“A CULTURAL FESTIVAL”

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Several festivals are held in my country and are unique only to our people. To be honest, I'm not a fan of festivals and I can't tell you what I hate or love about it. But I will be sharing one which is celebrated by Igbos.

According to Igbo tradition, yams are among the first set of crops to be planted at the beginning of the planting season in between April and August. Yam festival is an annual culture festival by the Igbo people that is held at the end of the rainy season in early August. It is a celebration that explores the prominence (importance) of yam in the social-cultural life of the Igbo people.

Screenshot_2022-03-21-14-02-10~2.png

During the process,

... all old yams (from the previous crops) must be consumed or discarded on the Eve of the new yam festival. The festival normally includes a variety of entertainment like performances of rites by the Igwe(king) or the eldest man in the community, cultural dances by Igbo men, women, and their children, masquerade dances, fashion parades, etc. Then the next day only dishes of yam are served at the feast, as the festival is a symbol of the abundance of the produce, the festival can last for like a week or more in some communities...

Joy Anne Pura
image.png

Did you know

that Yam is a great source of fiber, minerals, and vitamins? Yam has a lot of wonderful benefits and when prepared well, it always hits the right spot. Yam can be eaten as a swallow with any soup of your choice. Have you tried preparing egg sauce and trying it out with boiled yam?

Or have you tried yam porridge?

….there are lots of wonderful dishes one can prepare using yam and it is always very satisfying.

Yeah, speaking of "satisfaction", having pounded yam with any soup of my choice is one type of food that is always satisfying, however, I've been wondering if I'm the only one who experiences this. After eating my pounded yam, a few minutes later, I become very hungry again like I hadn't had anything to eat all day.

Thinking about it now, I feel the reason could be because yam digests fast in the body.

still on the new yam festival

…which is the reason for this topic. Just like every other type of celebration, the traditional ruler of the land usually opens the ceremony with prayers of Thanksgiving to nature for providing them with good yams.

One of the reasons why this new yam festival is celebrated is to honor the earth goddess for a good harvest. Another thing this new yam festival signifies in the community is the beginning and end of a farming season and it is always seen as a great achievement in the community.

Screenshot_2022-03-21-14-02-14~2.png

What I hate and why.

As much as I haven't attended one before, from my findings, and in my perspective, I feel that this kind of festival isn't one a Christian(believer) should care to attend because of the fetish things that are done. Some rituals are done that are known as the tradition of the land. We all know that these are things our forefathers have been doing before Christianity and the knowledge about the death of Jesus Christ and the redemption of man was shared with us.

What I love about the festival.
I love this festival because of the joy of achievement that comes with it. No farmer would be happy to plant crops and have nothing to show it.

I also love this festival because it creates a bond between the people of the community.

That's all I can share with you all on this topic, thanks for taking the time to read.
All images which aren't sourced are screenshots from a video.

Also published here

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yam festivals are very big over here in the nation
Very amazing festival
It has an important benefit too

 2 years ago  

Such a beautiful cultural festival, we also celebrate yam festival in Yoruba land and it's always a beautiful atmosphere during such occasions.

Thanks for sharing yours with us.

Yam festival is really amazing festival and your way of expressing this festival is also so awesome. Thanks for sharing this festival with your own beautiful photos. Stay Blessed.

 2 years ago  

The carriers of the yam are really new 😁😁, and about Christianity, it's not really ideal for one to partake of it
But nothing is wrong in eating from the food they prepare... But for others not to fall as a result of weak faith and understanding... Don't just partake

Your content is awesome

 2 years ago  

Very well.. I even think almost every tribe celebrates the yam festival. But I can't imagine eating yam for a whole week. @jessicaossom Can you??

 2 years ago  

Pounded yam with better soup, I don't mind😋

 2 years ago  

Oh i didnt think it to that point. Well pounded yam is my first love. But, for ondo state where I come from, we taje it with egusi and bitter leaf soup..😘😌

 2 years ago  

very grand festival, with a variety of interesting activities. i really like it.

 2 years ago  

festivals of yam are always interesting but the diabolical aspect of it should be removed

 2 years ago  

Wow, what a unique tradition you share, friend, I focus on mothers who bring sweet potatoes in uniform clothes

 2 years ago  

Ah! I see😃

Congratulations @jessicaossom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago (edited) 

Please don't share same content at a time in any other platform. If the content is first published on hive, then at least share that content after the payout window is closed.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Okay, this is noted. However, I published the post first on my read.cash account before publishing here on hive. I didn't think that there would be an issue with it since I am the author.

I saw that. But still it's recommended to share contents in other platform after the payout window ends.

 2 years ago  

Okay, does this applies to every other community on hive or just on hive learners community?

This is mainly recommended for Hive Learners community.

In general, it's okay to share same content in other platforms as you are original author. But you will have to mention that content's link while publishing on Hive (Like you did in this post)

 2 years ago  

Alright, i understand it now.
Thanks for the clarification.

I sincerely do not like yam that much 🤦. I see people buy them in bulk, I grow fearful whenever I see them do it. Because I know I am not a fan, and if it ends up in my house, it will go bad... Lol.

So, basically, I buy one yam for every single time, I feel like having one.... Never bought in bulks.

Even pounded yam sef, I am not a fan oooo, to think, I am not a fan of white soup too.... I guess it's because yam is used for the preparation.

This was a beautiful description of the Igbos yam festival, Jessica. Thanks for sharing.

Wait, as much as I am a Christian, I would attend a yam festival so I can have original pictures to share on Hive... Hehehe

 2 years ago  

Yam is nice.
I should prepare it with egg sauce soon.

Wait, as much as I am a Christian, I would attend a yam festival so I can have original pictures to share on Hive... Hehehe

thinking about it, I would like to do the same for the same purpose. It won't affect one's belief.

Well, I had fried yam in the morning. I am thinking of making porridge yam with the rest. When you prepare yours, I'll like to share in the sauce 😁

 2 years ago  

Hahaha no problem.
What did you eat with the fried yam?

Cold drink 🥺

 2 years ago  

Nice

 2 years ago  

all old yams (from the previous crops) must be consumed or discarded on the Eve of the new yam festival.

I had no idea, wow, so that means it's bad luck if the old yams remain,but what if they're too much to consume. Do they burn them??

Yam is actually one of the most cherished crops from what I can see in the igbo land, a lot of other tribes too also celebrate this wonderful crop . It is worth celebrating because it's added a lot of things to our lives like you've clearly mentioned.

It seems like a beautiful festival, one with a lot of thrills..

Quite amazing content ❤️