Physical Fitness and Mental Health - Creating a Balance

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

There is always a huge emphasis placed on mental health and physical fitness and that's because of it's importance to our health in totality.
pexels-photo-4397841.jpeg
source
I'll be using this medium to shed more light on the importance of a balance between mental health and physical fitness. I'll also be giving us some handheld tips which will assist us while we find a middle ground to give mental health and physical fitness equal importance.

Why should there be a balance between mental health and physical fitness?

We are trained to be masters of our bodies, but never masters of our minds. We come with a pamphlet of instructions when what we really need is a manual. We are often taught that we run our lives, although we love to believe that it is scientifically proven that we do not!

Did I get your attention with that? I bet I did. The truth remains that our actions, both planned and unplanned, our wild spirit of spontaneity, and more, are all designed by experience, exposure, and perspective, nothing is randomized.

So, how do we curb uncertainty?

Creating a balance between mental health and physical fitness can only be done by creating a way of life. These two elements should be incorporated into our lives. It should not be inserted, but rather a transformation or fusion should take place.

The manner in which this issue can be eliminated is by creating a steady pattern. This will help remove areas of daily challenges when motivation is down and your body and mind are not pumped up to do them. This can be done by creating habits, setting routines, planning and balancing.

How do we balance mental health and physical fitness?

1. Walk as much as you work

pexels-photo-663437.jpeg
source
Learn to take a walk every morning especially when everywhere is still quiet and the early morning breeze is still at its peak. I'm not saying that you have to walk for miles for this to happen, all I'm saying is that you should Keep your walk short and brisk. A short 20-minute walk is more than sufficient to maintain a balance between mental health and physical fitness.

Physically, the early morning walk keeps you fit and gets your blood running while mentally, it clears your head and gives you thinking time.

2. Play as much as you read

pexels-photo-1174597.jpeg
source
This doesn't have to be every day, choose a few days in the week where you dedicate an hour to playing a sport. The goal here is not to make it to the Olympics but to allow you to clear your head, meet people, laugh, have fun, and most of all, move your body.

Physically, playing as much as you read helps to energize and revitalize your body, while mentally it helps to de-stress the mind and gives the cerebrum a break.

3. Run as much as you meditate

pexels-photo-3601094.jpeg
source
Taking a short jog at the end of the day will not only tone your body, but give you the time to de-stress. We are aware that the day would have demanded a little more than what you could give, but you made it. Push yourself to physically make it to the end of the target. It teaches you to be persistent. Along with strengthening your mind.

Physically running as much as you meditate moves and tones your body, while mentally it helps to strengthen your mind in persistence and discipline.

Conclusion

Maintaining a balance between physical health and mental fitness has a reciprocal effect. Physical fitness allows you to feel confident, have good self-esteem, and be aware of yourself. It removes limitations and proves that every opportunity that passes your way can be accepted because you will be in the right physical and mental state to accept it.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I still love playing PC games today. Had to take some time to smash so games. Felt so relieved.

Nice Post.

 2 years ago  

I think it's always best we did this to relieve stress. This is always the best way to help ourselves both mentally and physically.

Thanks for your feedback

Congratulations @davidbright! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!
 2 years ago  

Playing of favourite game or sport helps me alot.
Reduces all of stress or thinking for that duration
Feel better

 2 years ago  

Everytime isn't time to be serious... Sometimes u just need to play to ease off the stress you've accumulated.. It has helped me a lot and that's why I recommended it for others...

Thanks for your feedback

 2 years ago  

Good morning David :-) I hope you had a good (walking?) start in the new week.

You should look at @dreemoport 's latest post for the challenge news, they had a fault in mentioning you, so dont miss the good news there!

Happy that they choose us to be one of the dreem teems !LUV

 2 years ago  

Lol... I sure had a great start into the new week.. 😂 😂

I went straight to see her post and I'm glad we were paired together. Its going to be fun having you as my partner. Let's do this and come out strong.

I think almost everything is about finding the right balance. I know that dreemsteem challenge is helping with that too :)

I am popping in today as part of my dreemsteem challenge Encouragement program for Monday, have you encouraged your partner yet :) Well done on all you are doing and don't forget to do your personal goals today, cheers Ed :)

honestly, maintaining balance is so easy to say but hard to achieve.. but its doable :)

got this from @dreemport

 2 years ago  

I'm glad you know it's doable.. So all that matters is for us to work it out since it's doable

yep annd let's make it sure that we try to do it :)

 2 years ago  

Sure, we should always make sure to do these things in order to maintain a healthy balance in our lives.

This is awesome and they are definitely needed to maintain one's health and well-being.

 2 years ago  

You are right.. It's going to be useful as we continue with our challenge of keeping fit.

Hope you are on track with your challenge?

That is true :)

I am but I am yet to check on my partner and encourage someone today hehe. Thank you :) How about you? I hope you are doing a lot better than me :)

 2 years ago  

Sure... I'm doing just great.. I don't want to use the 'f' word, so I'm doing all my best to get my hold star each day..

Don't fail to get your gold star today..

That is awesome! We don't want the F word hehe. Yes, I am trying to get it too, thank you :) Cheers to you as you work on to hold those golden stars each and every day :) I believe you can do it💪

 2 years ago  

I can get these stars and I strongly believe you'll also get them. You are doing so fine, keep it up

That is so awesome! Thank you for your faith in me, hehe. I'm giving it to myself today although I was not able to talk to my partner, I left her a message on her post. Thanks again and all the best to you today. It's a good night for me now :)

 2 years ago  

Physically, the early morning walk keeps you fit and gets your blood running while mentally, it clears your head and gives you thinking time.

It's like killing two birds with a stone.
Thanks for laying emphasis on these things.
It's important for one to take care of their mental and physical health.

@Dreemport brought me here

 2 years ago  

Very important. I really wish we can always follow these tips.. It can go a long way to help make us healthy

Hello again!
I agree with you. Mind and physical health are hands by hand. It's well said, a healthy mind in a healthy body.
Have a good day on the challenge tomorrow. :)

Dreemport brought me here today.

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback...just as you rightly said, our mind and our physical health works hand in hand. We just have to find a way to always balance both of them.

A good morning to you. Hope you are ready for today's challenge. Go get the star!

I'm on the track to get that ⭐️ I hope you are too 😄

 2 years ago  

I am on track, I'm just left with writing my post which I will definitely do before the day ends.

You did great, and you were a terrific encourager this week. ⭐🏆
Thank you very much!😄

 2 years ago  

Thank you too

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Thanks so much for your feedback. I'm glad I was able to help you with this article.