A Weekend I Should Spend Worthwhile

in Hive Learners11 months ago

July 29, 2023


"I live my life one weekend at a time. For those two days, nothing else matters, I AM FREE."

- Anonymous

IMG_20230728_170221.jpg


Time seems so slow when we want the week to end so fast. Just like other working fellas here, the weekend is my favorite day of the week that I always want to approach faster. Although rest days (that we consider as weekends) defers depending on the type of job we do, some have one weekend, while some have two. Some spend the literal weekend, while some spend holidays in between weekdays. But what matters is, once that weekend arrived, we all just want to be FREE from everything else - job, paperwork, alarms, and responsibilities.

In the past, I used to have two weekends per week that occurred from Sunday to Monday. Because we worked with clients from Western countries and adhered to a different time zone, our weekend schedule was not conventional. That was back in the day during my very first job in our province. In my second and third jobs, weekends weren't fixed, especially when I worked in a hospital as it depends on the schedule that was provided to us. My body needs time to adjust to the alterations because the holidays weren't fixed. And most of the time, my rest days were only spent sleeping.

I work six days a week here abroad, so I only have one normal holiday, which is every Sunday. However, during statutory holidays, of which we are fortunate to have 13 out of the total of 17 per year, we are free to do as we like, rest, travel, and enjoy ourselves. Our holidays are often extended, especially if holidays fall before or right after our usual holidays.

Since I typically have one weekend only, I would always spend it worthwhile. Some of the foreign workers here prefer to work overtime on the weekends, but for me, relaxation comes before extra money. Health, as the saying goes, is wealth. Working overtime will get me more money, not health, but rather exhaustion. And I hate starting the week with an exhausting body.

There are just two things I want to do when I have free time: either I would rest to recuperate and just binge eat and watch for the entire day, or I would travel somewhere else to see beautiful sights and rejuvenate my soul and body. But out of these two, traveling is undoubtedly my favorite, as you can tell from my blogs. And that is what makes my weekend enjoyable.

IMG_20230723_200331.jpg

I enjoy exploring new places and discovering their histories. I enjoy traveling because it allows me to see how other people live and experience a new culture. I enjoy visiting different places to taste local and new cuisine because I am a foodie myself. Above all, I enjoy traveling to discover how beautiful the world is, and how much we should cherish the lives that God has given us.

IMG_20230728_212352.jpg

Every weekend is an opportunity, I must say, that I shouldn't miss. The only day that I could enjoy and rest. So every time it is compromised, my day becomes dull and ruined.

I hate it when my holiday is compromised by work or by bad weather. There are cases in which I want to pursue my travel plans, and those are well-planned, including searching the ways to get to the place beforehand, tourist spots to explore, and good restaurants or cafes that I want to visit and try. However, something unfavorable would come up. For instance, my boss would ask me to move my holiday to another day as there are some errands I need to run. Each time it happens, my whole plans will be ruined, especially if it can not be moved to another day for some reason.

As I mentioned above, I prefer resting on my holiday to working. So I hate it when I am supposed to travel and enjoy, but I am obliged to work and do things I should not be doing. It makes me feel grumpy and stressed.

Weekend only comes once a week so why not spend worthwhile, right? We aren't robots, but humans, so I would always take some time to take a break and rest. And whether I spend one or two weekends, what matter is, I am free.


This is in submission to this week's Hive Learner's contest (#HL-W72E3) with the topic Weekend Vibes.

IMG_20230728_165630.jpg

You can check this link for more information and share your weekend vibes.

Thanks for stopping by and happy weekend.

(All photos are mine)

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20230205_232024_0000.png

Join her on her quest for self-discovery and wanderlust. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, drop a comment, reblog, and follow for more wonderful adventures.

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected:

Facebook
YouTube
Twitter
noise.app
read.cash

Sort:  

I live for the weekend! 😊 6 days is too much. I work 5 days a week and even that is too much for me.😊 Actually, if I were doing the job I love, maybe it wouldn't be too much for me. And I also like it the most when I travel on the weekend and feel the freedom... and forget about everything...

 11 months ago  

I've been working 6days a week even before in my second job. I guess many nowadays do the same, especially those in private companies..
It's really a freedom when we can travel somewhere far from our workplace hehe

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jelenaa and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/6 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

So I hate it when I am supposed to travel and enjoy, but I am obliged to work and do things I should not be doing. It makes me feel grumpy and stressed.

Same as me, that when I'm supposed to just lay on my bed and enjoy that free time, but then, theres an urgent something that I have to attend to. Nakakasama ng loob sa totoo lamg. Yong planado na hihilata lang all day, lol. Aigooo. But anyways, your free day is always worthwhile madam, nakakatuwa. Enjoy it to the fullest talaga dapat kasi no ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ

 11 months ago  

Nakakastress talaga kapag nasisira plano...
We deserve to unwind anyway..
Good vibes lang dapat on the weekend ☺️

!LADY

Yes naman, wala na din magagawa so let's still enjoy it uwu

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @ruffatotmeee and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/6 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 165 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Just like you I love weekends. I love foodies and traveling. But when I am really tired, I prefer staying at home and sleeping all day. Heheh. Great entry!

 11 months ago (edited) 

Same...our body needs enough sleep as well..
Thanks for stopping by !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @pinkchic and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/6 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

 11 months ago  

Yeah traveling to amazing places is so nice, especially to enjoy the beauty of nature. And also having a good rest so as to be able to carry out the task of the coming week.

 11 months ago  

Nature is always the best place to unwind after a long week ☺️

!PIZZA

 11 months ago (edited) 

Yeah well said. 👍
Thanks for the gift.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
intishar tipped jane1289
jane1289 tipped intishar
jane1289 tipped sholex94
@chichi18(5/5) tipped @jane1289

Well done @jane1289! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 9
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8

Since I typically have one weekend only, I would always spend it worthwhile.

Exactly. Having just a weekend should be spent worthwhile different from other days. We need more time to relax, spend with friends and families, explore and enjoy the best.

 11 months ago  

And since my family aren't here, I spend it worthwhile with me, myself, and I hehe
!ADU

Exactly. Keep enjoying more weekends, Jane 🤩😘

 11 months ago  

Some of the foreign workers here prefer to work overtime on the weekends, but for me, relaxation comes before extra money.

I also think you are right. We need to think about relaxation in the long time frame and I believe that it's beneficial for us. I think we should not rush for overtime if it's not necessary. Freedom and relaxation should be the top priority of us.
!PIZZA

 11 months ago  

Because we need them to balance our life's aspects..otherwise, all effort and money will be wasted..

!PIZZA

Timely article for me I usually work during the weekends but I have finally got ahead and will do something tomorrow. That will be some good old fishing. Will only be my fourth time this year. I don't know what happened but last year i went all the time. Not often I get a full day to myself.

 11 months ago  

Check the outdoors and more community..
You might want to drop your fishing photos there ☺️

Weekends are great but holidays are the best for me at least. Hehe!

!PIZZA

Well done @jane1289! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 9
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8
Well done @jane1289! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 9
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8