My Cultural Festival (New Yam Festival)

in Hive Learners2 years ago

source
images (9).jpeg

Hello everyone, I trust our day is moving smoothly as expected, cause mine is actually moving fine. It Sunday, so let's discuss a little about one of the cultural festival in my community. And I will be talking about Yam festival...
New yam festival has always been a remarkable fest to my culture and tribe, it is one of the customs and traditions the igbo's don't joke with...

It is celebrated annually, during the month of August..
Firstly the festival is been done at community level before the people celebrate it individually with there families and friends...

Yam festival is called irie ji in my tribe.. Women and children can eat yam before the celebration, but a full grown man can't eat without celebrating it with his ancestors.. Although after the community level celebration it is not compulsory that one can celebrate it if not financially buoyant to celebrate.

During the community level celebration, it is been done around the village square with the igwe (the king) and his cabinets laying sacrifices to their god's and thanking them for another year yam festival.... Then the women will be busy preparing tubers of yam with any animal present mostly goat...

There will be alot of presentations that day, dancing, singing, warriors challenge and so on. Yam festival is known as the season of love in the community, neighbors giving food and stuffs to their neighbors.

Indigen of my community that lives out of the village always find time to return with their family just to celebrate this festival..

I so much love this fest cause there's always a lot to eat and drink while gisting with my peer-group and no matter my distance from home, I always find my way home just to celebrate it with families and friends.. I wouldn't want to miss out cause I hate it if I'm given the gist of things I missed...(chuckle) you know that feelings....

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

New yam festival is always a remarkable one in Igbo land celebrated in a massive way with lots of fun included. I don't like missing this particular tradition except if am not home during the period.

Thanks for sharing our culture, we keep learning.

I don't miss this festival lol, especially when I have a lot of invites

 2 years ago  

That's a good one!

 2 years ago  

I really like this festival because there is always a lot to eat and drink while chatting with the peer group

you definitely expect this to always be done because it will be very exciting to do

Thanks for the comments, maybe I will invite u some day

 2 years ago  

A beautiful festive practice.

Yes bro, thanks for the kind words

 2 years ago  

I have always heard of new yam festival
Right from high school, it is nice to see this practice and it is heavily goated

 2 years ago  

This is always a remarkable festival to always remember.
It is always loveable.
Nice one dear.

Congratulations @cryptofi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

A big smile drew across my face after reading this post. Its really a wonderful festival. Women, children and men coming together to celebrate as a community, I wish I could see the big picture in my head. Its great to see that you had a chance to be part of the whole feeling, I wish I could get an opportunity to be part of this festival once in my life, it'll be amazing!!

Glad I was able to know about the irie ji. ❤️🙏

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment