You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inked Intimacy

in Hive Learners3 months ago

I have the same exact thoughts... you know I think... when you get that letter - you have traces of their actual selves on that paper... when they press their hands and fingers against the paper to hold it still - it transfers microscopic bits of them for you to have! hehehehe even traces of their scent!! maybe we can't smell it - but our brains probably pick it up

and your ideas about handwriting... same. handwriting IS a part of the person. and it doesn't matter if its beautiful or chicken scratch... its from that person. its like their fingerprint! its unique and them and sooo special.

I still have a BOX of letters from all throughout life... and some of them have been destroyed because they were kept in a box in our garage and mice got into it!!!! ughhh of all the places they could have gotten into! why there!

I salvaged about half of them!!! but they are from 9 and 10 and 11 and on! hehehe

i love them all

I don't know if I'll ever actually READ them all again hahahaha but that's not the point, right?

they were held at one point - and made their indelible mark on my heart - and now they are treasures.

but I STILL to this day do handwritten notes... i never stop - i can't. I feel like you - how can we let this slip away???

People like us need to keep this alive hehehe

Sort:  
 3 months ago  

How DARE they?? Those pesky mice!!

Hold up, though. You have a BOX of old letters?? Wow. That's impressive. I don't think I still have all the letters I have gotten. I wasn't that much of a keeper growing up.

As you described the "essence of the writer in their handwriting," I was taken back in time to that moment I got the letter from my first crush. It did feel like I had a part of her in my hands back then.

I wonder if I can ask: Did you both send letters between yourselves, and do you still do even after 30 years? I'm so CURIOUS.

Someday, I'll pick a few days to think about a few people dear to me and write them things. I'll send photos, but I'll get the letters to them some day. I think it's good practice we should bring back.

YES... i still do handwritten letters! they are SOOOO important to me.

When Pen and Sam came on the trip to Panama to see me... I sent them away with handwritten cards telling them how much the trip meant to me.

Sam also had one for me hehehe