ᴛʜᴇ ʟᴏɴᴇʟʏ ᴅᴀʏs

in Hive Learnerslast year
Authored by @Emrysjobber

png_20221129_025028_0000.png

𝓜𝓪𝓭𝓮 𝔀𝓲𝓽𝓱 𝓬𝓪𝓷𝓿𝓪

Holla readers, it is another beautiful day, hope you all had an amazing weekend. On today's creative writing I will be disclosing some true life event with the hope that you will find it worth reading.

Every human has a past, painful or not it made us who we are, as descante once quoted, the future is a myth and unrealistic combination of uncertain event but the past has been seen, has been lived, has been witnessed, who are we without it? like every other child born on earth filled with imperfections and as a result of that, got humiliated a lot for being different.

It all started during my secondary school days, though the condition I gained admission with was not a regular one. before being admitted to JSS1, I and my parents lived at ariyo/orioke a city situated around ketu Lagos state. While we were living there my dad purchased a portion of land at ikorodu, which he was already developing. I and my brother attended a primary school few miles from our home, the name of the school was promise international school. it was a private school that was very popular in our neighbourhood.

When I was in primary 3, my brother graduated and was admitted to a secondary school in sagamu, Ogun State. A boarding school called Remo Divisional High school, he only comes home once in awhile during holiday period. it was only I and my siblings that was left in the house.

By the time I got to primary 5, my dad had already finished developing his new site, preparing a date we will move finally. As if the lord knew of the coming riot, during that time a riot broke loose around owode spreading to our neighbourhood making life and property unsafe. so my dad was not happy about this, so fast forwarded our relocation.for that reason I had to sit for my common entrance exam while I was still in primary 5, instead of waiting till primary 6.

I wrote the exam, which I chose the boarding school my brother was, it was not a pleasant experience because I had very little time to prepare for the common entrance. I sat for the exam and I passed, immediately that happen we relocated to ikorodu. A boarding school is never a regular Type of school because it requires you staying at the school without leaving the school premises until holidays.
untitled.gif

My luggage was packed and I was admitted into the school, the funny thing about boarding school is that we all wear the same colour of cloth with our numbers on our chest pocket like prison cell mates😅. No designer cloths were allowed into the school premises, though some students do find ways to smuggle it in.
untitled.gif

In RDHS, we have the hostel which is divided in to bays(rooms) with walls, a total number of 8 bays, it is like a regular "face me I face you" apartment the only difference is that it doesn't have doors. the rooms are filled with one double bed bunk and two wardrobes, 2 per student. two student occupy each bay in the hostel. the hostel is a story building, which means 8 bays upstairs and 8 bays downstairs, a total number of 16 bays and a total number of 32 students in each hostel, my hostel was numbered hostel one.

The seniors are the once that occupies upstairs, from SS2 to SS3 and some few SS1 students, it was not a law in the school but a form of hierarchy created by the senior students.

My first day at the hostel I was stationed in bay 1 downstairs with my brother, he was in ss1 then. the funny thing about boarding school is the laws we create to exercise control over each other and it is always survival of the fittest in most cases.
untitled.gif

We have hotel warden but he is not really functional, the highest authority is the hostel master, while the one that overseas the activities in the hostel is the hostel captain, a selected representative of the student, they are always selected from either SS3 or SS2 depending on how responsible they are.

We have some regular rules, by 6am in the morning, you must be awake for morning devotion, by 6:30 everyone must attend to their portions, by 7:30 you must be out of the hostel and go to the dining hall for breakfast, while by 8:30 you must be at the school assembly. as long as you keep to this routine, you will be fine.
untitled.gif

But there is more to hostel life than the routine, especially when it comes to bullies from senior student or colleagues, like I said it is survival of the fittest, showing any sign of weakness will only make others prey on you. I was subjected to a lot of cruelty at first because I was slim, short and naive, so people took advantage of that. A lot of my provisions were stolen which is literally a normal thing in boarding school, my brother assisted in ways he could and I also had a school father then.
untitled.gif
By the time I was in ss1, my brother had graduated, so I was all alone. but I have adapted to the hostel life and culture and I knew precisely how to deal with bullies, especially the likes of a guy called "Ismail", he made my junior year unbearable, he looks like a giant, we were in the same class Jss1D. eventually I stood up to him and retaliated in many ways till eventually he let me be.

In the hostel, you don't report people to the hostel master, if you do, the rest of the student will label you a snitch, I learnt this the hard way.

ʟᴇssᴏɴs ʟᴇᴀʀɴᴛ ғʀᴏᴍ ᴍʏ ʙᴏᴀʀᴅɪɴɢ sᴄʜᴏᴏʟ ᴅᴀʏs.

  • I learnt to survive on my own: all I had was myself, so I had to make things work because I realise if I don't no one else will and this as stucked with my personality up to this moment.

  • I learnt how to take responsibility for my actions: In boarding school, actions can't be taken for granted, careless actions begets consequences which involves punishment. in so doing, it made me sensitive to the choices and decisions I make on a daily basis.

  • I learnt how to manage and relate with people: in boarding school you can't survive without relating with people, this factor made me outspoken,I developed the ability to to speak up for my self with good interpersonal communication skills.

  • I learnt to make use of situations and opportunities to my advantage: in boarding school you do not have the luxury of time when opportunity arises, you have to be able to make decisions in sec and make the best out of it.

  • Lastly, it made me hardworking: in boarding school, we all have our individual portion of activities we do on a daily basis which includes cleaning and sweeping of the environment, farming and hunting. I guess along the line, I developed a hard-working attitude.

5ZJ4Z52ZRyQfZ6RGkYwfbUoyhmp3zPhbNHZJxcqNU7VCyLrA8T9kzJ974mA5yeaBJRM8QvzmZRm16hXLbG1849SgTRjUFM6HwFLzoJFuAnmUQUB1nXuDjDSREQfyoc...uAFGPquW5rF57ANQ7DRw7fBTrbszX9vQutKjMsKm8jsrrTZPdt7zYpprsNrwJ8JYQq1xJEiGFYZdzCiNx5PFhWocKdngvcT8Lf3k1d49za3HLM1YvDXp6PS6ei.png

This phase of my life formulated my attitude,behaviour and personality which made it a very significant aspect of my life.

5ZJ4Z52ZRyQfZ6RGkYwfbUoyhmp3zPhbNHZJxcqNU7VCyLrA8T9kzJ974mA5yeaBJRM8QvzmZRm16hXLbG1849SgTRjUFM6HwFLzoJFuAnmUQUB1nXuDjDSREQfyoc...uAFGPquW5rF57ANQ7DRw7fBTrbszX9vQutKjMsKm8jsrrTZPdt7zYpprsNrwJ8JYQq1xJEiGFYZdzCiNx5PFhWocKdngvcT8Lf3k1d49za3HLM1YvDXp6PS6ei.png

©𝓔𝓶𝓻𝔂𝓼𝓳𝓸𝓫𝓫𝓮𝓻

Sort:  

Man, this sounds rough. Kind of reminds me of what they used to say about being in the military service here in my country (Czech Republic). It used to be mandatory for almost all young men but it was cancelled just before I would have to enlist. It´s been voluntary since then. But yeah, from what I heard, living in the barracks was very similar to your experience in that boarding school. Glad that you made it out alive :)

I will be happy to share this cool post of yours with my followers in the next round of my upvote giveaway. Keep up the good work :)

 last year  

I'm glad you could relate to the experience.

Thanks for reading.

 last year  

This reminds me of those days they used to ask us to debate "Day school is better than boarding school" 😂😂. I was a day student so I chose day school of course but, reading this, I might just change my mind🤣

I understand how important that experience was for you, it makes up a significant part and season of your life. I bet you were happy to have an elder brother in school else it might've been more difficult. Hostel stories are the best and I'd love to hear those, especially how you stood up to Ismail 😂. Well done friend 🤗

 last year (edited) 

Really,reading this, I might just change my mind

You need to experience it yourself, you will realise that both day and boarding have their disadvantages and advantages. There are days I wished I was a day student, though boarding school kept us safe From the outside world, especially dangers that has to do with transportation but it trapped us with the dangerous of all predators "humans"😅.

Yeah having my brother close by made most of the harsh experiences more bearable, if he wasn't there, it would have taken a lot of time b4 I could get back on my feet.

And for Ismail, you have no idea what I did to that guy before he could let me be, I realised he might be strong enough to bully me physically but I was smart enough to bully him psychologically 😅😅.

Hostel life was fun and adventurous.

Thanks for reading, I'm glad you find the experience amusing 😅🤭 and I appreciate the reblog🙏.

 last year (edited) 

Lol 🤣🤣🤣🤣 omo boarding school life is hell in a cell lol 🤣🤣🤣, it is indeed the survival of the fittest Lol 😂😂😂...
In boarding school we will find thieves and bullies and all sort of things Lol 😂😂 what is boarding school without being bullied or been stolen from Lol 😂😂😂.. I remember my brother's time Lol 😂😂 they stole his Note books and nothing happened lol 🤣🤣 out of 12, he met 5 Lol 😂😂😂
It is a crazy experience Lol 😂😂...

Your brother leaving was a big opportunity Lol 😂 they will tamper with you like something else but it will eventually make us stronger, you were taught to be strong Lol and it worked and now they can't even think of it because it will table Ladder and chair match or royal rumble Lol 😂😂😂...

Thanks for sharing your experience with us bro❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

 last year  

😂😂😂😂, I could feel you have a sense of the experience. Boarding school is for the strong😂😂.

Thanks for reading bro.

 last year  

Lolz 😂🤣 indeed my brother lolz 😂🤣 thank you for your time

 last year  

Heheh 😁😁, sometimes for us to grow into better persons we need to be subjected into hard processes. Being in a boarding school is not an easy one at all. Though I loved it so much but never got an opportunity to attend any😁 my parents don't buy the idea of boarding school at all.

Well, I have heard a lot about boarding school, the hardship and the bullying. one just needs to change to adapt to that kind of condition. If you want to play good and gentle then expect to be the footstool for others. You made me laughed when you said, you were just like a prisoner hehe, what were you expecting? To wear all those your fancy clothes to class😂?

I am glad the situations you encountered in school changed you and made you a better man.

 last year (edited) 

The uniform cloth was new and strange to me at first because we all walk around in the same clothes. U should see us during our dining period, we look like test subjects 😂.

Yh like you said, it made me stronger and strengthen my survival instinct.

Thanks for reading and I really appreciate the reblog.

 last year  

The uniform cloth was new and strange to me at first because we all walk around in the same clothes. U should see us during our dining period, we look like test subjects 😂.

Heheh, say na test subject. You are really funny. Well that is how it is always when find ourselves in new environments.

You are always welcome boss. Seems like you are bearing Emmanuel right?

 last year  

Nop

My name is dami, what makes you think I'm Emmanuel 😅

 last year  

Hahahhah 😁, the emry almost looks like there's an Emmanuel attached to it hehe

 last year  

Nop

It is just a nickname.

 last year  

Okay broh..
So how are you?

 last year  

I am glad you were able to learn a lot from your lonely days, it's good if we are able to learn something new.

 last year  

Yeah I did.

Thanks for reading

 last year  

Sometimes I am glad I never got to attend a boarding school because I didn't get to experience the horrors of bullying and such.

 last year  

Well, boarding school might be horrible in some cases but it does have it's own advantages.

Thanks for reading

 last year  

It sure does.
You're welcome too.

Congratulations @emrysjobber! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.
You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.
You got more than 300 replies.
Your next target is to reach 400 replies.
You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  

Thanks for the update

Wow, four badges in a row, that's awesome @emrysjobber! 🎉🎉🎉