The Sandwich Generation: Are We Squeezing Our Children?

in Hive Learners14 days ago

As they say, you can’t give what you don’t have. But if you can’t give what you don’t have , how is that majority of the youth in Africa is burdened so much with black taxes. Imagine struggling to find your feet with the current situation in the country and all the money you make from the little you do goes to some family member who hasn’t even given you a bar of chocolate before.

I was born in my grandparents house but with time, we moved into our own house and I was still I kid then. From the time I was born up till now, I have never heard or seen my parents ask for help from anyone else and no one bothers to help us. Even when things are hard, we still stick to ourselves and find a way out. I’d like to believe that this is because everyone else in my family thinks we are rich and so we are supposed to be helping them rather.

When I started senior high school, I visited our family house and one of my uncles promised me money. Guys, I’m done with university and even working now and that money hasn’t landed yet. I bet we’ve all come across those memes talking about those uncles that promised you something since you were a baby and they haven’t done anything about till date. It’s actually really true and it’s happening.

Everything I have had in my life and what I am today is all thanks to my parents and siblings. Currently, my grandparents are old and they need someone to take care of them. If they hadn’t invested in their children, there would be literally no one to take good care of them but they invested everything they had in their kids and now everyone wants to bring them to their house to take care of them. Wherever they are sent, there’s always a full house every blessed day because all their kids would pay them a visit to check on them and to help with one or two things. What more could they have asked for.

I’ve grown to learn that life is a give and take situation and everyone would need someone’s help one day. Just as our mothers and fathers took care of us when we were babies, we would also have to take care of them at their old age. Imagine investing so much in your children so they can become great people in future and when they finally make it in life you’re old then. But then, with all their money, your kids can’t even take good care of you at your old age. Unless you have done something so bad to them to warrant this treatment I’d say your kids are very ungrateful and even if you did something to them, there’s something we call forgiveness. If you can’t forgive your own parents at their old age then where is your humanity.

Currently, I make sure to at least give my family a little something from what I’m making. I know it’s not much but it’s still something. It’s the thought that matters. If I’m doing this even now that I don’t have anything then what on earth would stop me from taking care of my parents when I make it in life. That’s the least I can do for them, if you ask me.

Personally, I don’t think I’d need anything from my kids because my goal in life is to make sure I live a comfortable life and also same for my kids and family. Everyone needs help at some point and so, when I’m old I believe that my kids would at least have the heart to take care of me and help with stuff I can’t do on my own. But I don’t think I’d ask them to do it if they don’t want to, I’d rather hire a maid or something if I can afford. Naturally, we all get wiser as we grow and I believe that no child would sit and watch his parents suffer when he can offer some help to them.


all images belong to me


Sort:  

Absolutely correct. As parents, they should strive to give their children a successful and happy life and as children, we need to take care of them when they are too old to manage ^^

 13 days ago  

That’s how life should be. It’s a circle and we all need to contribute our part when it’s time.

 14 days ago  

It's perfectly normal to reciprocate all the care that our parents have given us over the years. They were there for us when we couldn't fend for ourselves, so it makes sense to do the same for them when they are old

 13 days ago  

That’s right. Our parents deserve that from us. That’s the least we can do for them.

 14 days ago (edited) 

how is that majority of the youth in Africa is burdened so much with black taxes.

I love the phrase "black taxes." Here, it's a given : once you are rich your money belongs to the family, not just you. Everyone of them comes with their financial problems to demand for solution to it. They're not interested in whatever one is going through at that time.

 13 days ago  

When you were suffering did they suffer with you. No one is entitled to your money when you make it.

 13 days ago  

If you give something small to someone in my family, you are telling them you are rich and can solve all their problems. You will be shocked the kind of things they would ask for. And some feel so entitled

 13 days ago  

😂😂😂 wahala for who no dey appreciate.
Everyone should just be in their lane.