“A TRADITIONAL WEDDING CEREMONY”

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Traditional marriage is celebrated differently according to a tribe's culture. This week's edition from Hive learners community is all about culture and I will be glad to share with you all how traditional wedding ceremony is being celebrated in my own part of Igbo land.

Find the topic below 👇

Although white weddings and court marriages are practiced quite the same all over the world, traditional marriages are different for each people. Tell us how it is done in your tribe. We would love to know

I am from Enugu State, Nsukka to be prescise. The first step is making the intentions of the intending couple known to both parents and when their intentions are being approved, they will proceed to fixing a date for the INTRODUCTION

Screenshot_20220321-224130.png

The picture is mine

The introduction usually involves only the two family involved and just few of the elders from our clan. Kola nuts, garden eggs, palm wine and food will be presented to the intending in-laws and no one eats the food nor drink the wine until the intending bride is invited and she will be asked officially if she truly wants to marry the man. So if the answer is yes, she will be the person to order everyone to eat and drink. After the merriment, discussion about the main Traditional marriage will hold where the bride's family will explain to the groom's family the type of food and drinks to be prepared on the D-Day.

One important thing about my tribe when you come to marriage is that, we don't issue lists of nemerous items to the in-laws! Sounds funny right?

Yes we don't, the in-law will only be made to know what and what is needed for a successful traditional wedding and he will provide what is needed in his own capacity, no one tasks him on how much quantity to be provided.

Having said that, preparations for the traditional marriage will commence once a date has been fixed. On that day, the main entrance to the bride's home where the marriage is usually conducted will be closed with a long rope and once the in-laws arrive, the bride with the bridesmaids together with the local music players will go welcome them with lots of dance and music, but first of all, the groom will spray money to the bride before she can cut the rope and grant them access.

This is the day dowry will be paid but before that, the eldest of our community will give a cup of palm wine to the bride to go round in search of her husband within the crowd and when she locates her husband, she will feed him with the palm wine and when the husband drinks it, it shows they have accepted the marriage. On this note, the bride will then take him to the royal seat meant for the couple.

Screenshot_20220322-191321.png

This is me 8years ago🤦

At this point there will be a royal dance by the couple as directed by the M.C followed by item 7 which is good, food, food😀 drinks and the rest. The last step is payment of dowry and after the dowry has been paid, the bride's family will hand over the woman to her new husband and have them blessed! The family will also present tangible gifts to the couple , (this is known as idu uno) Words of advice and encouragement will also be given to the couple.

This was exactly how my own traditional marriage took place and till date, it's same as our marriage culture.

Thanks for reading, I do hope you enjoyed our culture.

Thank you 😊❣️💕😘

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hahah... Is that really you? E don try oooooo.

Both traditional marriage and white wedding usually have an interesting flare attached to it. Even as a guest, it usually sends shivers down my spine.

Happy Married Life to you. Many more happy married life to you and you.

That garden egg is so fresh 😂

 2 years ago  
Hahah... Is that really you? E don try oooooo.

🤩🤩🤩 Leave me oo

Let me even start planning for your own wedding 🤔

Thanks for the wishes though 🤩

 2 years ago  

Hahah... So happy for you.

Enjoy

 2 years ago  

Awwn beautiful pictures, great content too

 2 years ago  

Thank you treasure dear..

 2 years ago  

The royal dance part is the best and fun part in our igba Nkwu ceremony.
Thanks for sharing!

 2 years ago  

Yesooo, you are welcome my dear

 2 years ago  

You share the wedding process in your area, and it's amazing, I can't share my own photos yet because I haven't done the reception just just getting married

 2 years ago  

Woww, hope to see yours one day after your reception.

 2 years ago  

This is so beautiful to see
Really beautiful
Nice one
Great marriage

 2 years ago  

Many thanks 🤩

Congratulations @nkemakonam89! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing NFT for Peace
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

so much amazing and lovely details about your marriage ceremony.

many more married life to you.

 2 years ago  

Thank you.
I am glad you found it amazing!

 2 years ago  

wow amazing wedding from you

 2 years ago  

Yea, thanks.

 2 years ago  

Wow this is so beautiful, I love your outfit 😍

Nice wedding ceremony

 2 years ago  

Thank you dear.

 2 years ago  

You're welcome

 2 years ago  

Your culture is fun indeed.

That garden egg is enticing 😋.

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha
Thank you 😊

 2 years ago  

You're welcome, for sure I did enjoy the read and also your culture... Never knew enugu has a place called nsukka (DELTA ALSO HAS A PLACE NAMED NSUKKA ALSO)... It's suprising to hear that your people don't task the Man anything... VERY RARE AND AWESOME 🤗

This is me 8years ago🤦

I don't really get the emoji are you shaming 😁😁
8years and still balling that's a very plentiful Anniversary, I wish you more happy years to come

 2 years ago  

the culture in your place is unique, I like it. Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

I am glad you like it.
Thanks for stopping by

Wow, you had a lovely marriage,I want mine to also be like yours.

 2 years ago  

Sure it will be more than mine 🙏

 2 years ago  

Wonderful dear.
This is usually a thing of joy, beauty, and lots of pride to say for the bride.
I am really happy to see this thanks for sharing.

YOU ARE DOING WELL.

 2 years ago  

Awwwww, thanks for your beautiful comment.

 2 years ago  

@nkemakonam89 I think the aspect of a formal Introduction is common in all traditions.

Yes we don't, the in-law will only be made to know what and what is needed for a successful traditional wedding and he will provide what is needed in his own capacity, no one tasks him on how much quantity to be provided

Very good. At least, the groom-to-be would not be overburdened. Although, this is the first time I heard that the list aint given. At my side here, the list may be given and not to the detriment of the groom-to-be or his family. At times, a huge bride price/list chases some promising men away from their beloved lady.

 2 years ago  

Sure it chases men away, some lists are just horrible and inconsiderate.

 2 years ago  

Exactly...even me sef dey run..😀

 2 years ago (edited) 

This is me 8 years ago

Wow 😣😳😳!!!! My Sister, you didn't show us your dancing steps oooo🤣🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha

I don't have the video with me currently.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I trust that there was enough abacha on your day...
8 years? Wow. That's the kind of marriage goals I want. A lifelong marriage. Congratulations

 2 years ago  

There was no abacha oo but there was other local delicacies.

Thanks for your beautiful comment

 2 years ago  

Oh okay

 2 years ago  

Hello @nkemakonam89 happy to read about your culture and marriage customs, but especially for letting us know about your own experience. It's very interesting really. In my country the normal thing is the traditional white weddings with their particular variations depending on the tastes. Although I suppose that the indigenous ethnicities will have their own traditions which I do not know. But I loved knowing a little about their traditions, I was fascinated 😊.

 2 years ago  

Awwwww, I am glad you learnt something about my culture.

Thanks for visiting.

 2 years ago  

Your welcome, Thanks to you for show us about your culture 🌺

Well, when you are speaking from experience who are we to contradict?
I love this line though...

One important thing about my tribe when you come to marriage is that we don't issue lists of numerous items to the in-laws!

This sounds like good news to me, I think the woman I will be getting married to will be from Nsukka as well.😋😁
Thank you for sharing.
And by the way, you made a beautiful bride🤣😂

 2 years ago  
  This sounds like good news to me, I think the woman I will be getting married to will be from Nsukka as well.😋😁

That's great oo💃💃💃💃💃💃💃🤩, we can't wait to have you.

Thanks for the compliment.

 2 years ago  

Really awesome marriage ceremony ❣️
I am loving the foods..😋

 2 years ago  
 I am loving the foods..😋

Oya Lick your screen 😄😄

Thanks dear 😊

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Smiles.... thank you!

 2 years ago  

Thank you 😊

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Sure , we are!

Thanks

 2 years ago  

Thank you 😊