LEARN TO LEARN TO IMPROVE (THE HIVE PLATFORM)

in Hive Learnerslast year

“Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.”

______ Benjamin Franklin_____

stylish-businesswoman-works-laptop-computer-cozy-coffee-shop-keyboards-information.jpg
Source


I figured it is in a way hard to finish reading some post here on hive because the contents are really poor, even for those here on the hive learners community and it's really sad. Although it doesn't affect me in anyway but when I see poor contents continuously from a certain fellow I see desperation and lack of understanding, compelling me to always ignore their post knowing I might be wasting my time doing so, and I know that's how so many readers see these posts. At the end of the day most of these persons would start looking for dubious means to make money on hive simply because they couldn't bring themselves to learn.

When I started out newly on hive some months back I wasn't doing well, at a point I became concerned and truthfully it was about the money I saw others where making. So I thought, if these people can make this much money I too can.

HERE IS WHAT I DID

  • I started looking at the kind of post others where making in different communities and the more I looked into these post the more I saw the things that where lacking in my post which was QUALITY.

  • Then I took 3 months off hive to learn content writing. I went as far as paying for online courses on content / story writing.

  • I came back 3 months later and started writing quality contents.


I wouldn't say I'm perfect in writing quality contents, but I'm sure I am better than the dumb ass writer I use to be.

Also I'm not yet close to saying I got hive all figured out because honestly speaking I'm still trying to find my feet in certain areas, but I am also concerned with the low quality contents I see here when I try to engage with content creators and from my little experience so far, I would like to say a thing or two to those who aren't making anything off hive yet.


Disclaimer: This is not because I have made $1,000 from hive. But rather it's what I have been trying and so far I have seen the tremendous growth and improvement. I have also watched others closely and notice most of the trends I will be talking about below.

symbols-come-out-bulb-top-book.jpg
Source


If you have been on hive for awhile and you aren't seeing any positive outcome, or you are still a newbie trying to figure it all out you can try out these few strategies

1. LEARN TO POST QUALITY CONTENTS

You can check out the post made by @samostically on creating quality contents here. Futher more, you can also try imitate a particular style of writing from great content creators like @erikah and @galenkp. See the kind of contents they make, notice the progressiveness in their writings but avoid plagiarism so you do not get penalized.

2. LEARN TO CREATE ENGAGEMENT.
Many newbies lack this, I did too when I started but then I noticed the more consistent my engagement was, the faster I grew which also gave me some monetary compensation 😊. Get engaged in conversations, this will require you to spend more time on hive (spend as much time as you possibly can). Let it be that when you are less busy you can easily get into hive and engage in conversations, comment, upvote. This will make people notice you as quickly as possible.

5437683.jpg
Source


  • Another part of engagement is participating in contest. So many communities on hive usually have contest for community members, join anyone you are comfortable with, even if you don't win, the more consistent you are, the more you find your self growing rapidly. It will also help boost your reputation on hive faster. You can check how to boost your reputation on hive from @erikah post here.
  • Before I forget you've got to join discord groups: you might not understand everything going on in the community at first, just stay and notice, as a popular saying goes "the law of reputation is for deep and lasting impression." The more you commit yourself to these things, the more you see great results.

3. FORGET ABOUT THE MONEY, TAKE HIVE AS YOUR OWN SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORM.

Yes hive is a social media platform, but how you see it psychologically has a great role to play in how you use the platform, like @erikah said in a post, hive is meant to be used, not to be abused. And that is the case here, don't see hive as a place where you just come to make money, see it as your social media platform where you have the chance to express your self in a more healthy way even though you get compensated for doing so.

4. STRIVE TO LEARN NEW THINGS.

Sometime ago a newbie was referred to me so I could teach him how to write his first post on hive, I helped him with the introduction which went well until he hurriedly posted it wrongly. Again I helped him with the second post which I told him he would do it himself but I gave him all the guidelines. It was stressful for me to do but I wanted to help him still and it took three days before we could successfully write a great quality content. There where a lot of things wrong with his tenses and he could hardly write up to 150 words but still we pulled through, and he was able to write more than 400 words of quality contents, only to see he was writing other contents which seemed more faster than the one we were preparing together and at the end he never posted it and never came back to ask for help because probably he taught I was giving him a hard time. But what he never knew was there are no shortcuts here and if you are not good at writing you've got to learn how to be good at it by all means necessary. Learning is never convenient for anyone, but the rewards are always admired by everyone.

I will stop here for now, and like I said earlier I don't have everything figured out yet, as a matter of fact, I'm still yet to learn alot most especially concerning the do's and don'ts I have been down voted before because I wasn't familiar with tagging and I'm also hoping I haven't made any error in trying to explain these things to the best of my knowledge and lastly I sincerely hope this post helps someone find their feet on the hive platform.

Thanks for visiting my blog 😊

Sort:  

Congratulations @kilvnrex! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.
You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.
You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.
You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.
You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!