My greatest pride by leonelb

in Hive Learners2 years ago

image.png

Cover - Original image edited with Microsoft Power Point.


Good morning friends, this is my participation for week 15, I hope you like it.

Start!


My beginnings

Since I was young I started to be interested in reading and writing, but I had my beginnings and some long pauses before I really took that path. Let's start from the beginning, when I was in elementary school, I remember that I wrote some stories as homework assigned by the teacher.

My first story was about an abandoned dog that lived in a house where time did not pass. A few years later, I participated in a contest organized by the school and won first place. I was curious about writing and creating a story, but it had not awakened in me the love and happiness that I feel today when writing a poem or reading a book.

image.png

1st place in the story contest in primary, around 2006 - Original image taken with the Honor 7s cell phone.

Cultivating reading and writing

When I entered high school, one day I was alone at recess and I had a phone with a special function to write a diary. I didn't know what I could write there, but it occurred to me that it would be interesting to write again. Until some of my classmates made fun of it and that discouraged me.

At that time, around third year of high school, the guidance teacher said we should read "The knight in rusty armor" and "Who took my cheese", these two books assigned to carry out a later evaluation awakened "the thirst for reading more", I wanted to read other authors and unknown stories and discover new worlds.

So I did, subsequently reading the series of books whose protagonist is Robert Langdong, by the author "Dan Brown", books such as "Inferno" or the "Davinci Code", I liked long books like those, about 600 pages preferably. I did not want the story to end so fast! I read also, "The Owl That Couldn't Hoot", "The Shadow of the Wind", "The Years of Pilgrimage of the Colorless Boy", the latter belongs to Murakami and nowadays I have read almost all of his books.

When I found out that there were book sales at the university I went crazy, the books were super cheap and although they were not so well known authors, it was like an over dose of caffeine. I fell in love with books, reading and writing.

One day, sitting near the university dining hall, I looked at my classmates and asked them for words to write something, I didn't even know what it would be and then this would become a habit. Asking for 10 words to write an attempt at a free verse poem that had no rhyme or meter, but was made from the heart and some hunger in this particular case, at that time it was almost lunch time.

It was something magical for me, I didn't know what the heck I had written, but I did something and I liked it. Sometimes, I would get distracted and put writing aside to give more space to my studies and homework at home, other times, I would ask for words and put a puzzle together with them. Much later, I would recognize that I had wasted valuable childhood time on non-productive activities like video games and online gaming.

image.png

Writing book, here are some of the first texts I wrote at university - Original image taken with the Honor 7s cell phone.

Moving forward

Yes, I had fun with games, but nothing compares to writing. So I decided to take it a step further and challenge myself. I wrote a poem in order to participate in a contest held in my country, I'm talking about the contest to pay tribute to the poet "Rafael Cadenas". In the year 2020 between March and May, I sent my participation and once the contest was over and the results came out, I received an "acknowledgment of receipt" in which it states my participation in the 5th edition of that national poetry contest.

And as you may have noticed, I did not win. In fact, I was not even in the top 30 participants who received a space in the anthology corresponding to that contest. That discouraged me a bit and I knew it wasn't easy at all. Despite all that, my love for reading and writing is still intact, I plan to continue reading and writing until the day I die, unless God wills otherwise.

image.png

Acknowledgement of receipt - Screenshot.

I am currently participating again in this contest and I am waiting for the results to come out in the first week of July. This year I have set myself several goals in order to improve some aspects of my life, especially with regard to organization and the achievement of short, medium and long term goals.

Conclusion

So, dear friends, my greatest pride is to have discovered the world of reading and writing. Anyone could think that this is something irrelevant, but in my case, it has changed my life and many times, it has been the refuge to which I turn to when no one next to me knows why the surface of the water is as cold as a tempane.


Thank you so much for taking the time to read.

I hope you liked it.

This post has been translated using the "deepl" translator, please if you see any errors, let me know in the comments to correct it as soon as possible.


Sort:  

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God. Keep doing the great job ❤️

We can also check out our latest video on our official Youtube Channel

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much for the support!

Blessings to you.

Wow... you are a really strong person and you do not let obstacles weigh you down. This is a great mindset for someone who is out to achieve a lot. You are doing so great and I am sure that with this persistence, you will continue to work wonders.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much for the support! It has been a pleasure to share this with you, it was useful for me to take a tour of my past and present, observing my trajectory so far. I will continue to work and prepare myself to move forward and overcome every obstacle.

Blessings to you.

Congratulations @leonelb! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Thank you very much for the support! I will continue to work to improve myself.

Blessings to you.

You're welcome @leonelb! Have a nice day 😊👍

 2 years ago  

I enjoyed reading this post as you talked about your achievement which happened through reading and writing. There is no doubt that both does wonders and can help one learn faster. I hope you win in your contest.

 2 years ago  

Yes, thank you very much for the good wishes. I can't wait to know the results, they will come in July.

 2 years ago  

getting good achievements is certainly very fun and always inspired to do the best.

 2 years ago  

Inspiration is wonderful, but you have to keep working always.

 2 years ago  

best of luck in your writing career, one thing about human is we get better in things the more we give it a try, as long as you do not give up, you will get to the stage you desire.....

 2 years ago  

Yes! I will do my best to get to that place that I long for so much through writing =)