Raising Free Spirits: When Kids Change Their Stripes

in Hive Learners16 days ago (edited)

I think most parents, especially moms feel a bit sad when they’re kids grow. I once heard one lady telling my mom that she felt lonely when her kids started growing and so she got pregnant with her baby at that time so she won’t feel lonely. I totally get her in some way even though I don’t have kids of my own.

Having kids has to be the most difficult part of life if you ask me. You’d always have to be responsible for them from a younger age up until they are matured enough to be on their own and even then, they would still need you. Mostly in Africa, we hear about how parents force their kids to do this and that and when their kids refuse it becomes a whole different thing all together.

I once watched a video about how one revert got disowned and abused by her whole family because she converted to another religion. Just because you are born into something doesn’t mean that you have to go along with it for the rest of your life. At some point, people are allowed to make their own choices in life because we know they’re not stupid to go into something that will harm them.

I don’t think I’d ever impose anything on my kids when it comes to their life choices because I have seen most people do that and it didn’t end well. If you ask me, majority of people are living their lives in the shadow of their parents and they realize that rather too late. Imagine doing everything you’re doing because your mom or dad said you should do it. Even if you don’t want it, you do it to make them happy. Let’s not kid ourselves.

At the end of it all, most people end up blaming their parents for playing a huge part in them wasting their lives away and some even tend to hate their parents. Some parents on the other hand do not even realize their actions are wrong until it’s too late. You can’t really blame them because they also grew up in the cycle. But, someone needs to eventually break the cycle.

Speaking of values, there’s a particular way everyone would what to raise their child. We all have values we uphold and we train our kids to do same. Imagine my child growing up and deciding to change his gender. That’s totally against my values and the values I instilled in him and there’s no way I would agree to that. The best I can do is give my advice. People would do what whatever they want to do either way, but I expect my child to take my advice.

There’s actually a huge difference between imposing something on your child and your child going against your moral values. Once we learn to accept that, I think everything will fall into its right place.

I hope you enjoyed reading this, thank you for your time.


all images belong to me.


Sort:  

If we impose on them what to, ate we the one to do it for them?
They only need our love, support and piece of advise in choosing right.

 16 days ago  

Some kids won’t even ask you. They would just go ahead and do whatever they want to do.😂

Exactly

 16 days ago  

Honestly having kids is so tough especially when they adults, and the get to make decisions, that is the time the parents are scared because they do not know if they will make the right decisions or not.

 15 days ago  

That’s very true. You just need to pray for them at that point.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

 16 days ago  

Nowadays, kids don’t listen that well to their parents but it also depends on parenting. How well they can handle!

 15 days ago  

Some parents just give up on the first try which is now how parenting should. You shouldn’t give up on your kids.

 16 days ago  

I'm just glad that my parents gave me the freedom to choose whatever path in life I want while letting me know that I'm responsible for any outcome of a path I choose and I plan on extending this same treatment to my future kids. I see many people who are living in the shadows of their parents, always doing things their parents want and the so-called parents using their kids to live the life they wanted but never got

 15 days ago  

It’s really a shame but such is life. Now everyone is meant to get what they want.

 13 days ago  

But to think that I would sacrifice so much to raise you only for you to hurt me so much with your decisions is crazy. My mom is currently going through something like that and it’s so draining even for me.
But at the end of the day, it’s their life and they have to live it on their own terms

 13 days ago  

That’s why I say we shouldn’t expect anything from anyone. Because when they finally decide to not do stuff for you, it would hurt you because you expected so much from them.