STAY SAFE! DON'T CLICK LINKS!

in Hive Learners2 years ago

SAVE YOURSELF.png

SOURCE Edited with Canva

ezgif-5-644865db37.png

Today, I was doing some work when my senior (hive-related work) sent me a link (his account was compromised). I will not name a lot of people here to maintain the privacy of users. Of course, since it was from a close friend and it was not some win nft or nitro booster so I clicked it. Yes, I fell for the trick.

CONGO PONGO, I got hacked (scanned a QR Code). Now what to do next if that happened to me. First of all, removing the access of the hacker to my account. Luckily I have a lot of software like one that can trace the IP. It was taught to me by my teacher in university to track from which IP emails are received. I quickly removed the access of the hacker (a worm virus bot) by changing my account password and 2fa. I verified by software that no one else has access to my account.

A screenshot after recovering the account:

unknown (5).png

WHAT TO DO NEXT?

After saying myself, that my duty was to save others. I got plenty of time and ethics says as I was a part of it so it's my duty to minimize the damage.

I am in 72 discord servers. I am familiar with all the servers so I tagged a representative that is online from each server and leave this:

unknown (4).png

By saying "inform others" with this pic attached. Within a few minutes, not more than 5 (2 to recover). I got a lot of @everyone with this message (or similar) and it was an exact screenshot of my warning:

293083928_558642615765981_217623775816386093_n (1).jpg

I knew now masses are informed about this wave as I also started to get the same dm of different people so I can say it was spreading like coronavirus and many of them were reputable accounts (not mentioning anyone for privacy).

Then I started removing all DMS that are sent by the bot (to me it was more important to inform the masses than my dm because many were sacrificed). I removed all dm one by one and reply with the image:

unknown_4.png

A lot of people thanked me in dm to those I removed before and added this.

In short, even if I was not involved it would still spread to some many people. I did everything I can after the incident. I hope the community knows what happened and how I reacted. I hope the community forgives and also appreciates how I reacted after it happened.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Thank God you knew those tricks, it could have been something else if you had to call someone to help you out.

These hackers are working hard to steal from people, it would have been great if all this hard work are diverted to something good. You saved lots of people today, you are a hero.

 2 years ago  

it would have been great if all this hard work are diverted to something good

I think light and dark will exist till eternity. Light is not understandable without darkness. See those who make quick bucks and plagiarize. I see sometimes even 1 or 2 years of experience people. The good thing is most of them accept the fault, take the plenty and move on in life. :)

You were pretty famous today. Thanks for posting that image, I've shared it on a couple servers.

 2 years ago  

You were pretty famous today.

In a good way or bad way? xD

Thanks for posting that image, I've shared it on a couple of servers.

Thanks for spreading the message quickly.

When you are famous, you can't sleep: (xD)

In a good way or bad way?

Depends how you look at it I guess. If falling victim to a hack and spreading malicious information is a bad thing, then bad. But if being a victim to a hack and spreading malicious information only to correct the situation and give a tutorial how to correct it is good, then good.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I will take the good one then. Since I skipped sleep and do some crazy amount of work to safe as much as I can. :)

Being famous ain't bad.

 2 years ago  

Are you Indian or Paki?

No and no.

I looked for a song about famous on YouTube. You seen how many songs there are about famous?? A lot. So I went with a stand-up.

Not gonna lie, I kinda chuckled.

But, glad you are okay now.

 2 years ago  

 2 years ago  

@dlmmqb thanks for sharing and alarming us, I think the vaccine has been given directly to coronavirus this time. Cheers!!

 2 years ago  

It took me one 1000 years to reply to u with a big injection gif haha
I wanted a more only gif as a reply but I give up xD

 2 years ago  

@dlmmqb good one 👍👍👍😆😆😆

 2 years ago  

I almost Got trapped when i saw your DM and at the same time your announcement saved me!

Thought i had clicked on it but never mind I'm safe and hope Everyone else are. Never seen such way of hacking before.

 2 years ago  

Indeed, I reacted too fast to the situation.

 2 years ago  

That's a very quick response by you. Am happyyy i didn't fall for it

 2 years ago  

Ya, I remember you texted me related to it and I quickly replied. Actually, I did not go to sleep till everyone went back to normal.

 2 years ago  

That's so kind of you friend

 2 years ago  

U luckily I didn't notice any announcement and was caught in the same trap. Thank you for your help in due time. Othér wise I may not be able to manage this problem. Thank you.

 2 years ago  

Ya, I remember helping you quickly explain to you, and you changed the password. For some of you, I am 24/7 live chat/call support. :)

 2 years ago  

No doubt, you provide the best guide for us, thankful to you for your favor.

 2 years ago  

My pleasure. :)

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

 2 years ago  

They use this link to hack people's discord account with a bot

 2 years ago  

Me while informing others:

Not all heroes wear capes. You did a good job by informing people of this scam. God bless you

 2 years ago  

But I wear a cap while cleaning. :)

Está genial, Gracias por la información espero que estés bien

 2 years ago  

Estoy bien, gracias

 2 years ago  

Thanks for sharing this, is wonderful post.

 2 years ago  

My pleasure