The Most Memorable Day of My Life

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

3DLAmCsuTe3ba2VJAE1ZhN2oVhekeqoshg9DUnSyUd2Cnt4YtUMpZp3shLAFC6crgtFzAC6QZ9uGD9svFuFKttQ86gAChnWVQr28niMhaSyY9b1ZC14fM46uhFAUhZSsAhQJjdE6jutrEZaeHZduFFn98x8KUFG.png

Living everyday is a blessing and a memory to keep unto, but the most memorable day in my life occurred on the 17th of August 2004, it was the departure of one of the dearest person in my Life- My Mum.

1646217864437-1845842216.jpg

The name of my mum is Maryann. On that day, my parents were returning from my home town to the city after attending an event, the sad loss took place on the River as the boat had capsized into the river due to a leakage in the boat. Nothing really prepares you for such a life changing moment, I was just four years old, I looked at the big clock at home counting how many hours was left for my parents to return.

1646217982598-2049153134.jpg

I had no idea my dad was the only one returning home. I had to stay with my uncle because my dad was in a critical condition due to shock from the event that occurred, when I returned back, I remember seeing alot of people visiting our home with sad faces and having sympathy for me. I recall asking my dad about the whereabouts of my mum and his reply was "Mummy, has gone to be in a safe place", while he said this tears rolled down his cheek as I urged him not to cry that Mummy would return soon. I had no idea that it was a place of no return, just memories of the little time we spent together to reminisce about.

heart-7004820_960_720.webp
[Source]

So I wrote this poem to show how my Dad felt

He lived for her
Her guardian angel he was
With intertwined lives

He lives and breathes for her
Same oxygen,
but different bodies

She was dying, he couldn't take it
He decided to love a corpse,
Till it found peace in the sky

3DLAmCsuTe3ba2VJAE1ZhN2oVhekeqoshg9DUnSyUd2Cnt4YtUMpZp3shLAFC6crgtFzAC6QZ9uGD9svFuFKttQ86gAChnWVQr28niMhaSyY9b1ZC14fM46uhFAUhZSsAhQJjdE6jutrEZaeHZduFFn98x8KUFG.png

Life does not prepare you for the pains, you are left with accepting that Life has won you again. There are days I wished I could just see her for some time. Every 17th August was a day to reflect on the life she lived, the plans she had for me and the amount of love she wanted to give to me. I miss her so much but would also remember her forever.
REST ON MAMA

SourceAll Images are mine unless otherwise noted
DeviceSamsung Galaxy Tab A Camera
Sort:  

Nothing in life can prepare us for the loss of a parent. It will be always hurtful because we know just how much we will miss them as they are gone.
Your poem is really touching, and I am sure she will be smiling wherever she is. That is a good way to honor her memory.
May her gentle soul rest in peace.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much Bruno

 2 years ago  

I'm so sorry for your lose. I can only imagine how you have been holding up...

Congratulations @gone-hive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Today is the beginning of a new Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!