Circle Of Life: The Power Of Children Caring For Their Parents

in Hive Learners16 days ago

Individuals have specific roles to play on earth. Whether you are a child, a parent, or just in between, we all have responsibilities in this journey called life. Society can influence how we see things, and while there are some expectations that seem absurd and inappropriate, there are a few that make sense. And one of these appropriate expectations is that it is the responsibility of a child to take care of their parents when they are old, regardless of their financial capacity. I am not of a different school of thought, and I support this principle with every fiber of my being. It is important to honor and care for our parents.

Life is an interesting race. It is a zig-zag journey filled with thorns, fire, water and a mixture of all elements, maybe? The truth is that life can sometimes be difficult. To make things easier for us, we need certain people in our lives. In my opinion, the most important people we need in our lives are our parents. Imagine life without parents? It is hard to even fathom. Our parents play a crucial role in our lives. Without them, life would be uninteresting. Who would be there to witness our first steps and cheer us on? Who would guide us, correct our mistakes, and teach us the right path? Parents are the best definition of “not all superheroes wear capes.” They shower us with love, guidance, and support.

IS IT WRONG FOR YOUNG PEOPLE TO BE SADDLED WITH THE RESPONSIBILITIES OF TAKING CARE OF THEIR PARENTS WHEN THEY ARE OLD?

As I mentioned above, life without parents would be a different ball game. The fact that they brought us to this world, means they are naturally responsible for us. Naturally, they are wired to shower us with support, love, and care. My parents, or at least my parents, took full responsibility for me the moment I stepped into this world and breathed my first air. They watched me as I took my first steps. They understood the fact that the importance of education in the life of a child cannot be overlooked, so they made sure they sent me to a very good school, solidifying my primary and secondary education. My parents never failed to correct me whenever I made mistakes. As a child, I thought their ways were brutal. I thought they were cruel. But now that I have grown to understand that everything they did was out of love and care.

My parents have always been there for me, especially during crucial moments. I remember when I got accepted into university. It was a tough time for my family financially, as my sister also got into a private university. We had a lot of bills to take care of and things were not going smoothly. We didn't have anyone else to rely on. My parents had to sell our only car just to cover our expenses. I'll never forget what they did that day. They made a huge sacrifice for us.

Parents do so much for us when we are young, so it is only fair that we treat them right when they grow older. It is a must that they (the children) are saddled with the responsibilities of taking care of them when they are old. If we don’t do it, who would? I suppose we don’t expect to dump them when their bones are fragile and their eyesight starts to fade. They spent their lives fighting for our survival and the least we can do is to repay them for their good deeds.

Thanks for reading.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 15 days ago  

I also agree with you they have sacrificed everything for us we should be grateful and try to be responsible.

 13 days ago  

Hello there, friend. I'm glad you agree with me. Thanks for stopping by.


I am not one to establish, or take for granted, that the responsibility of caring for elderly parents (who cannot take care of themselves) should fall strictly on their young children. There are many factors that a child will have to face in this not easy task. Factors ranging from the deeply emotional to the inevitable economic factors. And even more so if the elderly person in question does not have other close adult relatives who represent something unexpected or fortuitous for the child.

In any case, I believe that all children, regardless of age, have the sacred duty to always take care of their parents. It is no coincidence that it is written "honor your father and mother" as a biblical maintenance.

Honor, beyond its religious value, represents a moral obligation and even common sense.

However, realities have many nuances that always contrast with the ideal.

Thank you very much dear @justfavour for sharing your interesting reflections.

I send you a cordial and affectionate greeting!


FENIX.png


 13 days ago  

Hello there, friend. I'm glad that I didn't miss this beautiful comment. First off, I apologize for the late reply, I had a lot on my hands.

I agree with one thing that you mentioned. I’m a religious person and I understand the importance of “honoring our parents.”It is a scared rule. I also believe that this goes beyond the confines of religion, it also has to do with “normal values” and common sense.