CULTURAL ACTIVITY- FISHING FESTIVAL AND MY VISIT TO THE VILLAGE TO ATTEND.

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

HOW THE JOURNEY STARTED

IMG_20220320_232420_489.jpg

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQMzVUX1x55qUjFLto7MAywkyUFxr2wBWZxcU22itFyed5TsQxZST5rz4zuUACmDHyexDLCkFPSakJrq9ruXqCCHn2n4i2P8CaNJzgAHeaUqr9Te1uZpuyG.png

When I was in high school, we had a subject called "Social Studies," and one of the most significant topics we learned about was "Culture." Culture is the way of life of a group of people, and it is built on ideas, practices, and behaviors.

WELCOME TO MY VILLAGE

IMG_20220320_232410_316.jpg

Let us travel to Nigeria, my home country. I am from Rivers State, Nigeria, which is also known as the "Garden City of the Nation" and is located in the country's southern region. I'm a member of the "Delta-Igbos," a distinct ethnic group with a fast expanding population. Our dialect is a cross between Igbo and Isoko. I hail from a unique village with various blood ties to nearby towns and a rich history and culture. Iyowo is the name of my community, which is located near Obiofu in Rivers State. I've always been a city slicker; I was born in the city, went to high school there, and grew up in the city. I'd never been back to my hometown in my life, at least not in the previous 18 years. My village seemed mythical to me; I was only used to seeing my village uncles and aunts when they came to visit us in the city.
YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQMzVUX1x55qUjFLto7MAywkyUFxr2wBWZxcU22itFyed5TsQxZST5rz4zuUACmDHyexDLCkFPSakJrq9ruXqCCHn2n4i2P8CaNJzgAHeaUqr9Te1uZpuyG.png

IYOWO FISHING FESTIVAL- BIG CULTURAL ACTIVITY

My father contacted me a few months ago and said he was planning on coming to our village's fishing festival. "Oh, Pops great," I said, astonished because I had no idea such things occurred in my village. He then asked if I wanted to come, stressing that my relatives would also be present. I considered it at the time since I had nothing to do in the city and had recently graduated from college, and it would be a nice change of environment.So I accepted and returned home to prepare for our journey to the village. The route to the village included both a road and a water journey. We had driven for two hours before arriving at the jetty to catch a speedboat to the village, as this was the only way to get there.I was looking forward to the travel experience because it would be my first visit to the village and I would be able to experience country life and see things for myself.

We arrived late in the village, in pitch darkness, with only torchlights to guide us to the family home where we would spend the night.I was too exhausted to think about the blackout and what it signified; all I wanted to do was sleep and recuperate, hoping that the Electricity Board would restore power later that night. I awoke the next day to find that the power was unavailable . I thought to myself, "That's strange," because I had no idea that my community had never been given power, only generators owned by community members.

So, since the family house was full, we were taken to the only hotel in town. It wasn't bad, and the rooms were clean and had all the necessities of a hotel room, so I didn't mind.

IMG_20220320_232330_444.jpg

It was time for me to take a bath, so I raced into the bathroom and tried running the tap, but it didn't work, so I contacted the manager about the water problem, and he said the water tap doesn't function, so everyone bathes in the river.The reply made me cold; first, it was the power, and now it was the water-"I have arrived at my village," I thought to myself.

IMG_20220320_232336_358.jpg

So I proceeded to the stream, where I was astounded to see students on their way to school who had stopped to take off their uniforms and swim across the small river, while I joined them to take a bath. It was an amazing experience. I finished my bath and decided to photograph the great river "Obinafor river," which means "new river," which was the site of the great fishing festival.

IMG_20220320_232414_238.jpg

IMG_20220320_232406_674.jpg

We also have the "Oge Lake," which is left for a long time prior to the fishing date, villagers are prohibited from fishing on the Lake, and if an offender is discovered, the person will be dealt with. The Oge Lake is said to be a storage facility for large fish, and its history dates back years, when it was used to represent the deities' blessings to the people. It is regarded as a blessing harbor for fishermen and women in the community.

IMG_20220320_232347_964.jpg

The festival's rules were basic and straightforward: all canoes and boats were permitted to enter the lake and river, nets were to be tossed into the river, and the fisherman or lady who caught the largest fish was to be named the festival's winner. The largest fish is instantly sold to the highest bidder, and it is always pricey, while other fishermen and women would sell or keep their catch in the community.

The huts and mud dwellings in the village near the river and lake could be seen, and the land deposit in the photo was formed as a result of flooding deposition over time, and the alluvial soil is utilized for production of food crops. It depicts the major occupation in my village, which is agriculture. It also demonstrates our dedication and hard labor, as we are regularly involved in placing food on our family' tables. This made me ecstatic.

IMG_20220320_232343_966.jpg

Later that night, the town organizes a great party with many families in attendance, and the fish festival turns into a celebration. The fishes caught during the festival are used to prepare a variety of dishes at the party. My family members were dressed in uniform for the event, as you can see.

IMG_20220320_232423_217.jpg

The party went from late at night to early the next morning, and when it came time for the family to return to the city, we decided to take a family photo for posterity before boarding the boat to return to the jetty.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLJ1PfTES1qNjfjiW57EJ6EdQEg6533h9o5Pq8htiSz5TyAPfWbdeT1QUkQ5uPpaTyMAkfRSdcKNY6fmfM7LyE3UCLt9bJip7MtDhGajUdjfokLD4cf3t.png

IMG-20220220-WA0006.jpg

Ownership of picturesMINE
Camera typeTecno spark 7
Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Wow...
Very good places out there, and very interesting festival. I like it 👍

 2 years ago  

Exactly...would be happy to welcome you

 2 years ago  

Aha...
Glad to hear that. 😉

 2 years ago  

this is very good bro, you summed it up with great intent.👌

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much for your kind words

 2 years ago  

You'r welcome my friend😊

 2 years ago  

This means my very good friend @gone-hive can swim and I'm here shaking like fish 🤣🤣

A very interesting culture you have and I enjoyed every bit of it. Do have a great day 😚

 2 years ago  

Lol....I am trying my best to be good at it....

Thanks woman on fire

 2 years ago  

Lol
Okay

 2 years ago  

Swimming is as easy as any other thing
But the fear of drowning is what stops many from actually learning

I teach one guy like that one day...
Omor I Taya for talk that day 😒😒

 2 years ago  

I teach one guy like that one day...
Omor I Taya for talk that day
😒😒

🤣🤣🤣 If na me you go flog me because I go dey cry join.

I'm always afraid of swimming.

 2 years ago  

Better flog oo
I swear gon, i go even leave you make you test one cup seff🏃🏃😁

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣
I know you're just joking 😃

 2 years ago  

Smiles what to do Na
You don dey fear😂😂

 2 years ago  

Lol
I big strong girl I no fit fear

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣🤣🤣 omo, my own is to be shouting don't leave me, especially when there is nothing to hold.

 2 years ago  

Me I use to leave small oo
Especially when you dey over make mistake 😁😁

 2 years ago  

Really glad to hear about your cultural celebration 🎉
Nice post 📯
Keep it up bro ❣️

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much brother
I appreciate

 2 years ago  

I can't just stop thinking about the dishes that night... I love fresh fish to the core oo

I like your narration and detailed explanation... Your content was awesome but I need to know when the next celebration will be

It will shock you that I'll show up oo... And I minit

I have read about this fishing festival before, I would really love to attend it someday.
If there is one thing I love is fish, so anything that will make me eat fish will highly be welcome.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

Seeing a wonderful environment, the mind wants to come back from here, it seems to be a very secluded place
Thank you so much for sharing this traditional event with us

 2 years ago  

You gave a perfect explanation of the place

 2 years ago  

Thank you

Congratulations @gone-hive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Your experience was really fun at that time, I also did the same thing bathing in the river with students who just got home from school this was very fun

 2 years ago  

Crazyyyy.... Culture is a beautiful thing. An interesting festival too. I have actually never entered a boat before, will you take me on a ride? 😉😁

Well done.

 2 years ago  

First time I see this type festival and enjoy your writing. Thanks a lot for your wonderful writing

 2 years ago  

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@pravesh0(5/5) tipped @gone-hive (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much brother