂.

 last year  

Yeah i remember how we all so filled up with water that day😂😂.
I guess it kinda tasted nice too but the spiciness wouldn't even allow us realize it😂.
Lesson learnt✅😂
Thanks for visiting!❤️

 last year  

hehehehe I can imagine but then I would say yours is still better oo have seen someone that added sugar to a soup instead of salt. It was a mistake though but very funny and silly 😃😃

I enjoyed reading your entry, keep up the good work.

 last year  

Ahh! Sugar inside soup!??😭😂. That one is on another level for real.
But I guess anything can happen and we all make really silly mistakes sometimes.
I'm really glad you enjoyed my entry friend 😊.
Thanks for visiting!❤️

 last year  

You're welcome boss man.

 last year  

Hahaha 😄. That is a very big lesson for me.
Thanks for sharing.

 last year  

Thanks friend 😊

How are you @charlrific, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

We can also follow our official Facebook page

Keep doing the great job ❤️

image.png

 last year  

Thanks so much for the support! I really appreciate.❤️

Congratulations @charlrific! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Take the Keychain Survey and get your Future Shaper badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  

Thanks buzz💪

 last year  

Hehe... Everyone's head must have been on fire that day. Reminds me of the time I used tomato mix (tomatoes, pepper and onions) and fresh pepper to cook. I had thought it was a regular tomato paste. I was very wrong.😥

Thank you for sharing this with us.

 last year  

Hehe...that must have been a terrible experience 😂.
Thanks for visiting!❤️