Silence No More: How I Found My Voice in Public Speaking

in Hive Learners16 days ago (edited)

I sometimes sit and wonder how I went from singing, dancing and taking part in all on-stage related activities as a kid to hiding in the back seat when people are needed to represent a group or the school as a teenager.

Back in primary school, I would always make sure to be actively engaged in anything that has to do with a graduation or carols night event because I wanted to hop on that stage and do my thing. And oh,I loved the feeling of my parents and family coming to spread money on me on stage.😅

Then, fast forward to senior high school. I didn’t want to join the debate team or any club related to public speaking even though I knew I would be a perfect fit for the team. I wouldn’t even sit in the front row in class. You’d either find me hiding somewhere in the middle or in the back seat. Also, I would always someway somehow manage to fall sick on days we had to do a presentation so that I wouldn’t stand before others to speak.

From what I know, the fear of speaking in public is called glossophobia but I didn’t think that was my problem. I knew I was good at public speaking but how did I just start to shy away from it all of a sudden. Looking back, I’d like to believe it was because I lost a bit of self confidence and I allowed others to intimidate me. This made me always want to hide myself because I felt I wouldn’t be able to meet the requirements but it was all in my head.

In the university, I once got selected to do a presentation for a team and I straight out told the team leader I couldn’t do it. For a talkative like me, everyone was surprised to hear that from me. The team leader also told me that he wouldn’t let me sit and not do it because he knows I can do it and do it well.

The next day, I didn’t show up for our meeting. Guys, this team leader of ours came to my hostel to knock on my door. 😂 I wasn’t expecting him so when I just opened the door all I could say was ‘ Awanah, I can’t do it’. He laughed and told me to get ready cos he came to pick me up since I decided not to show up.

That day was my turning point. Within a twinkle of an eye, I got back to normal. Learning scripts and presenting like I wasn’t the same person who said I couldn’t do it. I look back and think about what would be of me if this young man who was our team leader didn’t believe in me and push me out of my shell. I also had supportive team members who were always ready to help you reach your target.

They’d make time to help me memorise my script, fix my standing position and even my general body movement. I don’t mean to brag, but my voice was already fire. I still needed to work on a lot of other stuff also. Soon enough, I wouldn’t say I became perfect,but I felt more like myself and started to talk in public freely.

With time , I found myself on big stages before big people and I made sure to leave my mark. Sometimes I get nervous and that’s fine, but that doesn’t stop me from delivering. No one is going to beat me for doing my thing, they are just as human as I am and I didn’t need any reason to feel less of myself. I am who I am and no one can take that from me.

Sometimes all we need is to have supportive people around us to bring us out of our shell and I was lucky to have that. Now, I also make sure to give back to others in any way that I can just like others did for me because we rise by lifting others.


all images belong to me.


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 16 days ago  

You should have locked your door and make sure you didn't respond to anyone until the presentation is over for that day because that is what I would have done. 😂😂

 16 days ago  

😂😂they will knock on your door till your ears hurt.

 12 days ago  

😅😅

 16 days ago  

So you were hiding all that abilities just for fear's sake, I think this attitude is common among young adults since most of us suddenly become introverted as we attain a certain age, but guess what? A star can't hide for long.
Shine on!

 16 days ago  

That’s right.😅 I’m shining as ever now.

God bless Awanah for that
If I knew he was the reason you went for that meeting, I would have voted for him as president 😂

Anyway, me de3 it’s your shoe for me in the first picture 😂

 16 days ago  

Look at you.😂😂😂

That was my salah shoe. Don’t joke kraa😂😂

🤣🤣🤣

 16 days ago (edited) 

I have this same fear while I was in my semi-final class in college. I was to represent my school in a poem recitation competition. It ought to be my first my first experience is such a.huge stage,I couldn't sleep throughout the night.

Luckily, I found confidence when I entered the stage and my schoolmates gave me a standing ovation.

I have since become a public speaker.

 16 days ago  

I’m happy you didn’t cry on stage. It would have been a disaster.😂😂

 16 days ago  

Ahahhaah.. Cry on stage? That would have messed up a lot of things. That opportunity was once in a lifetime kinda thing, I utilized it so well.

 15 days ago  

That’s good to hear. We show up and deliver when we have to.

Congratulations @nhaji01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 5000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 16 days ago  

I've almost the same fear too, no wonder we are husband and wife 😂. This is actually funny I must say. It's good to know you were able to overcome it.

 16 days ago  

Who’s husband and wife? Please be in your lane😂

Looking at your kind of job, there’s no way you can afford to have a fear in public speaking.

 16 days ago  

Are you trying to deny me now? Well I used to have the fear not anymore though.

 15 days ago  

I already denied you.😂😂

It’s good it’s not there anymore

You even did well by coming out.

If it was me, I wouldn't come out and you wouldn't see me until the program was over

Thank God ifs all over now

 15 days ago  

Haha, they will follow you till they kingdom come

😂😂😂

 16 days ago  

Hahaha aunty Nhaji01 can't find her house and had to shy away from showing up to a presentation she ought to anchor, well I can relate to your experience and had been there on several occasions, it's never really easy but I'm glad you were able to overcome via your team lead present and encouragement.

 15 days ago  

It wasn’t easy but but I eventually had to do it.

 16 days ago  

Me and public speaking are parallel lines. I hate it so much when I have no other option than to do it. And what annoys me most, I think I’m talking normal meanwhile my voice is breaking

 15 days ago  

😂😂😂it’s funny when you watch your speak after giving one. You’ll now be like what is this ?

 16 days ago  

😂😂 at this point, Awanah made you like Roxie. You became the girl with the big voice 😂😂.

I actually cannot believe you refused to do at first cos you are an excellent speaker and not the quiet shy type. You didn't join the debate team cos you decided to be in your stubborn girl era. 😂

 15 days ago  

You can imagine.😂😂

Please I’m a shy and quiet girl. You just don’t know .

 15 days ago  

Hehehe
Your voice is fire and I know that
But I love the first image used. It shows how resilient you have been since when you where a kid and you wanted to kill that fire😤😤😤🌚🌚

Thank God things didn’t turn out the way you want, now you’re a voice for hive in Ghana. Keep up the good work, I sure can learn one or two from you

 15 days ago  

😂😂 I see you’re trying to laugh at my shoe.

Amen ooo, I receive it all.

 15 days ago  

🤭🤭🤭