EXCITINGLY RISKY AND NOT

in Hive Learners15 days ago

I love adventure but have not been involved in a lot, especially the kind that could be referred to as excitingly risky. But I look forward to the time when I get to try out all of the crazy stuff I have wished to.

IMG_20230511_095227_674~2.jpg
Image is mine

Moreover, everyone avoids and loathes accidents, but that, in the most cases of their occurrence, happen against a persons control. Maybe negligence or oversight or whatever factor may have been the cause, still, no one looks forward to it.

One time, just about three years ago, I was on a journey back home from where I had gone to visit a sibling and a big truck <brushed the bus that I was in. Here's what happened; it was raining and our bus driver, an elderly man, apparently had sight issues and was having difficulty driving in that weather. But he mentioned nothing of it. It was a heavy downpour that made the road in front of us barely visible. Even I had to keep wiping the fog from the side of the window I was sitting by inorder that I get to see what was happening on the outside. It would have been understandable if he said something but he didn't.

I suspected something was amiss with his driving when he, in his speeddriving, hit a road-bump that had us all flying(not literally but you get). We, the passengers dismissed it as caused by the slippery road.

Now, unknown to him, he had deviated from the driving Lane and had moved into the one for vehicles going in the opposite direction to us. Well, he had only just gotten into the lane when the accident happened.

I was on my phone when I felt this terrifying hit that not just shook our bus but also sent pain shooting across my waist region. Apparently too, we had been lucky because the truck driver just managed to miss us. He was going at high speed and the brush was all he could to avoid ramming into us.

No one got physically hurt but I assume they all experienced some level of pain. The brush made our bus stop and we all got down to get a hold of ourselves and shake off that shock.

I should mention that that brush pulled out the door on the driver's side. Completely. It created contortions on the side it hit, the side I sat by.

People gathered by shaking their heads and somehow, they managed to fix the fallen door to the body by tying with ropes, so that the driver got in via the passenger seat. Some persons called the management of the bus company to issue complaint. It was imperative, the call.

I'd get back home and for days nurse an aching waist and numb legs. And occasionally I'd think to myself that, so this is how people leave their houses and the next thing you hear is that they were involved in an accident that claimed their life. It was rattling.

On a lighter note, I recall getting on a bicycle who at the time was on learning to ride. It happened at Christmas. He had not learned to ride well but he asked me to get on with him and I obliged. He was going to ride, not on any of the am roads but from the top of a hill-like place. I was not thinking, just looking forward to catching fun. It was stupid and risky and thrilling. You know what that combo is like, yeah?

We both got on the bicycale and his first step on the pedal had him losing control. The bicycle ride itself really fast while we were screaming in excitement until it sent us flying and falling and rolling on the floor. I merely got scratches here-and-there. He sustained injuries, nothing major.

It could have been worse. Worse, if we fell off a certain cliff just when you get down the hill. A steep cliff of steeps and stones. I particularly hung on that cliff. An extra inch would have gotten me falling off and rolling, and like in certain cartonns, making, "Kom, boom, boom, Kom," sounds. And at that age I was in, with how fragile I was, it was either I unalived myself or I sustained serious injurie.
Did i enjoy it? Yes!
Would I give it a try if I had the chance again? Uhm, I think so.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAyzKBMMomGWGtzC1sFqRzkdtAbDdbv4zLWd8PU43zQvFTp2q3Eo53jipvzEfVjsexmvZvW82wsK4YJujkneqVDGMigP2PJjNN.png

Thanks for gracing this post.
Greetings!

Sort:  
 15 days ago  

LoL, you obviously love adventures.

Ideally, if it's raining, drivers are not supposed to be on the road and if it happens that they must be on the road, they should ensure that they are not over speeding and can see what's ahead. I support those who reported the driver to the company, he needs to be sanctioned. We don't buy life from the market.

 15 days ago  

He should just have spoken up. With how heavy the downpour was, no one would complain.

 13 days ago  

Must be even drive in the rain? It's not a journey to heaven, why the haste?

 15 days ago  

Smiles
What an adventure
Thanks for sharing this exciting post with us.

 15 days ago  

Thank you for stopping by

 15 days ago  

you share your risky adventures experience including a bus accident and a thrilling bicycle ride. you share your accident of risky bicycle ride down a hill, resulting in falls and minor injuries are more lesson giving to others.

 15 days ago  

Yes, I did.
Thanks for stopping by