A CULTURAL FESTIVAL - Synonymous to my people

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Some things are neglected because of civilization and diverse beliefs today....
Good day awesome Family
I bring you another sweet and wonderful opportunity to be a part of my thought and experience on this very topic A CULTURAL FESTIVAL

I'm from Nigeria where we have allot of these cultural practices and festivals ... But I'll tell you about the one that holds in my community.
I'm from Delta igbo (Kwale) in my place they are some feasts done and women will be restricting night movement and some others women are not even expected to partake... But there's a feast for everyone

pexels-photo-1485628.jpeg

Image source

This feast is called UKPALA BOR I spelt it in a way you can pronounce it like it actually sounds, as at when I was still a little boy (Very little) in the village I experienced this feast but without much understanding about it until some later times

The festival is always Celebrated with a masquerade that's the name of the (UKPALA - BOR). This very masquerade looks more like the head of something, long as well, I remember Vividly well then that who ever carries it normally waves and unstable... The waving is not as a result of the weight of the masquerade but as a result of the forces behind it (evil forces )😲

pexels-photo-8172251.jpeg

Image source

It's in a way kind of a scary feast because these people serving it goes to somewhere that looks like a bury - ground where some kind of Incantations will be done and the carrier of the masquerade will be fortified. It's usually not an easy journey for him

pexels-photo-3632665.jpeg

Image source

What I really liked about the feast is that it brings unity to the community - As UKPALA BOR is a very peaceful and just masquerade, honestly speaking you can't harm someone and go freely. And you don't dare lie standing in front of it
The feast comes with lot's of merriment and joy, allot of dancing competition, talent show-casing, Vudu-power display, and so much more

pexels-photo-784707.jpeg

Image source

Back then When this feast is being Celebrated, we normally have a full house (LOTS OF PEOPLE COMING FROM FAR AND NEAR) To have the fun and treat. People travel from parts of the country to attend it

But after I left the village, life took another turn one became serious with allot of things and we started seeing another light and view of this very practice (LIKE IT'S FETISH) honestly I haven't been there for that very feast for years now. But It's a feast you'll want to have an experience of...

Till date we still have that feast being done and we will always have someone who will carry it, I wonder where the carriers are emerging from

pexels-photo-2338734.jpeg

Image source

This is the little I have to tell you about MY CULTURAL FESTIVAL
And I do hope you enjoyed it
Let's get your view and believe about festivals, especially now most of us are Christians
What do you think, is it okay to be celebrated by Christians ?

Thanks for coming thus far
Till next content, please stay safe
@khingstan Always Cares 🤴✌️

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

every festival has a long history, i like the way you describe it.

 2 years ago  

Thanks allot, and also for coming around
I'm glad you enjoyed the narration 😇😇

 2 years ago  

You'r welcome my friend

 2 years ago  
It's in a way kind of a scary feast

Some of the images here is really scary oo and some process explained in this festival is scary too😀

Thanks for sharing oo
I have visited lots of culture here and I am glad to be learning new culture from diverse world.

 2 years ago  

You'll learn even more very soon
Some of all these masquerades are not allowed to be snapped else you would have seen some more scarier ones 😁😁

Thanks for coming around 😇😇

 2 years ago  

Are you for real, more scary ones more than this will be more horrible 😀

 2 years ago  

Can you please share me the code you use in alinging the test into a box.

 2 years ago  

@vickoly , what I did was that I copied the text from the writer's content and pasted it on the comment section, I den placed my cusor at the beginning of the sentence and shifted it, as you are shifting it in terms of forward spacing just be checking the outcome down until you get this smaller size of the text in a box automatically.

I hope this helps.

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much, I really appreciate your time and thorough explanation, I'll try in out soon.

 2 years ago  

Aiit, let me know if you find it difficult while trying it out

 2 years ago  

And remember my commission when it works... Thanks 😁

 2 years ago  

Smile ☺️ I'll.

 2 years ago  

Nice cultural festival, but for me I will say most cultural festival are not to be celebrated by christians.

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the compliment
Yeah that's true because allot are pagan festivals and so many atrocities are committed
But we have the right as Christians to eat their food remember 😁😁
But don't tell anyone I told you to eat oo 🏃

Thanks for coming around 😇😇

 2 years ago  

Hahaha 😂😂, I will tell oo😜

 2 years ago  

Thank God is nor my handwriting 🏃🏃😁

 2 years ago  

Hehehe 😅😅, I recognize your voice 😜😜

 2 years ago  

When I started reading this post, I was already getting scared, especially when you said they have to go to burial ground to fortify the masquerades by saying some incantations 😱😱😱

Anyways, I enjoyed reading your article and you have an interesting cultural festival.

Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

Yessoo exactly how it's done
I even have to limit some of the scenerio explanation else, else hmm
Lemme nor scare you the more

But thanks for coming around 😇😇

 2 years ago  

Thank God you didn't go further, I don't want to have nightmares 🤣🤣

You're welcome dear

 2 years ago  

😁😁 I for run leave you for the junction

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

Firstly I scared about the history of this festival 🎎
Well explained details 🤗
Thanks for sharing such a colourful post 📯

 2 years ago  

It's really scarier than I even sounded
Didn't mention the parts where sacrifices will have to be made... But it's always enjoyable

Thanks for the compliment and also for coming around... Hope to see more of you 😇😇

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

 2 years ago  

Thanks allot, I appreciate 😇😇

 2 years ago  

Wow, it really sounds very scary.

Festivities are one of the biggest part of our cultures, even as civilization has taken place some parts of Nigeria still practice these things.

I'm glad I was able to learn something about your festival today 🙏

 2 years ago  

For sure it can't go away
These feasts carries Allot of vibes and joy as at when celebrated
But mostly looking scary

Thanks for coming around
And I hope to learn from yours as well

Congratulations @khingstan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
 2 years ago  

You've got a nice description here.
I've just always wondered how masquerades survive heat in that their heavy attires

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the compliment
But my man you have to see how some of these guys are sweating oo... E nor easy for anywhere oo

In this part of warri where I am allot of festivals are being held and parading of masquerades too... Truly awesome to see

 2 years ago  

Beautiful and very colorful... I normally enjoy festival where masquerade from different tribes and regions perform and display their skills and abilities to entertain the viewers

 2 years ago  

It's really interesting
I still have them in this my region where I base in warri

They did some last week
But they flog people for night Sha

 2 years ago  

That is why I don't like going near to them, dey no dey look face... Any small thing they don wipe you 🤣🤣🤣

Sorry for the pidgin, I just wanna vibe along 🤭😅

 2 years ago  

Is that Pigin vibe I really want
Omor Dem peel people back that day 😂😂... Only legal advantage to flog big man and go freely... Area dey abuse steady

 2 years ago  

Wow this is intressting

 2 years ago  

Yeah thanks 😇😇

 2 years ago  

Festival always bring us together and appreaciate the heritage of our hometown

 2 years ago  

For sure.. but some do more harm than good ... Especially to strangers

Thanks for coming around 😇😇

 2 years ago  

Hmm that's true though, in fact I was lucky to escape from one of such act years ago.

 2 years ago  

Nigerians have a lot of cultural festival, really I am not a fan if them especially the masquerades

 2 years ago  

Smiles, not everyone will like them though
But did you have a negative encounter with any or what really made you not a fan of them ?

 2 years ago  

I just don like any of that gathering

 2 years ago  

Oh okay, I get you now 😁✌️

 2 years ago  

Yeah

I enjoy things like these, provided they are done in a safe way and everyone gets to have a lot of fun then I am good.
I do not see them as fetishes though, I just see them as traditions that have to be upheld.
Thank you for sharing with us.

 2 years ago  

Yeah sure it's mostly done in safe ways
But some do take it to be flogging competition oo ... But anything tradition is actually FETISH though

Thanks for coming around 😇 😇

 2 years ago  

I feel like seeing this festival in person, it looks so beautiful and full of fun

 2 years ago  

It sure is really fun
And I bet you'll enjoy every bit of it

Thanks for coming around 😇😇

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Yeah sure every festival is fetish just that some parts of the celebration are not displayed for people to see ...
And Thanks for coming around 😇😇